We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Waterfront

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 184: English reviews
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
369 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Overall excellent some of the key good points for me where Location Great staff Excellent restaurant Decent sized rooms Good sized work desk Fast free internet Good shower King sized bed Large bathroom overall ones of the best places in New Plymouth to stay for me.

Helpful?
Thank danjonelson
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Danjonlson, I would like to thank you for you great feedback, we really appreciate it. Very happy to know you left with a great impression of the hotel. It was our pleasure looking after you and we would love to be your hosts again next time you return to New Plymouth. Regards The Waterfront Hotel Team More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

On-site parking, friendly and helpful staff, great room, beautiful views. The restaurant's bar is a good place to kick back and relax. Proximity to all amenities and the coastal walkway an absolute pleasure. Would definitely stay here again!

Helpful?
Thank utahiggs
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Utahiggs, Thanks for your superb comments. We are delighted you enjoyed stay with us and found our location excellent. Its the best location in New Plymouth by far for accommodation and food. We wish you well. Regards The Waterfront Hotel Team More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

With money to spend, this is by far to a high standard of quality, service and atmosphere. The staff are so helpful and friendly. Great amenities to the city and the walkway on a beautiful day. Lovely clean room with comfortable bed. It was very relaxing sitting out on the balcony in the morning before the traffic got busy. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela J
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Angela J, Thank you very much for the fantastic feedback. This means a lot to the entire team of staff, whom make the hotel what it is. I am delighted we left a great impression with you. Thanks and Regards The Waterfront Hotel Team. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly helpful staff... large clean and quiet room with ocean views....awesome breakfast looking over the beach. Would totally recommend this venue as it is centrally located for shopping and sight seeing

Helpful?
Thank Lin L
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Lin L Thank you very much for your great comments. Its nice to know you had a great time staying with us. Best regards The Waterfront Hotel Team. More 

Hamilton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016

Our second stay at this wonderful venue. Just the BEST, would not stay anywhere else. The evening staff at the restaurant made our stay so memorable, Dan and the Flying Scotsman are such a good team. Room and view, just everything is so wonderful. Do not blame the pay before you sleep process after that 'Guy' ripped off so many... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samson631
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Samson631. I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Waterfront Hotel. Its great to hear you were so impressed with hotel and our staff, especially Dan and Luke in Salt restaurant. We would love to have you back , until then all the best!! Regards The Waterfront Team. More 

Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

We stayed we enjoyed and rate the waterfront as the best hotel in newplymouth . Upon arrival the evening staff were so helpful and obliging we had a small problem with the sky tv the staff changed our room to get the problem sorted very nice touch also the room service was fantastic great place stay.

Helpful?
Thank jelacapaul
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Jelacapaul Thank you so much for you fantastic comments. Very sorry about the sky issue with your room, but very happy we got it sorted for you nice and quickly. We do hope to have the chance to host you again one day, Until then all the best. Kind regards The Friendly Waterfront Hotel Team. More 

Shannon, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016

Exceptionally nice room , spacious clean and upmarket. Loved "save the planet" options. The staff seemed genuinely nice and helpful including the room assistants who were friendly and acknowledged and talked to us.(not always so in other Hotels) The restaurant staff were the same, making us feel extremely welcome, and even though we didn't order much, it seemed like nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank LPS906
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello LPS906 I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on trip adviser. Its so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay and dinning experience with us in Salt restaurant. We appreciate your business and we would love to be your hosts again if you return to New Plymouth. Kind regards The Waterfront Hotel... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016

This is the second time staying at this hotel. The first stay was great and they did not let us down on this visit, awesome staff who make sure everything was perfect for us. The restaurant was awesome again with brilliant service, we highly recommend the 5 course chiefs special. We will always stay at the Waterfront Hotel when we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steph111111
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Steph, Thank you so much for your nice comments. I am very pleased to hear you had such a great time on your most recent visit in both the Hotel and Salt Restaurant. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon, until then all the best. Regards The Waterfront Hotel and Salt Team. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights with my wife and kids. Greeted by a professional yet unwelcoming young lady. Was asked to pay on arrival for our stay, usually been given the option of paying during or on check out everywhere else we have stayed. Got the impression she thought we were poor. Entered our room and it was set up as 2... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser W
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Fraser, I am sorry to hear you thought your room was made up incorrectly. However this was not the hotels wrong doing. You booked via a 3rd party website and the info we received from them for the booking only stated that 4 people were coming, so naturally we left the room made up as 2 x double beds.... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

There was not much to fault about our stay we only stayed one night but we loved it the room was worm quite comfortable big and the view was amazing in the morning then the cooked breakfast matched our high quality dinner we had the night before already planning our next stay a bit longer next time foreshore

Helpful?
Thank Tack U
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Jack U. Hey thank you for the amazing feedback. We are stoked you had such a great time from the moment you walked through the doors. We would love to be your hosts again one day. All the best - The Waterfront and Salt Team. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#4 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
1.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Price Range: $114 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay