We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Union Victoria Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Union Victoria Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 141: English reviews
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a great couple of nights here. Rooms were very spacious which was perfect with a little one in tow. Hot pools were lovely and relaxing and the room was well heated. Had all the facilities we needed and staff / owner was friendly and accommodating. Will definitely return

Helpful?
Thank whanau123
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Will never go back there we felt unwelcome pool was closed a hole day but when a tour of Chinese came in the pool was open I ask why and he said we were others rooms need to be up dated. When we at friends come over to say hello they would come over to them and say go your... More 

Helpful?
Thank tmtanz
Noumea, New Caledonia, South Pacific
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hi it was good with thermal system keeps room hot hood hot pools and spa with mineral spa rooms where clean wifi was average not bad also near bye city centre and they clean the rooms daily basis they have sky channels

Helpful?
Thank noumeadutyfree
tokoroa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

we have stayed at the Union on several different occasions and have always found it a great central place with friendly hosts and everything we need at hand which is why we always returned. We didn't realise there were new owners so booked another stay. The lady that served us was quite rude and wanted extra payment for a 2nd... More 

Helpful?
Thank shaynetarnO
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review! But I need to tell the other people what happened that day. You stay was paid by Flybuy points. As the motel policy, we asked for your credit card for a bond, but you refused to do so. When you checked in, you came as a couple. but when you got into the room,... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

Been hear for three nights with my family. The hotel is very old and tired and every thing almost broken the beds are not comfertable, and the room is Not very clean. But the owner tries to give a good service ... The location is not bad

Helpful?
Thank 636talt
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here because I remember staying as a kid (don't ask). Just as I remembered, really nice and comfortable, pools are great and owners try really hard to make your stay enjoyable. Excellent value and very clean. I loved my stay and happy to recommend to all.

Helpful?
Thank Kadinmac
British Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2016

Our two night stay was very pleasant and the hotel was clean with free unlimited internet. It was a good value, but don't expect the Ritz. The staff were really friendly and helpful and gave us some good advice. We wish that we had time to try out the pool, which looked really nice but our days were pretty packed.... More 

Helpful?
Thank EsmeAbroad
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2016

I stayed here for 2 nights. The room is very clean and spacious. The owners were friendly and they even provided discount voucher. The location is great. There’s a supermarket cross the street. The most important thing to me is Free & “Unlimited” WIFI. When booking the hotel, I always make sure the hotel provides free wifi. In New Zealand,... More 

Helpful?
Thank B_Kuma
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2016

This was the second motel we stayed in on our 10 day trip around New Zealand. The motel was in need of refreshing. The decor and plumbing was old fashioned and institutional. The bed was really soft. The location however was good but restaurants shut early in the evening.

Helpful?
Thank Katesgrove
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2016

We stayed here two nights during our holiday in New Zealand. Our room was clean and spacious. The motel is handily placed for all the attractions in Rotorua. The owners were very helpful and offered discount vouchers to various attractions.

Helpful?
Thank brownsWestYorkshire
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#46 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.3 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#56 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
1.2 mi away
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Thermal Motel
Ambassador Thermal Motel
#31 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
20 self contained Units, 12x Studio Units, 4x One Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Bungalows.All units are fully self contained with LCD TV's, Freeview, Sky, Telephone, Wi-Fi. All Units are non smoking, check-in from 2.00pm, check-out 10.00am.Off street parking, Guest laundry, Car wash, Games Room, Bike Hire. Outdoor heated swimming pool & toddlers pool , Covered Spa & Genuine Mineral pools.Continental and Cooked breakfast available on request delivered to your room. Rotorua International Airport 20 minutes drive, Sightseeing and tour activities arranged at reception, Thermal areas 5 to 20 minutes drive,Racecourse and Golf course 3 minutes drive,Intercity Bus Terminal 3 minutes drive,5 minute walk to City centre and Restaurants.Countdown Supermarket & Mall directly opposite the Motel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Union Victoria Motel

Address: 26-28 Victoria Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $81 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Victoria Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Union Victoria Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Victoria Hotel
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#36 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#36 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay