We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Specialty Lodging in Rotorua

Rock Solid Backpackers

77 reviews
Save
Traveler (4)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (2)
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good37%
  • Average7%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Wheelchair access
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (77)Write a Review
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
29
24
4
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
29
24
4
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock climbing wallping pong tablekitchen dining areafree pool tablegreat locationcommon roombunk bedscommon areasup to dateenjoyed my stayfront desk stafffree internetrooms are cleanone nighta great place to staystay there againhostel
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

The bed and shower room are clean. The best thing is they have cabinet for each person in the room. Table、table tennis、video game..., all can play with free! The hostel Not too far from i-side, pretty good location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yuhsuansu2018
Response from RockSolidNZ, Manager at Rock Solid BackpackersResponded 3 days ago

We appreciate your feedback, am glad you enjoyed our facilities!

Reviewed 5 days ago

It's a clean hostel in a really good location. The atmosphere is like on a gym which isn't the nicest and the closing times for the kitchen and bathroom cleanings are super annoying especially if they don't tell you about it in advance.

Thank Kurelli
Response from RockSolidNZ, Manager at Rock Solid BackpackersResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for your feedback, we do need closing times for cleaning between 10-2pm. Hope that overall you had an enjoyable time during your stay in Rotorua.

Reviewed 6 days ago

Friendly staff who are more than happy to help with anything. Free pool table in the reception area. Clean and tidy rooms and very quiet after 11pm. Great atmosphere. Fantastic location. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alastairh703
Response from RockSolidNZ, Manager at Rock Solid BackpackersResponded 5 days ago

Thanks Alastair for your great review, trust you made it home safely. We are glad to have been part of your memories during your visit here in Rotorua. Take care and come back soon! Cheers Karlee

Reviewed 1 week ago

The place was very centrally located. Street parking was safe and not too hard to find a spot. The facility was very clean and well organized. Friendly staff and nice deco colors. Comprehensive facility.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tktravelstheworld
Response from RockSolidNZ, Manager at Rock Solid BackpackersResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us a positive review, we really appreciate it. It's a great, fun hostel and we take pride in giving our guests a good time. We are glad you enjoyed your Rock Solid experience. Take care around New...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night, it was good. There was a friendly person working at reception. The rooms were clean. The kitchen was well stocked with supplies. Plenty of showers. Good location. No complaints.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank taraloader
Response from RockSolidNZ, Manager at Rock Solid BackpackersResponded 1 week ago

Hi Tara, Thanks for the lovely review and choosing to stay with us, we are stoked that you had a good experience. Safe travels around New Zealand! Cheers :-)

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345613
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
$16 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
$16 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (4)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (2)
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Bathroom (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
2Paz
March 24, 2017|
Answer
Response from RockSolidNZ | Property representative |
Hi Yes we do please email our manager
0
Votes
Room Tips
"We asked for towels upon arrival."
Read review
"Good and confortable."
Read review
"I was in room 304 on Level 3"
Read review
"Perhaps another power socket in our room as there was only one (which would have been used for the heater if..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite