We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rydges Rotorua

Overview
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Heated pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
4 Star accommodation
Additional information
Visit hotel website
Offers from Rydges Rotorua
Offers & Announcements:15% Off This Summer
About
Description
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in More the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. Less
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Minibar
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Pool
Beachfront
Breakfast included
Hotel Style
Business
,
Family
,
Luxury
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Style
Business
,
Family
,
Luxury
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
135
Price range
$115 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
,
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
,
Rotorua Rydges Hotel
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 90 nearby hotels
Midway Motel
84 reviews
.06 miles away
Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection
329 reviews
.07 miles away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
588 reviews
.09 miles away
Geneva Motor Lodge
149 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 280 nearby restaurants
Ciabatta Cafe and Bakery
657 reviews
.45 miles away
Urbano Bistro
976 reviews
.07 miles away
Oppie's Fish & Chips
549 reviews
.29 miles away
Cobb & Co. Rotorua
600 reviews
.56 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 203 nearby attractions
Bibleworld Musuem & Discovery Centre
43 reviews
.70 miles away
Rotorua Central Mall
23 reviews
.61 miles away
Rotorua By Segway
39 reviews
.07 miles away
Silver Fern Spa Studio
19 reviews
.29 miles away
Reviews & more
1,380Reviews
313Photos
5Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 331
  • 480
  • 302
  • 146
  • 121
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
a very poor experience i had of staying here, the rooms are big but extremely basic, the food quality is below average.

the BF spread is minimal and extremely basic, worth avoiding.

no other facility what so ever, only 2 machines in gym.

not worth a stay in anice city.
Read more
Response from MoniqueE530, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Rotorua
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Chaturvedi Thank you for your review, we take all our comments very seriously and I will look into the points you raised. Thank you Monique
Read more
Extremely disappointed pool closed, gym closed, bar not staffed, room was large but old and run down, also found mold in the shower. This was the worst Rydges I have been to across Australia and New Zealand
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from MoniqueE530, Executive Assitant Manager at Rydges Rotorua
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Kiza07 Thank you for your review. I apologize about the bar not being staffed, I will look into that. The pool has been closed permanently for almost 2 years and we have tried our best to remove that from all sites, may I ask where you had seen it advertised? I will follow up the Housekeeping manager regarding the shower, I am not sure if you are familiar with Rotorua but the Sulphur corrodes all our chrome and it does have the same appearance as mould. Thank you
Read more
We chose the Rydes hotel via their website and we really liked what we saw. However the pics were obviously taken years ago. The general hotel looks tired and worn, the general style of the hotel looked confusing.
Our room was tidy but not clean, the dust around the bed was thick
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from MoniqueE530, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Rotorua
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. These are all very valid points that you have mentioned. I can completely understand your frustration from the loud noise at night with the 3 events that we had on. I will raise all these points with our senior management team and implement a plan to improve on our cleanliness and food offer at breakfast. Kind Regards
Read more
I booked to stay here because of the gym & pool facilities which have now been closed. The hotel is advertising they have these facilities in the room information.
I also found the information online.
Read more
Response from MoniqueE530, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Rotorua
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Getawat609275 Thank you for your review. Our pool has been closed for almost 2 years due to structural damages, we have removed this information from all websites, if you could please let me know where you had seen it advertised so that I can ensure that they remove it. Apologies regarding the gym, we are in the process of acquiring new gym equipment to upgrade the gym to make it more enjoyable for guests
Read more
Me and my family had an amazing time staying at Rydges Rotorua. Not only was the rates really affordable but we were looked after really well.

Thank you can't wait to go back and stay again.

Ngā mihi.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from MoniqueE530, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Rotorua
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear NikaR32 Thank you for your awesome review, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Center & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementRydges Rotorua
Superior Twin Room
Photo provided by managementRydges Rotorua
King Spa Suite Dining Room
Photo provided by managementRydges Rotorua
King Spa Suite Living Room
Photo provided by managementRydges Rotorua
Rydges Dream Beds
Photo provided by managementRydges Rotorua
Minibar
Previous
What gym facilities are there?
Couple of treadmills and a few weight machines. Enough for a bit of morning exercise.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi, we are staying at your hotel this weekend. Do your rooms have Sky TV in them? Thanks
We've just stayed at Rydges Rotorua Sara and can confirm there are some Sky Channels (news etc.) in the rooms.
1 vote
Show all answers
What's the best way to get to the hotel from the Rotorua i-Site Visitor Centre?
Do the rooms have tea making facilities?
Thank you 892Janpat for the question. We do have tea and coffee making facilities in our rooms, as well as a sink and bench in our rooms. Please do feel free to send me any further questions you may have. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager
0 votes
Show all answers
Almost all the guests on the front page of the reviews (1-10) have good things to say about this hotel then why overall only 59% reviewers have recommended it and hotel is ranked a dismal 59th out of 94? In a small town like Rotorua I would expect Rydges to be in top three if not the best.
Hi Raj S, Thank you for your question. I am not entirely sure how the rating system works through trip advisor, however we are committed to redeveloping our product offering to meet the needs of our guests. The addtiion of FREE WIFI, our RISE Breakfast and Dream Beds are just a few initiatives that we have recently adopted in this area. More recently the teams effort and passion in this area has been recognised and appreciated by Trip advisor travellers. We look forward to continuing our efforts to improve and redefine our product, and hopefully one day being rated as one of the top ten rated properties in Rotorua.
1 vote
Show all answers
"Choose another hotel"
"Do not pay in advance, this limits your options. Make sure the hotel has all the facilities available, ie swimming pool as advertised."
"Don't bother"
"Ask for a room overlooking the race track with a balcony."
"Too far away"
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing