We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

363 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 346: English reviews
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

No towels in the room. Had to dust the room. hair in the bath. Someone else used flannel was left hanging on the town rail was used. This is only one of the rooms the other end one was not much better. No lights on at night time over the stairs carpets repaired with duck tape. Staff where friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew F
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Old fashioned,not too clean,empty revolting pool. Best thing was view from windows! Only a PowerPoint socket holding a mirror from crashing to the floor!! Facilities nonexistent although apparently breakfast was available we really didn't want it.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Elaine G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

...as it overlooks the geyser flat. But someone needs to gut the building and start again. Really nice check in staff, but the building is in poor shape, with rust, cladding coming away, a drained and stagnant swimming pool. Room clean and tidy as far as it went; brilliant view of the thermal area, but carpet stained, wall coverings coming...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BNorthwood
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

All we can say is "false advertising", the room was so old, light didn't work properly room was so dark, peel-off wall, old and disgusting toilet. No fridge/mini-bar. The pool was empty and closed of course. Also if the pool and other facilities are being closed for maintenance, guests should be informed. I can see the hotel's manager responded to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank kimhh912
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautifull view of the Geyser, yet it gets old quick and there is nothing else the hotel offers. Everything is old and dated, 80% of power points non functional, dirty towels, terrible mattress. Every single listed ammenity like spa, pool, gym, etc was closed "under renovation". Judging by previews revies, same excuse had been given since april yet no signs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eduardo R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely disgusting!! Please do not visit this place, it's really not worth it. It's really dated and absolutely filthy. Pictures from the hotel website are a lie. It really doesn't deserve any stars. The duty manager was an absolute liar and couldn't get his story right, one minute he's a manager and the next he says the manager isn't available....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Som Z
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

We thank you for your feedback We are disappointed that you had some housekeeping issues with the room you were allocated. We do have a great housekeeping team, but in this instance they have let us down, and we have taken steps to resolve the issues you have raised Just to clarify, I did not refer to myself as the...

Reviewed November 1, 2016

The none existent shower. The toilet leaking onto the floor at the back of the cistern. The broken chair that could have really hurt someone if we hadn't noticed it. The broken sliding door. The dirty carpet, dirty bath, dirty sliding door frames. Overall it was a disgrace to New Zealand'S clean imagine. The facilities advertised included a spa and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terraina L
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Superb view of the geysers and mud pools from the room; perhaps the best view in Rotorua but the hotel is run down. Staff were nice, except in the 'restaurant' where you could almost sense the embarrassment at the truly dreadful, poor quality 'breakfast'. Pool was in a shocking state, no wifi but staff were very nice.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jack c
southland
Reviewed October 25, 2016

Staff were friendly and polite but that's where it ended 1. No fridge - had to go ask for one 2. No towels, face cloths, bath mat or hand towels - asked for some but they could only find towels so they gave us 4old towels (2brown 2 green) and told us to use corners for facecloth lol 3. No...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank larry1811
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed October 24, 2016

This is the worst place we have ever stayed, about the only thing we found that worked properly was the lights, the fridge heated instead of cooled, mould in the bathroom, stains in the carpet, the bed was sunken in the centre and collapsed underneath, the base of it was only just holding together, there were exposed wires in several...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank greyghost267
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

235 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (223)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.6 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#62 of 93 in Rotorua
81 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ace Motor Lodge
Ace Motor Lodge
#85 of 93 in Rotorua
33 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baden Lodge Motel
Baden Lodge Motel
#89 of 93 in Rotorua
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $54 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Only use a geyser view room”
 of 5 bubbles jackc825, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles larry1811, Oct 25, 2016 | Read review
“for view 832 to 835, 932 to 935”
 of 5 bubbles sisira28, Oct 1, 2016 | Read review
“Just don't book this Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles tracys237, Aug 29, 2016 | Read review
“We were on the second floor and had a fantastic view of the geyser.”
 of 5 bubbles DonnaL159, Aug 10, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay