We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Treetops Lodge

Travelers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Treetops Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 165: English reviews
Start your review of Treetops Lodge
 Click to rate
Siesta Key, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

To me this place is more or less a waste. The location to Rotorua is ok, but that is just as easy to reach from other Lodges. To me stay at Huka lodge and skip this place. The staff seemed rather clueless and unexcited about helping guests. Food was ok, but there really are not great views, and there is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mdbasile
GM_TreetopsLodge, General Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Treetops. We take guest satisfaction seriously, so it has taken a few days to research staff in attendance over your stay, but also to contact your travel agent directly to understand feedback they may have received in regards to the points you have made in your review of Treetops. Additionally, your offsite...

Woody Creek, Colorado
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very nice hotel lodge that is booked at the high end. It is located on a beautiful 2500 acre estate that is teaming with wildlife. We were taken on wildlife tours, were able to mountain bike and even went fly fishing on their own private river. The food was good and the kitchen staff was very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Fidel D
GM_TreetopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and pleased to hear your actual experience of Treetops Lodge was most enjoyable. Yes we do offer hunting at the lodge, however we would NEVER have hunters and lodge guests out on the estate at the same time. In New Zealand, as with many countries in the world that have an abundance of introduced (not...

Reviewed January 21, 2017 via mobile

Booked this retreat as a romantic getaway. Food and wine great. Room average. Surrounds fantastic. Internet beyond poor. Service friendly. L Booked horse riding: No safety assessment. No questions on previous experience. No information about nature of the ride. Girth/Saddle were not fixed properly. Saddle just gave way and slipped on a bend and fell on my shoulder and broke...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Reza N
GM_TreetopsLodge, General Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review

First and foremost we are very sorry that the accident occurred. We appreciate how painful the injury to your shoulder must have been for you and that the recovery has been difficult to manage. We take any accident at our lodge seriously. We have delayed replying to your review while we interviewed our Treetops team and Melissa who was leading...

westport, con
Reviewed January 15, 2017

We stayed at Treetops for 2 nights on a big north/south journey up and down New Zealand. This lodge is a bit off the beaten track about 20 minutes from Rotorua, but the drive (much over gravel roads) is worth it. The lodge is clean and luxurious. And, the staff is forthcoming, eager and totally dedicated to making the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank westportsailors
GM_TreetopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, so appreciate your kind words and will share it with the team. Just on the note of internet service - we are currently amidst the undertaking of improving this. Unfortunately it has been out of our control, but with recent advances we are able to now offer a much more extensive...

Stockholm County, Sweden
Reviewed January 13, 2017 via mobile

Just terrific!!!! We loved it and thanks to the friendly staff they made this stay just unforgettable! And a special thanks to Dave Goodman that really made this experience excellent!! He took us out in the nature and let us experience that this estate is more than can be described! To be able to fish in the secluded ponds, to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ankan2015
GM_TreetopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review

Yes Dave our estate manager is a wonderful guide, and really knows the estate - the animals, fauna and flora - he is so knowledgable. So pleased you got out and did some fly-fishing, personally I believe this is the absolute BEST activity at Treetops but I am biased! - Girls who LOVE fly-fishing! Regards, Karine Thomas

Reviewed January 12, 2017 via mobile

Henry, Denis and John were excellent hosts. Treetops is ideal for those who want to change down a gear. Everything is looked after with quiet competence. Our five course dinner was exquisitely prepared and presented and left us full - but not uncomfortable. Lovely breakfast. Obviously it isnt cheap but worth every penny. Would give more marks if i could!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugo P
GM_TreetopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review Hugo, it is most appreciated! I have passed on your comments to the team on during your stay. Kind regards, Karine Thomas

Reviewed January 6, 2017

Perfect Getaway for a couple. Location is well suited for relaxing. The road to the treetops is long and dirty, yet the final destination compensates for it all. The service is beyond perfection and place is really comfortable and cosy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chaitanya M
GM_TreetopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Chaitanya, it is appreciated and your kind words "that the service was perfect". I will pass this onto our team. With regards to the entrance road. Yes the entrance road is what we call in NZ an 'unsealed road', of which near 80% of roads in New Zealand are unsealed - especially in more remote...

Reviewed December 25, 2016

the location is ideal for a real rest. cut from the outside world. peaceful place with breathtaking views. The villa was well equipped. We enjoyed the pre dinner cocktail and the opportunity to mingle with other guests. we had three times dinner and every time the food was delicious. I enjoyed the wine pairing made by Harrie, a real connoisseur...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denis G
GM_TreetopsLodge, Owner at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and Ill pass onto the team, especially Harrie your complements. And next time, ensure you make time to Fly Fish! We have exceptional guides and some 'off the beaten path' locations, we can guarantee no one has fished for at least 30 days! - John Sax

Sydney
Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Treetops. Our villa was beautifully appointed. They offer complimentary soft drinks and water. We had beautiful canapés and drinks pre dinner and then the dining area was layed out in an elegant setting. They asked in advance if we had any dietary needs and they fulfilled all of our requests without having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jjj79
Reviewed October 29, 2016 via mobile

Up a long winding dirt road, through near virgin bush arriving at a sanctuary that is tree tops. Stayed here with the family for three nights and experienced the best, and needs a 'little improvement' of this luxury lodge. Easy to start with the best, the walkways are wonderful and there is plenty of them to do that cater for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
GM_TreetopsLodge, General Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback following your stay here, at teh Treetops Lodge It has been a pleasure to welcome you and even a better reward by reading your comments; we are delighted that the whole family had such a great time with us. I have take note of the points you raised regarding the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
9.0 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
13.7 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#25 of 93 in Rotorua
129 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
7.5 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
642 reviews
7.0 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Award-winning Treetops Lodge & Wilderness Experience is a nature lover’s paradise. Set in more than 2,500 acres of private wilderness in New Zealand’s famed thermal region, Treetops offers trout streams, lakes, over 70kms of hiking trails, 4WD & Heli safaris, fly fishing, mountain bike riding and horse riding.The lodge comprises of eight private luxury villas, the Owners Wing and the new Pheasant House. Make your stay intimate or travel with family and friends – our secluded, unique suites all have private areas and are within easy access to the main lodge. Fine cuisine is an integral part of the Treetops experience; our talented chefs use only the finest locally grown produce to compliment our extensive selection of New Zealand and international wines. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Treetops Lodge

Address: 351 Kearoa Road | Horohoro, Rotorua 3077, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $626 - $1,937 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Treetops Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Treetops Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Rotorua
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#26 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Treetops Lodge staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Palm Harbor, Florida

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Treetops Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“the valley view villas are amazing. For families, rooms in the main building wing are ideal”
 of 5 bubbles DenisG680, Dec 25, 2016 | Read review
“Get a room in the main lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles Combatfisher, Aug 12, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Daydream. Spacious suite with fireplace, separate sitting area, large bathroom, and well stocked minibar.”
 of 5 bubbles cgreg2016, Jun 30, 2016 | Read review
“All villas are lovely; some have an immediate bush view, others a panoramic bush view.”
 of 5 bubbles kiwiana7902014, May 11, 2016 | Read review
“The villas are the best, and ask for one closer to the main lodge with a better view”
 of 5 bubbles Adriana497, Feb 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question