We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Aura Accommodation

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Aura Accommodation
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 40: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Aura hotel is in a fantastic location, walking distance to Eat street, the lake and a fabulous kid's park. Josh and Nick, the hosts were awesome, very willing to answer any questions about where to go and what to do, giving lots of great local insider information. They were both very accomodating with the children too, always willing to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bronwen W
NickFitz86, Owner at Aura Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Bronwen, Thanks for taking the time to review us, it was great having you and the family stay with us. We love children here, they bring the fun, and in your boys case, the stories! We are all about creating that 'fun, relaxed vibe', after all, no one whats holiday stress! Thanks again for coming to stay with us,...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a fantastic time staying at Aura - the hosts Nick and Josh were super friendly and super helpful. The complex has recently been refurbished - it looks great. We really appreciated the focus on information too in the rooms and around the place and a great user-friendly information room - the kids loved going there in the morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanineMaree70
NickFitz86, Owner at Aura Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Janine, It always brings a smile to our dials when we read such amazing reviews. Thanks for taking the time to review, but more importantly thanks for taking the time to come and stay with us. We love it when guest make note of all the little things we do, like the information all around the room. We try...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed two nights . Positives : generally the room is clean and refreshed with new linens and towels . Bed was comfortable and had a good sleep . Location is great really enjoyed the quick walk up to eat streat . When we arrived staff extremely friendly and showed me around the complex also offered coupons. Negatives : severe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cam86nz
NickFitz86, Owner at Aura Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Cam86nz, I'm sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations for your stay. We are always gutted when guests leave knowing that they will look elsewhere next time they are in Rotorua. Thank-you for giving such detailed descriptions that we can address for future guests. Just to address afew of your points... Unfortunately we have no control over the...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at Aura with little expectations but we were so happy with the place . Nick and Josh our hosts were very accommodating. The rooms were serviced daily and comfortable . The pool was very popular with kids and the mineral bath was the place to be after a full days activity. The place is only a few steps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
NickFitz86, Owner at Aura Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Anne, Wow, it sounds like we didn't just exceed your expectations, it sounds like we smashed them out of the park, and for that, well we can't wipe the grins off our faces. The pool is always a hit for everyone in summer, in fact as it is heated it is a hit at any time of the year....

Bombala, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our host was a very helpful friendly cruisy laid back kind of bloke. The facilities are great and very clean. Having the mineral pools as well as the outdoor pool was great. We utilized the BBQ which is a great idea at a motel. Would definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elsie W
NickFitz86, Owner at Aura Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Elsie, We love to see our guests return. That just makes our day. We are all about providing a relaxed atmosphere here at Aura, and that starts with our relaxed personalized kiwi hospitality from our staff. We are always there to have a chat and get to know our guest just that little bit more. Thanks for the review,...

San Francisco
Reviewed 1 week ago

Aura is perfectly situated with 5 minute walks to Eat Street and the lakefront. Nick and Josh run the place and are very accommodating with recommendations for local activities and restaurants. My two adult sons and I stayed in a 2 bedroom unit and it was spacious and nicely designed. As a previous reviewer noted, the private thermal pools are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
NickFitz86, Owner at Aura Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Ken, Thanks for reviewing us, but more importantly thanks coming to visit with Mickey and Bobby. We are always so stoked to hear that our guest enjoyed our hospitality, and all the facilities that we have to offer. We are well aware of the thermal pools, and the natural build up of silica around them, and we are currently...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a great time staying here with my elderly parents. The friendly staff, the great location, the very comfortable room and fantastic mineral pool made our stay in Rotorua perfect. I've tried to book again for this Christmas holidays but the days I want are already booked out. Will definitely be coming back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
NickFitz86, Owner at Aura Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Chris, It was awesome having you and your parents here over the busy Christmas period. We really enjoy seeing our guests out and about enjoying Rotorua, and enjoying our central location by walking everywhere from Aura. Be sure to contact us if you want to book, I'm sure we can sort something out for you. All the best, Nick

Hluboka nad Vltavou, Czech Republic
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very friendly staff; good W-LAN internet; nice heated swimming pool and 2 thermal bath; location very close to city center, lake shore and park; kitchen good equipped; enough parking place; breakfast possibility just around the corner; big rooms

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
NickFitz86, Owner at Aura Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Martin, Thanks for staying with us. We are stoked you and the family enjoyed your time with us, and were able to see the New Years fireworks display. It sounds like you made the most of our central location by exploring the city center, lakefront and parks which are all within a stones throw. I hope you made it...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at Aura. The kids really loved the pool and the pool towels were so useful. Our room was clean and comfortable, the free wifi was good with decent speed, and the location was amazing; walking distant to Carnival, Eats Street, and Lake Front which was great for New Year's Eve Glo Festival. The service was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vania M
NickFitz86, Owner at Aura Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Vania, Thanks for staying with us, and thanks for reviewing. It seems like you had an action packed stay with us, and were still able to enjoy all the comforts of Aura. We can't wait to have you back and show off some of our new additions for 2017. All the best in 2017, Nick

Dargaville, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a couple of rooms for a couple of nights with some friends and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great facilities and nicely decorated. Nick and the team are doing a great job here, keep it up guys and see you again in the not too distant future.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Malcolm K
NickFitz86, Owner at Aura Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Malcolm, Cheers for the review, we always love hearing that our guests have had a 'super stay' especially when they are pulled up the front of a cultural show to do the haka. We will look forward to your next return with some more unsuspecting English friends. Have a fantastic New Years. Nick

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#36 of 93 in Rotorua
690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Thermal Motel
Ambassador Thermal Motel
#31 of 93 in Rotorua
123 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cleveland Thermal Resort
0.4 mi away
Ledwich Lodge Motel
Ledwich Lodge Motel
#63 of 93 in Rotorua
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located within a block of the lake front, Government Gardens, the Museum and the famous 'Eat Streat', come and experience Rotorua's latest little piece of accommodation bliss. Relax and enjoy this summer bathing in our large outdoor geothermally heated swimming pool, or fire up our BBQ on those long Rotorua evenings. Aura accommodation is all about fun, laughter and holidays the way they are expected to be- memorable! Ditch the car keys and discover the beauty of being based in the heart of the city, never far by foot from all of the central city attractions or fantastic new local markets on offer. Unwind in our 2 private hot mineral pool, get the steam box hissing for a geothermal cooking experience, or get comfortable in any of our fully equipped units, with stove top and microwave cooking facilities and free unlimited fast WiFi. Let the friendly young local team show you true relaxed kiwi hospitality, connecting you to all the very best of what the region has on offer. Book directly with us for the best available rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aura Accommodation

Address: 1078 Whakaue Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $88 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aura Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aura Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Havana Motor Hotel Rotorua
Havana Hotel Rotorua
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aura Accommodation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Just tell the guys what you need...”
 of 5 bubbles JanineMaree70, 6 days ago | Read review
“The family rooms in front of the pool is great”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 weeks ago | Read review
“All rooms appear to be great and plenty of parking.”
 of 5 bubbles pearlNorthampton, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Room 10 quiet in corner downstairs This room has a spa”
 of 5 bubbles dfdj, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“upstairs family suit”
 of 5 bubbles NataliyaO, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay