We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Rotorua

Show Prices
#19 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

636 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 594: English reviews
Rajkot, India
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I visited this hotel during a business tour. First of all this hotel is a bit away from the Rotorua city centre. Well nearby the hotel there is absolutely nothing to do in regards to pubbing, shopping, hanging around etc. No shops nearby. So stay here if you are sure that do not want do any of the above activity.... More 

Helpful?
Thank prashdolls
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
347 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As an IHG rewards member we received an upgrade to a room at the back which looked over to the edge of the thermal area so lost of steam coming up from the ground which mixed with the misty rain so actually at times couldn't see far at all! Room was quite comfy and plenty big enough for 2A and... More 

Helpful?
Thank David S
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear David S, Thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Rotorua. It is disappointing to read that your order was forgotten and that some amenities in your room were left wanting. I apologise for the inconvenience caused and the negative impact this had on an otherwise pleasant stay. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for sharing your... More 

Warkworth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room was small but adequate for what we needed. The food was great, good selection. The double beds really need to be replaced with Queens. They weren't comfortable at all. Housekeeping was very slack: while we were out during the day you would expect to come back and find a tidy made up room....this didn't happen all the time... More 

Helpful?
Thank SandiPandy
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear SandiPandy, Thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Rotorua. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for mentioning our friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you again and thank you for sharing your experience. Kind regards, Kent Breeze General Manager More 

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Enjoyed two nights at this hotel. Family room was large enough for two adults and two teenagers, clean, modern and quiet. Room overlooked the car park and the residential area, pleasant. Don't let the smell of the sulphur put you off, you do get used to it. Used the heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi most nights, where my children made... More 

Helpful?
Thank SirKhasi
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear SirKhasi, Thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Rotorua. It is good to know how much you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate you taking the time to place feedback and thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you all back again. Kind regards, Kent Breeze General Manager More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Holiday Inn for 3 nights. Fair rates, good facilities, great service. The heated pool is amazing, warm like a spa. Apparently it is heated by the local hot springs, so it is environmentally friendly. Heaps of towels available, great facility. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Rooms are nice. Very clean. Would stay there again

Helpful?
Thank RussellHart
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear RusselHart, Thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Rotorua. I am pleased to know how much you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for mentioning our friendly staff. We appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Kent Breeze General Manager More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Rotorua for a work trip. The hotel is lovely and I would highly recommend it. Its located about 7 - 10 mins away from the main city centre by car. The rooms are spacious, beds are amazingly comfortable, and the room includes all your basic amenities (tea/ coffee/ shower gel/ shampoos/ conditioner etc).... More 

Helpful?
Thank Arnaz23
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Arnaz D, Thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Rotorua. It is good to know how much you enjoyed your time here with us. We appreciate you mentioning our friendly and helpful staff and thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Kent Breeze General Manager More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

to the general manager we came in to have a beautiful lunch yesterday with our brother from perth we were the only four plus a group of twelve on the other side of the room who had a smorgasboard we got our entrees and drinks within a reasonable time 2 hours later 3 mains came out I said to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth R
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Ruth R, Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Rotorua for your special occasion. It is disappointing to read of the prolonged wait you had for your meals and I apologise that we did not get this right for you. I will be sharing your comments with our Executive Chef to get some feedback of the cause of the undue... More 

Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here whilst catching up with old Friends in Rotorua. Room was comfortable, and quiet. Staff were friendly and pleasant. Free WiFi was a great bonus! I think this Hotel is better suited professional couples / singles rather than for families.

Helpful?
Thank RachelAF23
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear RachelAF23, Thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Rotorua. It is good to know how much you enjoyed your time here with us. We appreciate you mentioning our friendly staff and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, Kent Breeze General Manager More 

Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived a day early due to a mix up by us and the staff and duty manager went out of their way to adjust our bookings. The first night it took over an hour for our meal to arrive due to room service. The staff couldn't have been more apologetic and waived the price of the meal. Manager we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kaydee A
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Kaydee A, Thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Rotorua. It is disappointing to read that there were one or two issues with the meals and I am pleased that our staff were able to go some way to putting things right for you. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to share... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
217 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying one night at the Holiday Inn in Rotorua while attending a very large 80th Birthday celebration. Rooms was spotless and very clean, lovely thick fluffy white towels (something I love!), bed was super comfortable and so nice to have a choice of a firm or soft pillow. Buffett breakfast was excellent, a lot of choices... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janis W
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Rotorua. It is good to know how much you enjoyed your time here with us, and thank you for mentioning our friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you again and thank you for sharing your experience. Kind regards, Kent Breeze General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

209 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (143)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Braeside Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 stars 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $88 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay