We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Waterfront

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 179: English reviews
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed we enjoyed and rate the waterfront as the best hotel in newplymouth . Upon arrival the evening staff were so helpful and obliging we had a small problem with the sky tv the staff changed our room to get the problem sorted very nice touch also the room service was fantastic great place stay.

Helpful?
Thank jelacapaul
Shannon, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Exceptionally nice room , spacious clean and upmarket. Loved "save the planet" options. The staff seemed genuinely nice and helpful including the room assistants who were friendly and acknowledged and talked to us.(not always so in other Hotels) The restaurant staff were the same, making us feel extremely welcome, and even though we didn't order much, it seemed like nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank LPS906
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello LPS906 I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on trip adviser. Its so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay and dinning experience with us in Salt restaurant. We appreciate your business and we would love to be your hosts again if you return to New Plymouth. Kind regards The Waterfront Hotel... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time staying at this hotel. The first stay was great and they did not let us down on this visit, awesome staff who make sure everything was perfect for us. The restaurant was awesome again with brilliant service, we highly recommend the 5 course chiefs special. We will always stay at the Waterfront Hotel when we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steph111111
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Steph, Thank you so much for your nice comments. I am very pleased to hear you had such a great time on your most recent visit in both the Hotel and Salt Restaurant. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon, until then all the best. Regards The Waterfront Hotel and Salt Team. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights with my wife and kids. Greeted by a professional yet unwelcoming young lady. Was asked to pay on arrival for our stay, usually been given the option of paying during or on check out everywhere else we have stayed. Got the impression she thought we were poor. Entered our room and it was set up as 2... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser W
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Fraser, I am sorry to hear you thought your room was made up incorrectly. However this was not the hotels wrong doing. You booked via a 3rd party website and the info we received from them for the booking only stated that 4 people were coming, so naturally we left the room made up as 2 x double beds.... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

There was not much to fault about our stay we only stayed one night but we loved it the room was worm quite comfortable big and the view was amazing in the morning then the cooked breakfast matched our high quality dinner we had the night before already planning our next stay a bit longer next time foreshore

Helpful?
Thank Tack U
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Jack U. Hey thank you for the amazing feedback. We are stoked you had such a great time from the moment you walked through the doors. We would love to be your hosts again one day. All the best - The Waterfront and Salt Team. More 

Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

This is a great hotel with large comfortable rooms, and an ocean view. It is close to walkways and parks. Add to that the wonderful staff, and it makes for a great stay. We were here for a week, and the staff soon knew what we liked to order, what times we come around etc. They went out of their... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnnieM0874
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello AnnieM It was our pleasure to be your hosts. Its pleasing to get comments like this from our valued guests. We agree with you, its the staff that make the hotel what it is. Someone once told me : "A hotel without great staff is just an empty building". all the best and thank you for choosing to stay... More 

Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
175 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

Loved this place. Superb location and comfortable rooms. Not as quiet as I like but if you are a good sleeper then no problem. The attached restaurant is excellent as well. The views from the beach out front are great. Tremendous walkway in front of the hotel and you can walk to most town places from its central location. As... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Voodles
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Voodles, Thank you so much for your comments. Its excellent you had such a great time while staying with us, and to know you felt so welcome and at home here. all the best, More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

My husband and i stayed only one night here, but we were very comfortable in our modern spacious room. Lovely clean bathroom, large king sized bed and a small balcony. We didnt eat at the restaurant but we did enjoy great service at the bar for happy hour.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jetosash
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Jetosash, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. We are delighted you had a great time at the hotel and found our cleanliness and service to be first class. We appreciate your business and wish you all the best, Regards The Waterfront Team More 

Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

A very enjoyable dinner with very attentive staff.Very pleasant decor and a good selection on the menu although it wasn't extensive. Unfortunately it was a rainy night so we didn't get the view which would be awesome during daylight. Would definetly recommend this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank _marganne5203
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for dining in our Hotels restaurant and for the very positive feedback. The team will take great satisfaction in knowing you had a nice experience. The views can be amazing if the weather is nice. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

Web site promised lovely views. The only sea view we had was a glimpse down the busy side street our room was located on. No double glazing so loud street noise compounded by noisy party 3 rooms away from ours. Bed was comfortable and room clean although we seemed to have been put in a disabled room!! A spa bath... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Stephen Thank you for your review. I am sorry you felt noise to be an issue during your stay. You should have called our manger and we could have dealt with the loud room down the hall. We would have put a stop to this right away. You were in our entry level room and these rooms do not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
3.4 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#4 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Price Range: $115 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay