We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,394 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,296: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Awful, reminded me of university halls of residence. Tired in desperate need of up grade and decoration. Curtains torn bathroom dirty, fridge old with black mould on the seal. Bed clean linen clean, air conditioner did not work. Would not go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hellfire28
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel was clean and comfortable,though our room was a bit dark and cramped due to two double beds in the room. Great for families but not couples. The bar area was big and airy but one of the settees was torn. It was a big breakfast area, breakfast was ok. The staff was very helpful. This hotel also had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Having stayed in Sudima hotels in the past I had high expectations of the Sudima Rotorua Unfortunately I was very disappointed. The building had the look of 1970s University accomodation and the rooms are very tired. For example our room had ripped net curtains with a large hole in them. The bathroom was showing its age. All in all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Broardie
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The rooms were reasonable. They were clean and modern enough. However, the room was quite hot (found out later that the thermostat was set very high). The staff were extremely friendly, they always greeted you, even when walking past you in the hallway. The breakfast was really good with a wide range of options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam E
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Quite an outdated hotel, and we needed to pay to use the wifi. The rooms were small and quaint and there was free parking nearby which was good. Staff were friendly and bathrooms were clean so can't complain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed one night and booked three rooms. All six of us were pleased with our rooms. They were clean and comfortable, and the staff was helpful in every way. We would like to mention especially the duty manager Mr Koczinski ( I am sorry if I spell the name wrong) who did a great job.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lin T
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Lin Thanks for your kind and nice review about our hotel, I am really happy to read that you enjoyed our hospitality and facilities, I hope we can welcome you back at some stage in the near future. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed for one night could of stayed for more. We had a lovely big room facing the lake in a good position opposite Polynesian spa which we visited, room was spotless and had everything you needed. Enjoyed our buffet breakfast and evening meal and also happy hour in the bar and all staff were so friendly. We will definitely stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Diane I am so please and happy to read your feedback, it is always nice when our guests mention the words "Loved it", I hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were supposed to have a superior room at this hotel . We arrived late after a long journey and were disappointed to find we were given a very standard-looking room in a corner with no balcony. The room was really hot and stuffy and had four beds in, which we didn't need, so you couldn't swing a cat, to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz J
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Liz Thanks for taking the time to write your review and rating, I am sorry if the room allocated to you in this occasion didn't meet your expectations and I understand the reason why you didn't want to move rooms, thanks for your kind comments in regards to our staff. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When you go to Rotorua, you should be aware of the smell. It is a part of it. The smell is very strong at the hotel though. The hotel looks old and outdated from the outside, especially the building in front of the actual entrance. Unfortunately, that is where we spent our night. The elevator is old, small and rumbles....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bas S
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your feedback I really appreciate it, I am happy to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful and that our location suited your needs. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

San Ramon, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on a tour of the north island. Within easy (3-4 blocks) walking distance of downtown, and a supermarket 1 block away. On the lake with it's walking and biking trails. Nice breakfast and dinner buffet. Lots of tour groups stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brian94582
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Brian Thanks for your nice comments and feedback, I am pleased to read that you found our facilities and services up to your expectations. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

321 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (292)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
748 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#26 of 93 in Rotorua
1,067 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $84 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Clearwater, Florida
Mont Tremblant, Canada
5 months ago
Gold Coast Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Visit Tutanekai St. for dinner and visit the redwoods in the evening with the lights shining upon them”
 of 5 bubbles 630bass, 6 days ago | Read review
“We were in 300 room block which had air con.”
 of 5 bubbles Pupstar05, Jan 8, 2017 | Read review
“Don't book near the entrance if you value quiet nights.”
 of 5 bubbles alatoa, Jan 7, 2017 | Read review
“would be nice to have a room facing the geyser.”
 of 5 bubbles 984evelyns, Dec 1, 2016 | Read review
“Front upstairs rooms will have the full view of the Lake. Whether this matters will depend of the length of your stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 842brucec, Oct 29, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question