We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Four Canoes Hostel

273 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Four Canoes Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 83: English reviews
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night after we were unable to extend our stay at Crash Palace in Rotorua. Sadly this place is in need of a lot more attention. It is huge hostel but this seems to be its downfall. Our initial room had not been cleaned with tissues all over the floor and all bed sheets in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise D
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Firstly I would like to extend my sincere apologies about inconvenience you have encountered. I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping supervisor to make sure that it won't happen again in future and hope you will give us a second chance to satisfy you with our attentive service. Kind Regards, Karan Singh More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very basic but clean and warm. great location. Complimentary tea and coffee. Very reasonable priced. No tv in the rooms. It has a pool table in the canteen area where breakfast is served. Friendly and helpful staff. There is a hot tub but I never used it.

Helpful?
Thank Sonya C
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely feedback and praising our service. Its great to hear that you had a memorable stay with us. We would be grateful to get another chance to welcome you again and to prove our high standard of hospitality. Kind Regards, Karan Singh More 

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is not a four star hotel, it is what is, a hostel!. The rooms are cold with very little heating but the beds are ok with fresh sheets. Their is no extra blankets provided if it is cold. The bathroom is very basic with very weak shower flow. On the plus side it does have a nice hot pool.

Helpful?
Thank 44scrappy
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback on our property. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the chance to improve and grow. In regards to cold room, it would have been issue with one heater but usually our room really warm as we are using thermal heating and we do provide extra blanket on request. We... More 

Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cheap but communal fridge was not safe - guests regularly took others milk, yoghurt etc. Felt bad but had to ask for Light bulbs needed replacing, no toilet paper and lots of cobwebs. Hot Pools were cold and wifi was intermittent (password sometimes lasted ten minutes, sometimes more...) TV room - locked at 9pm? not sure why. Good selection of... More 

Helpful?
Thank SLASHTong
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and firstly I do sincerely apologize for the all the inconveniences you have experienced whilst staying with us. In terms of the Fridge, it is a communal Fridge where by all in house guests have access to store their belongings in. With other guests helping themselves with other people’s belongings is unacceptable but... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

At the weekends, i visited with my friends, for get-to-together at Four Canoes Motel to enjoy. No doubt the motel was not so big but it provided all facilities like swimming pool, spa, thermal rooms and good food. The price was affordable.We enjoyed all the services very well.

Helpful?
Thank Ramanpreet K
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Four Canoes really appreciate your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit again with us and we can ensure you that your future stay would be as excellent as your first. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Overall it was a nice stay, it suited our needs as a place to stay but not much more. The wifi didn't always work and our dinner was basic and flavourless. The hot pools was about lucke water. The staff were very helpful though and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Jordan H
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize about our slow WiFi however we do have Fiber WiFi connection installation happening this week. In terms of the Dinner we provided it was a Basic Budget Menu that your group booked. A small suggestion in the future is to request for the 2 Course Dinner Option as oppose to the... More 

La Verne, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

In my mind, a hostel has to be simple, but meet a minimum requirements. The hostel was not clean, the bathroom is minimal, the staff was not rude but almost. They have a strange WIFI policy where you get connected only in the lobby for up to 4 hours by using a code they provide. The hot tub was not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ismael1973
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I like to apologize for inconvenience that you had to face during your stay, I thank you for your feedback on our property. We would be considering your point and we will work on it. However, please do give us another try, we hope your stay with us in future will be pleasant. Thank you Karan Singh More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

The reception staff wasn't friendly, straight after check in we had no toilet paper in the bathroom. I'm 5ft6 and the shower was too low for me (had to bend over to wash my hair). Bathroom wasn't clean. Bedsheets weren't clean either, we found hair, stain and even blood on it. No wifi in rooms. No elevator, so we had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JojoBeans123
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your honest feedback, this is most appreciated. I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and I will be rectifying these comments to all our staff. We would love to accommodate you again in the future to show you that we are really quite a great place to stay. Kind Regards, Karan... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016 via mobile

Very affordable place to stay. The room was big enough and clean Nice view and approachable staffs most especially in front office. I really recommend this place most especially for a big groups. They will enjoy all the facilities inside the hostel. Thumbs up! Cheers!

Helpful?
Thank kathleencY5806TL
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank You for your lovely feedback and praising our service. Its great to hear that you had a memorable stay with us. We would be grateful to get another chance to welcome you again and to prove our high standard of hospitality. Kind Regards, Karan Singh More 

kokoko
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

This was a very cheap and basic room - close to city. It slept five people for under $100 per night. As a one night stopover it was satisfactory. I would recommend to sports and school groups especially. Was disappointed though that the hot pool was out of order - which from other reviews I've read seems to be the... More 

Helpful?
Thank kokoko
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback. It is always great to hear that the rates and room are really satisfactory and sufficed all needs. In terms of our signs we now have changed our signs to Four Canoes. We do apologies for the inconvenience you have faced due to the pool. We would love to have the opportunity to host... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 55 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#2 of 55 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#4 of 55 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
#28 of 55 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
5.6 mi away
Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Banquet Room
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Rotorua's biggest and friendliest hostel. Here at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, we celebrate our Maori heritage with the spirit of Manaakitanga (hospitality), incorporating a range of room types, 5 hot pools and an on-site Wharenui (large meeting house), which provides interactive activities throughout the day. Our friendly reception staff are here 24/7 to help you with any enquires you may have throughout your stay. We have captured the culture of New Zealand in our facilities with carvings throughout the property, the Wharenui and many paintings around our hostel which show our Tipuna (ancestors). Here you can learn the local knowledge of the four waka (canoes, this is where our name originated) which came into Rotorua and formed the local Iwi (tribes). Our travel centre is open daily and fully equipped with everything you need to know about Rotorua, what there is to do, and the best places to see. We can also help you plan your trip around the rest of New Zealand, Australia and Fiji. We are just a 10 minute walk from the CBD, with a public transport stop right outside our front gate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Four Canoes Hostel

Address: 273 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $25 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Canoes Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Four Canoes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Canoes Hotel
Four Canoes Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay