We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,328: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed March 29, 2016

Our stay was wonderful and we loved all the extras over the easter weekend. Having to wait nearly a week for our credit card bond to be returned was annoying and could have been disasterous had we not had extra funds but it was a long weekend. But apart from that it was really nice to stay there and may...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa C
Lichfield
Reviewed March 28, 2016

The hotel needs to be totally refurbished. We found the rooms to be adequate but in need of decoration and upgrading. There appears to be a huge throughput of visitors and frankly the staff do not make an effort to help you enjoy your stay. The internet is poor and has lots of restrictions on it. The check in staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveLichfield
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed March 27, 2016

I have stayed here a few times. The thing that makes me return every time is the convenience location (1min walk to Polynesian Spa!!!), and great service. The room is not as fancy as some other hotels in town (yes I do travel a lot in Rotorua), but let's be honest, who stays in their hotel room all day when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mia1003
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed March 26, 2016 via mobile

Our initial room which was not a superior room was without air conditioning which was quite disappointing. We asked about options and were offered a family room at a reduced price. We were very happy with the family room which had two bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 balconies and a great view! We appreciated the efforts that Matt, the manager, made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Memere6
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed March 23, 2016

Stayed over night last december and I found it pretty good. We got a room for three people and it was clean, tidy and not noisy at all. I loved that is right across from the Spa. The cocktails were tasty ;)

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cmalinayi
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed March 22, 2016

The room we had (a lakeside one) was spacious and well-appointed. The staff were all particularly friendly and helpful. Both the buffet dinner and breakfast offerings were varied and well cooked. The hotel is well-located for easy walking distance access to the town.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michael B
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Michael Thanks for taking your time to write this review and share with other travelers your experience with us, I am so happy to read that our staff made such a nice impression Kind regards

Whitianga, New Zealand
Reviewed March 20, 2016

The weather was not the best but given the variety of services supplied within the hotel it didn't matter. The staff were all courteous and helpful. The Hotel location was central and close to the International Spa and Government Gardens both word class facilities

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave M
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Dave Thanks for posting this review, I am happy to read that you had an amazing time in Rotorua despite the weather as we have so many attractions to offer Kind regards

south yorkshire
Reviewed March 20, 2016 via mobile

Love this hotel , we only have two nights hear ,, the staff are just Amazing thank you for making us pomies so welcome , food best we have had in 18 days well organised love warm pool and spa rooms , bedrooms large we didn't have much of a view but too busy to care only one prob a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lynbit56
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am so happy to read that you had such an amazing time during your stay with us and that our staff made such a good impression, we will have a look into the fans in our bathrooms and try to correct it, thanks for sharing your feedback Kind regards

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed March 20, 2016

Very please with the room size and comfort of the beds. The bathroom was clean and spacious, and lighting was good. In saying that, the lighting in the living area left a bit to be desired (impossible to do makeup, but used the bathroom anyway). Facilities were great and luggage storage was excellent. I was, however, most impressed by the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maddison N
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Maddison Thanks for sharing you experience with other travelers, we do take pride on our costumer service and as you experienced we try our best to assist and help our guests, that is the whole reason we are so passionate about what we do, thanks again Kind regards

Reviewed March 17, 2016 via mobile

The hotel staff was friendly and the place is clean. But the floors and rooms are a bit dated. No AC means no cool down on a warm day and the ceiling fan doesn't cut it. Our room had some noisy vent outside which made it uncomfortably loud when the window was open.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sascha H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

337 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (308)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (117)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
660 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#29 of 93 in Rotorua
1,084 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $83 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Clearwater, Florida
Mont Tremblant, Canada
6 months ago
Gold Coast Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“prefer for a room with lake view window/ balcony”
 of 5 bubbles TravelinDewi, 1 week ago | Read review
“If possible pay a visit to Susan the masseuse. The massage she gave me was fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles tricia1259, 1 week ago | Read review
“ask for room with view”
 of 5 bubbles joebloggsSouthStaffs, 1 week ago | Read review
“Nowhere would be quiet, take ear plugs.”
 of 5 bubbles deec648, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“If needed, mention need of elevator access when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles pcanders, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question