We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Rotorua

Aura Accommodation

Save
1078 Whakaue Street, Rotorua 3010 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$114
$89
View Deal
Trip.com$114
Agoda.com$89
Expedia.com$89
Hotels.com$89
Priceline$89
Hotwire.com$89
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (138)
Room & Suite (11)
Pool & Beach (6)

About

#1 of 88 hotels in Rotorua
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice 2019 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Congratulations. You've stumbled upon something pretty special. Located in the heart of city, this little gem is within a block of the central Rotorua ‘Must Do’ attractions – the lakefront, ‘Eat Streat,’ Sulphur Point, Kuirau Park and Government Gardens. Whatever pace you choose to experience these is up to you, by foot, or by the FREE bikes and scooters available for guests – no need for car keys here! The friendly engaged local team is always on hand to help make your stay all the more magic, connecting you to everything Rotorua has to offer. Relax in the outdoor geothermally heated pool, soak in the private mineral pools, fire up the BBQ or Geothermal steambox and let the kids play on the trampoline or with the variety of lawn games. Enjoy the cosy geothermally heated units, well equipped with cooking facilities and strong unlimited WiFi accessible from every corner.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary instant cofffee
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Spa
Hot spring bath
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3 stars
Languages Spoken
English
HOTEL STYLE
Value, Centrally Located
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
582Reviews5Q+A79Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 485
  • 72
  • 19
  • 5
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We found the best things about this accommodation were the staff (warm, welcoming, and really helpful), the outdoor pool is really nice, and the location is very central to all the activity. Their focus on sustainability is commendable and enlightening. The rooms however are dated, and during the summer months aircon is really necessary. It was hard to sleep in the heat.
Read more
Response from Nick Fitzgerald, General Manager at Aura Accommodation
Responded 1 week ago
Kia Ora Larry, Thank-you for taking the time to write us some feedback, it's great to hear that you found our friendly staff helpful for your stay in Rotorua! A big thank-you for appreciating our focus on sustainability, it is something that can often be overlooked whilst on holiday and we are working hard to make our guests more aware of this. We are sorry to hear that you found your room to be dated, obviously we are only able to renovate part of the property at a time and I believe the block you stayed in to be next up. In regards to the heat, unfortunately this time of year does bring a good few weeks of hot and muggy weather. Please note that we are currently looking into places air conditioning units in our rooms so watch this space! :) Nga mihi, Ellen @ Aura
Read more
On the downside the property is quite dated and we found the bed very soft and the showers pretty ineffective. But the welcome was great. The accommodation was spacious. They provide free bikes, laundry, two thermal baths and a heated outdoor pool with towels. On balance we would return but just needs a bit of an update.
Read more
Response from AuraAccom, Front Office Manager at Aura Accommodation
Responded 1 week ago
Kia Ora 'jage3', Thanks for your feedback, it's a shame to hear that we didn't quite achieve your expectations during your stay. Although from the sounds of it there was only a few things that you found to let us down. Great to hear that our friendly staff welcomed you in and showed you all of our facilities which we provide free of charge to help you enjoy your stay. Unfortunately we are unsure of which room you stayed in, it's a shame as we are unable to look into the shower and bed for you. We hope that you do decide to return in the future, we have a few things planned for the coming months which are sure to change and improve our guest experience even further. Hope to see you again, we would love the chance to change your mind! Nga mihi, Ellen @ Aura
Read more
Location is awesome, staff are friendly and helpful. Would recommend anyone coming to Rotorua stay here. The rooms are clean and have everything you need and great to see Aura giving back to the environment and the local community.
Read more
Response from AuraAccom, Front Office Manager at Aura Accommodation
Responded 2 weeks ago
Kia Ora "827gennar", Thank-you for your review! We love hearing your appreciation for our sustainability initiatives and our partnership with Big Brothers, Big Sisters of Rotorua. It's amazing to think that our Send-your-Service initiatives in January alone donated $800.00 to this amazing organisation! Fantastic to hear that you would recommend us to others, we only hope that we can host you and your family here again sometime in the future :) All the best, Ellen @ Team Aura
Read more
We had a fantastic time over three days. Very well positioned. The facilities were amazing. Mineral pools and swimming pools were delicious. We were able to BBQ and steam our vegetables in the wonderful geothermal steamer. The staff were friendly, helpful and genuinely committed to making our Rotorua experience the best possible.
Read more
Response from AuraAccom, Front Office Manager at Aura Accommodation
Responded 2 weeks ago
Kia Ora "OTfamilysis"! Thanks for taking the time to write us this review - it's great to hear how much fun you and your family had during your stay with us! Awesome to hear that you guys embraced the geothermal lifestyle, using the steam box as-well as our magical mineral pools. We know that we are really lucky to be in such an amazing location in town, close to the lake, government gardens and Eat St. Fantastic to hear that our friendly staff were able to help you make the most out of your time in Rotorua - we are the friendliest team in town! :) Hope to see you again sometime, Ellen @ Team Aura
Read more
We absolutely loved our stay at Aura and would definitely book there again when we return. The team that run it are amazing. They are friendly and helpful, they are clearly knowledgeable and passionate about Rotorua, and go out of their way to match your interests with what is available in Rotorua. This was obvious from the communication we received when we booked through to our check out. The room suited myself and my daughter perfectly and the thermal pool was fabulous at the end of the day. We especially liked the consideration they have put in to environmental impacts and the option of Aura making donation to a social charity instead of having the room serviced. I highly recommend staying here!
Read more
Response from AuraAccom, Front Office Manager at Aura Accommodation
Responded 2 weeks ago
Kia Ora Sara, Thanks for your kind words, it's fantastic to hear that our initiatives made a lasting impression during your stay! Our friendly team all work really hard to make sure that we are the being the best possibly hosts for our guests. We know that the amount of activities to see and do in Rotorua can be overwhelming for visitors to the region so hopefully our suggestions are able to make that decision a bit easier! Great to hear your comments about our environmental initiatives. Our partnership with Big Brothers, Big Sisters Rotorua is something that we are really proud of and of course it wouldn't be possible without our wonderful guests! Hope to see you & Lucy back again in the future! Nga mihi, Ellen @ Aura
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$98 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
havana motor hotel rotorua, havana hotel rotorua
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionRotorua DistrictRotorua
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Aura Accommodation
Which popular attractions are close to Aura Accommodation?
Nearby attractions include Fancy Meow Cat Cafe (0.3 miles), Tamaki Maori Village (0.3 miles), and Government Gardens (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Aura Accommodation?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Aura Accommodation?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Aura Accommodation?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Aura Accommodation?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aura Accommodation?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gelato Mio Ice Cream, Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways, and El Mexicano Zapata.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aura Accommodation?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Aura Accommodation located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Rotorua.
Are there any historical sites close to Aura Accommodation?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tamaki Maori Village (0.3 miles), Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village (1.9 miles), and Ohinemutu (0.4 miles).
Is Aura Accommodation accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.