We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Serendipity Homestay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Serendipity Homestay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 38: English reviews
Garraleta
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The owners are a very nice couple. They gave us a lot of information about the activities we can do in Rotorua and in our way to Tongariro. It was a pleasure stay with them in their home. We felt relaxed and as we were at home.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Javier G
serendipityrotorua, Owner at Serendipity Homestay, responded to this review

Thank you Javier. We like the way you said you felt you were at home. We like our guests to feel relaxed as if it is their own home. We hope the rest of your trip was as you wanted. Come and stay again if you ever return to Rotorua.

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The view on Lake Rotorua, Rotorua and surrounding mountains is stunning. Our hosts Kate and Brian were very gracious and nothing was to much for them. They gave us very good tips as to Rotorua but also in regard to our next stop in Taupo. We loved staying with them and the only thing we can say is that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cobi D
serendipityrotorua, Owner at Serendipity Homestay, responded to this review

How kind of you to say such nice things and your good recommendation. We hope the rest of your trip was successful and you had much enjoyment staying in our beautiful country. Thank you for your nice review.

Tadoussac, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent homestay, we were welcomed as if we were family from away. The house is spotless, the view over the whole of Rotorua quite breathtaking. Excellent breakfast - all we needed to start our day. Our hosts Brian and Kate have tremendous knowledge of the area and of the whole North Island. We thank them so much for a wonderful...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
serendipityrotorua, Owner at Serendipity Homestay, responded to this review

Thank you Jane and Alan for choosing to stay with us at Serendipity and enjoying our little slice of Paradise. And thank you for your kind words. We have a saying -"arrive as guests and leave as friends". That must apply to you!! Kia-ora!

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked Serendipity from the UK, as it looked really nice. We weren't at all disappointed. The location up on the rim of the crater was beautiful. Stunning view across Rotorua and the lake. Kate and Brian were the perfect hosts. We really enjoyed the fact that they sat down and ate breakfast at the same time, giving us the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike G
serendipityrotorua, Owner at Serendipity Homestay, responded to this review

Well, weren't we the lucky ones to have such lovely guests staying with us! We really enjoyed your company and with you staying for long enough to get to know you was an added extra. We are so glad you enjoyed Serendipity - our own little slice of paradise! If ever you come to N.Z. again, do look us up.

Wanroij, The Netherlands
Reviewed March 21, 2016

We had a lovely stay in the Serendipity home stay in Rotorua. Our hosts Kate and Brian were very welcoming and were very enthousiastic to give us information about the area and answers to other questions we had. We had a lovely breakfast with them the next morning. Unfortunately we had our whole trip booked in advance and so we...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margriet1984
serendipityrotorua, Owner at Serendipity Homestay, responded to this review

How lovely to hear from you, Margriet and to hear that you enjoyed your time in the South Island. You went to many of our favourite places. Thank you so much for your nice review. A nice review from a very nice couple.

Kyrenia District, Cyprus
Reviewed February 28, 2016

We had a really marvellous time, Brian & Kate could not have been more helpful....it was just like being at home! The outings they suggested were fab! Especially the cycle tour and the walk in the Redwoods park!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hazeeyt
serendipityrotorua, Manager at Serendipity Homestay, responded to this review

Thanks so much for reviewing your stay with us in Rotorua. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the activities we suggested. With time to get to know you, it was great to find your interests and know we got it right. There is still a lot to see and do so you must come and stay again. That would be our...

Varna, Bulgaria
Reviewed February 25, 2016

For me staying in Rotorua was unique and that I was allowed to share the time with Kate and Brian in their stunning panoramic house with beautiful garden. The house lies a few minutes directly by "Te Puia Center '', the cultural center of the Maori (school for old Maori woodcarving and school for the processing and weaving Flax according...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marionX1613EV
serendipityrotorua, Owner at Serendipity Homestay, responded to this review

We really enjoyed your company and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to assist in suggestions of what to see and do while in Rotorua. I hope you can return one day and discover other treasures. Thank you so much for your kind review. You have put us up on 'cloud 9'.

Boxmeer, The Netherlands
Reviewed January 20, 2016

Our hosts were wonderful and made our stay in Rotorua an excelent experience. They were very nice people to talk with and they had nice ideas in spending our time there. The rooms where very nice and the breakfast was lovely. we enjoied it very much. We thank you for all

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eduard V
serendipityrotorua, Owner at Serendipity Homestay, responded to this review

Thank you so much, Edvard for you nice comments. We area very pleased you and Ria enjoyed your time in Rotorua. Maybe you will come back and stay again. That would be nice for us. We did enjoy your company.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2016 via mobile

Can't recommend highly enough. Lovely kind hosts were very generous and thoughtful especially with the kids. Great breakfasts comfy beds. Absolutely 10/10 I don"t think I could find anything to criticise! Also great views and very handy to town and attractions esp mtb trails

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
serendipityrotorua, Owner at Serendipity Homestay, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. It was our pleasure and a delight to have two so well behaved sweet little girls to brighten our days. Do come again when those wheels need another work out. There is still a lot more to see and do in Rotorua .

Independence, Missouri
Reviewed December 1, 2015

Brian and Kate were wonderful hosts and very interesting to talk to as they shared their knowledge of the area. We enjoyed spending the night here and the meals was delicious with homemade breads and jams. And the view was excellent? Would definitely go back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulette H
serendipityrotorua, Owner at Serendipity Homestay, responded to this review

Thank you Paulette, for your kind words. We hope you returned home with many wonderful memories of your time in N.Z. We will certainly remember you as very special guests.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
748 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
641 reviews
8.3 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#25 of 93 in Rotorua
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 56 in Rotorua
450 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
1,176 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Cleveland Thermal Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Spa
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Marvel at unsurpassed panoramic views of the city, lakes, thermal activity, farmlands and beyond. Relax on sunny decks, in the garden or the conservatory. Indulge in home comforts and home-cooked cuisine. Let us share our extensive local and national knowledge with you. We can advice you on the best to see and do in Rotorua and while exploring our beautiful country. We are close to all ammenities, including the wonderful mountain biking tracks now famous in Rotorua. A warm welcome awaits your arrival at Serendipity -- "A surprise waiting to be discovered." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Serendipity Homestay

Address: 3 Kerswell Terrace | Tihi-o-Tongo, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $68 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Serendipity Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Serendipity Homestay staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Serendipity Homestay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“No tip needed. They're all good rooms !”
 of 5 bubbles PMannaro, Dec 8, 2014 | Read review
“you can't go wrong if they are members of TRIPADISOR”
 of 5 bubbles 283ruthn, Nov 6, 2013 | Read review
2 of 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question