We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Strand

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Strand
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good sized main room with modern decor and very comfortable beds. The un-manned reception was a novelty. Nice touch with tissues, shampoo/soap dispenser in shower. Had brunch at the Federal Store down the road as suggested in the info folder provided and highly recommend. Would suggest the microwave be located in an easier position to use. Overall very happy with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judith P
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room had all the usual things, however it was very poorly cleaned with mould in the shower that I could scrape off and grime on the walls and window ledge in the kitchen, and on the hair dryer on the wall. I have stayed in budget motels before and I don't mind the partially renovated rooms but I have... More 

Helpful?
Thank chantellenz
Paul W, Owner at The Strand, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you found the room cleanliness not up to standard. Our staff usually clean to a high standard, we thankyou for your review and will 'up our cleaning' standards immediately. Perhaps one of our refurbished one bedroom units or the superior queen studio which are well above the room type you booked may have been more... More 

Rotorua
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016

We had the smallest unit and chose it because of the price. It exceeded our expectations and will certainly visit again. Clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. Chocolate was provided along with the usual tea and coffee - much appreciated. The unmanned reception wasn't a problem for us and it worked well - could be a surprise for anyone... More 

Helpful?
Thank kiwiaud
Paul W, Owner at The Strand, responded to this review

Hello and thankyou for your positive review. We are so pleased that the cosy budget room exceeded your expectations. Also that the room was clean and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again ... feel free to call us directly as the cosy saver gets booked out, but we can always accommodate returning guests. Thankyou once again. More 

Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

The room is nice and spacious, really comfortable bed and comes with nice features like Sky TV, free wifi, heater and fans. The shower has soap/shampoo dispensers in the shower which are great idea but the shampoo one was clogged and the soap one smelt like it was dish washer detergent. The book on the bed side table with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Candii_Pilcher
Paul W, Owner at The Strand, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review... yes we run the motel remotely which works so well, efficient and effective no fuss check in process. It can be difficult having restaurants asking us to have their menus... if they don't replace them often then they become out of date... Our service is to provide a comfortable stay which is what you had, which... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

My husband and I stayed for the long weekend in June 2016, the room was compact but well set up with kitchenette and all other home comforts i.e electric blankets, heater, hair dryer etc. and a very comfy bed. A great place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank jimnlea
Paul W, Owner at The Strand, responded to this review

Hello and thankyou for reviewing your stay with us. Yes, the budget cosy saver is a compact room, but well priced. It is a great room for one and cosy for two, or even just for one night. We are pleased it had all the home comforts too... We hope to see you in New Plymouth again. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

A very clean and tidy motel. Large rooms make the stay very comfortable. The private walled courtyard was good as motel is situated on a main road. Reason rates, close to all amenities needed. The free guest laundry could do with an upgrade but adequate. Full sized refrigerator in room was a bonus. Adequate parking, easy to get in and... More 

Helpful?
Thank FrogTravellingOn
Paul W, Owner at The Strand, responded to this review

Thankyou for staying with us, yes the one bedroom units with the private courtyards are certainly a treat! Simply like no other unit in New Plymouth... we are pleased that your stay was a comfortable one. The guest laundry is a bit tired, but it hardly gets used... there will be a new space for that in the future! We... More 

Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016

The hotel is clean and comfortable but aren't most of them? Here's what sets The Strand apart from the rest: There are hooks in the bathroom to hang your bathrobe/jammies, there is a flat surface near the bathroom sink that big enough to spread your stuff out on, there is an accessible outlet near the bed where you can plug... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kimoSeattle
Paul W, Owner at The Strand, responded to this review

Well you said it all.... thankyou for your most positive and honest review. We have tried so hard to think of those little things that make a stay that bit different. Gee, I would even stay at The Strand myself if I was choosing a motel! We certainly hope to see you again to enjoy one of the one bedroom... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2016

Very good motel and we enjoyed our stay. This has great facilities and a helpful management who gave lots of good Instruction on visits, restaurants, etc. Efficient and techie checking-in/ out with automated reception set up. Room was serviced everyday, warm and has Sky TV, unlimited Wi-Fi.

Helpful?
Thank Lilupa K
Paul W, Owner at The Strand, responded to this review

Hello and thankyou so much for your review. We are so pleased that you found your stay to be ''first class''... that says it all really. We are pleased that you found the efficient and techie checkin/check out process suited you. We do hope to see you again at The Strand in New Plymouth. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

We were upgraded to a suite with plenty of space. Although on the main road out of town, we were well shielded from traffic noise by a high brick wall. Nobody on site - the management live and work at another motel in New Plymouth and all communication with them is via video link in the reception area. Is this... More 

Helpful?
Thank PRC239
Paul W, Owner at The Strand, responded to this review

As we say in our description of the motel "Our motel suits the modern independent traveller" More 

Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

Reading the glowing reviews from other travellers, I can only surmise the room I was staying in was not in the refurbished section as the layout of the room we were in was rather cramped and difficult to move around.However, it was clean, had good amenities like flat screen television, kitchenette and table to dine at, and the bathroom was... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrsseah
Paul W, Owner at The Strand, responded to this review

Hi, Our description of the room that you booked, is described as budget and is listed also as "Cosy Saver" and is priced accordingly and suits people who are on a budget and don't require a lot of space. We are in 2 minds about renovating that room as, then we would have to put the price up and then... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.7 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
1.2 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#4 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
3.6 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to our comfortable and conveniently situated motel only a hop, step and a jump to New Plymouth's lovely, popular coastal foreshore walkway. We are a small family run complex with 8 ground floor units. The Superior Queen Studio has been completely renovated; a modern stylish unit. The one bedroom units have been refurbished with private courtyards. Our accommodation offers 4 x 1-bedroom family units (sleeps 4 people) 3 x studio units (sleeps 2-3 people) and 1-cosy saver studio that sleeps 1-2 people and a 3 Bedroom House (sleeps 5-6 people.) The East End swimming and surf beach is only 2 short blocks away. You will also find the skateboard park, inline hockey and skating rinks, children's playground, swimming pool and enjoy a great coffee from two cafes during the summer months. Or take a stroll down to one of New Plymouth's newest spots to be at "The Federal Store Cafe.' The coastal foreshore walkway extension to Bell Block is complete, making over 12km in total to wander along the seafront. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Strand

Address: 464 Devon Street West | Strandon, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Price Range: $69 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay