We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Rotorua

Show Prices
#20 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

772 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Showing 718: English reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

First impression of the hotel was that it is a little old, especially the exterior and the hallways. The room was clean and modern though, what you would expect of a holiday inn. The hotel is right next to the whakarewarewa living Maori village, the redwoods (must visit) and Te Puia, so it is not so out of the way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Qs_singapore
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Qs, thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Rotorua, and we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, Rotorua tourism was built on the beauty of the natural environment, and the Geothermal wonderland, I am happy that you had the opportunity to encounter these things, Happy New Year, Kent

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 26, 2015

We booked this hotel in August from the UK for a stay in December for 4 rooms. We made a special request for ground floor rooms and for rooms in the newer building. When we checked in we were given 2nd floor rooms in the older part of the hotel. We queried why our request had not been honoured and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan W
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Susan, thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Rotorua, sorry to read that your requests we not adhered to, I have received your guest comment card, so an ascertain from that which room you were, and also who checked you in. Also as a result of receiving your guest comment card, I have asked the team to refund...

Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

I liked everything: helpful staff. The guy from reception brought us everything, we asked about, he even found the lighting in the night Tasty breakfast with various foods and cuisine. One can find English, french, even Japanese breakfast Comfortable beds and pillows

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vi E
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Vi, thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Rotorua, Merry Xmas and Happy New Year, Kent

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed December 23, 2015

We arrived early at 1 pm, but we were told that the check in time is 3 pm. So we went out, had lunch, roamed around the town a bit and came back at 3:10 pm. The rooms weren't ready. We had to wait till 3:45 p.m. to get our rooms !! Out of guilt we were given 4 coupons...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aseem C
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Aseem, thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Rotorua, Merry Xmas and Happy New Year, Kent

Florida
Reviewed December 23, 2015

We booked three nights at (reliable) Holiday Inn because we'd had such inconsistent experiences the prior month with hotels/motels that call themselves 3-4 star properties. We were unwilling to risk unpleasant accommodations the final three nights of our vacation. Check in was efficient, though I was surprised not to be granted full Priority Club benefits. We did receive free wi-fi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FancyFree55
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi MLT thank you for your comprehensive review of the Holiday Inn Rotorua, The provision of bottled water is not a IHG Rewards Club (Priority Club) inclusion for the Holiday Inn Brand, it is recommended in various locations where the water is not potable or has a strong chemical taste, you may have noticed the tap water in Rotorua is...

mumbai
Reviewed December 23, 2015

pros: - got upgraded to a bigger better room with a geyser right outside the window - room was good and bed was comfy - there is a convenience store down the road at the pterol pump where you can buy water and snacks cons: - hotel was undergoing renovation - location is a bit far from city centre but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tascha007
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Tascha, thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Rotorua, happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us, sorry about the inconvenience of the power, sounds like it was resolved quickly though, Merry Xmas, and a Happy New Year, Kent

Reviewed December 21, 2015

I stayed here for 3 Nights while on a business trip to Rotorua. The benefit of using a chain hotel, is the standardized experience and good service. The hotel is a bit away from the Rotorua main market, which is where all the restaurants are ( Rotorua can be quite a sleepy town, I'd suggest people finish dinner by 8:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank manjaril
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Trevor F, Thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Rotorua. It is good to know you had a pleasant stay here with us. We appreciate you sharing your experience, and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way. Kind regards, Kent Breeze

Queensland
Reviewed December 16, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in a double room (two queen beds) it was a spacious room for all four of us. Very clean and comfortable. We requested a room with a view of the thermal park and we were not disappointed when we arrived. Large window with a spectacular view of the geysers. We had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant, food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz83Queensland
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Liz83Queensland, Thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Rotorua. It is good to know you enjoyed a pleasant stay here with us. We appreciate you mentioning our friendly and helpful staff, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way. Kind regards, Kent Breeze

Manchester
Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is not central in Rotorua (about 2km out) but great views over the nearby Whakarewarewa village from some rooms. The service and rooms are fine but we felt that the breakfast lacked imagination and finesse, which was disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iona007
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Iona007, Thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Rotorua. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for sharing your experience. Kind regards, Kent Breeze General Manager

Sydney, Canada
Reviewed December 12, 2015

Excellent location to visit the thermal parks, in fact you can see the geyser from the room balcony! The rooms are clean and presentable and while some areas are a bit tired, the hotel is generally quite good and enjoyable. Enjoy happy hour from 5.30pm and then a buffet dinner, including seafood! The breakfast buffet is also excellent. Staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor F
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Trevor F, Thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Rotorua. I am pleased you liked our unique and scenic location. We appreciate you mentioning our friendly and helpful staff, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way. Kind regards, Kent Breeze

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

280 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (215)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.5 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#28 of 93 in Rotorua
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $86 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Rotorua staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask to view the room, or if you want our double queen room with bath ask for 710.”
 of 5 bubbles FMartinAustralia, 6 days ago | Read review
“dont choose this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 625ankita, 1 week ago | Read review
“Standard Room has the worst ever view, Luxury hotel can have”
 of 5 bubbles 192kunalg, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms away form the pool are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles VerdiA, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Tower room overlooking the thermal area.”
 of 5 bubbles Kenny0654, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question