We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crash Palace

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crash Palace
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

305 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 268: English reviews
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hostel was great! Well decorated, warm and filled with friendly staff who helped us a lot with sightseeing. We arrived with pinched noses because of Rotorua's infamous sulphuric smell, only to forget about it entirely in this cute little home away from home. I would definitely recommend it for a stay in Rotorua.

Helpful?
Thank cupchip
Scotland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rotorua is a tourist heavy town, and I was expecting to have to pay for it. Then I found Crash Palace - if you pay online you can get a room for less than $15. I paid $20 a night for a 4 bed dorm - a bargain for any tourist city. The hostel also has fantastic freebies. It's the... More 

Helpful?
Thank DMon13
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights but I wish we had longer! It's placed in a really good location just off the main road in Rotorua and is close to everything. You get great discounts on activities and there's even a jacuzzi you can relax in after your daily exploring. The kitchens are a bit small so cooking gets a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank GirlOnH0liday
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review

thanks for the kind words we are hoping to renovate our kitchens soon so just time and $$ they are on the list of things to do. have a great trip thanks for coming to stay More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What in incredible little find! Cheap compared to the usual rate for hostels in New Zealand this place was filled with cool vibes, fun people and clean, efficient facilities. Staff were incredible helpful and friendly, they also offer free pasta and rice (absolute essentials for travellers!). The kitchens had a range of good utensils, good gas hobs and even a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review

Thanks for coming to stay ! we appreciate it. have a great trip and be sure to tell your friends about the palace. :) safe travels More 

Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

For budget traveler you may stay here. Room, bathroom,kitchen is clean. Front guy is friendly, good people around. But the bed not so comfortable, I got back pack the day after coz of the mattress I thk it qt old. Maybe can change 🤗. Free coffee, tea , sugar & spices .

Helpful?
Thank Pris85
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review

It seems we have a few mattress'e that are causing issues please let us know as we will replace the mattress to save the next guest from any issues. thanks for the review safe travels. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

Fairly happy with my stay here. The staff were nice on arrival and departure. The free rice and pasta was a bonus. The bathrooms were hospital grade clean. The kitchens were small but adequate. Big thumbs up for the included oil and herbs - its what every traveller should appreciate! Who wants to buy herbs and oil for a few... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amos Vira G
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate you coming to stay. Hope you have a great trip through NZ safe travels :) More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

Great place to stay! Clean and tidy, give out free pasta and rice and supply tea, coffee, oil and spices for cooking. Very friendly staff. Only downside is that all the toilets and bathrooms are closed from about 10-11 for cleaning so you have to hold it. Great wifi and i would definitely recommend it to others. Lots of parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Prudence B
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review

Oh you have made me laugh so hard thank you for the kind words and the funny remark with regards to holding it !! hahahahahaha we only close one floor at a time so you can go upstairs to use the bathroom while downstairs is closed and vis versa. hope you have a great trip safe travels to you !! More 

Ithaca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

I stayed in a single room which is equipped with a big mirror on the wall, window with blinds, lamp, a desk, a stool and chair, also hooks to hang up your towel or clothes. They provide portable heater in the room (winter). It is 10 minutes walking to the main street but quiet enough. The bathroom is the CLEANNESS... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kunbi A
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words we have a great crew working at the mo and all credit is to them for doing a great job keeping the place clean !!(we have shouted lunch for them due to great reviews) hope you have a great trip through NZ safe travels to you! More 

Level Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

This hostel is such good quality and value for money. The rooms are spacious, lots of plug sockets and the bathrooms clean. There is free tea coffee pasta and rice amongst a lot of other stuff! The wifi is great. They book cheap tours from reception and are so incredibly helpful. This has set a very high standard for hostels... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly A
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review

Thanks for coming to stay ! When you get reviews like this it makes all the hard work you have put into your business and your guests experience so worth it, so thank you for your kind words. Have a great trip through NZ and be sure to tell your friends we are the cheapest place to stay in NZ More 

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016 via mobile

Wonderful accommodations...with the best wifi you'll find at a hostel in New Zealand! 😊 It was the best value for clean living areas and a fun atmosphere we have found. Plenty of space in our room with a nice table and mirror to get ready for the day. Owner and co. are friendly and knowledgable. I highly recommend this...one of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank deliarose13
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review

Wow thanks so much for the kind words we appreciate you coming to stay. I can say we do have the fastest wifi in NZ we have just spent a great deal of money upgrading to the latests services allowing our guest to connect with loved ones on any platform Skype FaceTime etc, and best of all everyone can be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
4:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 94 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
#25 of 94 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#2 of 55 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#4 of 55 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Crash Palace provides the cheapest Quality accommodation for backpackers, Groups and budget travelers. The 1930,s character building has deep funky colors throughout. New Zealand art fills almost every space and fresh New Zealand music sets the atmosphere for an enjoyable stay. Crash is conveniently located opposite the Millennium Hotel and within 5 mins walking distance of the Main Street, I site (bus stop), Government gardens, Blue baths, Polynesian spa, and Pac N save supermarket. With high-speed Wi-Fi Internet, Lockers, 2 Kitchens and dining areas, BBQ, Outdoor Courtyard, Spa Pool, Thermal heating, and friendly service. It's the perfect place to chill and unwind a little from your travels. We offer a range of free services, Pasta and rice tea & coffee a selection of herbs and spices. Also a Free Spaghetti bolignaise on Fridays in summer and pancakes for breakfast Sunday. The hostel is located within walking distance of Pac N save supermarket, Government Gardens, Blue Baths, Museum, Polynesian Spa Pools, Kuirau Thermal Park. You are right in the city close to Rotorua's pubs, bars and markets.Look foward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crash Palace

Address: 1271 Hinemaru Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $23 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crash Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Crash Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay