We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 216: English reviews
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a nice clean holiday park, suitable for motorhomes and large caravans. Amenities are a bit dated, but in good order. There are some thermal pools available, but again older. Close to attractions.

Helpful?
Thank Greg T
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback - we are under new management and while we are in our off-peak period we are certainly trying to get as many of our upgrades done before our summer starts. There are exciting times ahead for the staff here at the Holiday Park as it has certainly been a while... More 

Jaisalmer, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely, quiet place, but if you want some comfort, this isn't for you. Located by the highway, but very peaceful. The thermal pools are awesome, but the Ensuite log cabin we had could do with some heating The heater inside never came on and it was bitterly cold. Had to dress up like one does on high altitude climbs,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rajesh K
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks for your response and we appreciate the feedback - we apologise for the heating issue in your room. We are in the middle of upgrading our cabins and have an electrician arriving today to sort this issue out as the comfort of our guests is paramount. We hope you come back to stay sometime soon. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I live in Auckland NZ and have stayed at this place a number of times and always enjoyed our stay. Two rears ago we had friends visiting from Mexico and we rented a cabin here for a trip to Rotorua. Just the wife and our guests went as I had to work. I received a frantic call... More 

Helpful?
Thank kimandhayden
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, we always want to be improving our service and we appreciate you taking the time to reply even if it's a couple a years later. We have new management since you stayed with us and we have looked into booking anomalies within our system. We have upgraded the integration between online booking agents and direct bookings.... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Called prior to arriving and told office would be open until the time I thought I would arrive. When I did arrive is was not open. Instructions for when the office were closed were listed on the door however there were no maps of the park available to find anything. Luckily I was able to locate a map online and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erin S
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Erin, thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback glad you had a lovely stay. After your feedback we will put a few extra maps into our late check-in box so thanks for this. During our slow season the closing time for our reception varies subject to requirements but as you say there is late check-in instructions... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

We stayed here for a family reunion, chosen for its facilities (even though quite a way out of town). The cafe was closed, the swimming pool was green, the cabins were awful (one had a terrible fish smell). While we had one of the few cabins with a shower, it was tiny and very hard to get a decent clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank NeedGoodCoffee
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback, we are sorry you felt your stay was less than adequate. It does state on our website we do not have a café on our premises but apologise if you missed this; the colour of our pool is due to the fact we gather our water from natural thermal underground... More 

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Hammerfest, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016

Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park is a camping ground in the outskirts of Rotorua. It has several cabins, and places for caravans, RVs and tents. There is a service building, and a reception with limited opening hours. We stayed in a cabin, that had a toilet and a shower. The Cabin had on bunk bed, and one small queen size bed.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raymond R
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and we appreciate the reply, we really love having your wonderful positive feedback. Now that we are in our quieter times through the autumn and winter months our upgrades have begun so there are exciting times ahead for us at the Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park. If you are back in Rotorua over the coming months... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

We read a few mixed reviews about this place before booking online. But we figured we were only there for 2 nights, how bad could it be? Well, when we arrived, even the receptionist looked apologetic when handing us our key! The room we had was little more than a box with a few beds crammed in: two single beds,... More 

Helpful?
Thank 21stCenturyExplorers
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback - I am truly sorry you found your room less than satisfactory. If you booked your room on-line there are full descriptions as well as photos which gives you an indication of what your accommodation will provide you - apologies if you did not see this. We do try very... More 

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016

No hot water in the showers, hand basins or kitchen. Tried running the taps for about 5 minutes but still no hot water. No paper towels in toilet area and the hand dryer in the ladies wasn't working. The outdoor swimming pool was green and dirty and the smaller hot pools had algae floating in them, could be cleaner. Wouldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan G
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback - I am sorry your stay was less than satisfactory and apologise that there were temporary issues with our hot water. Our holiday park is about to undergo massive renovations which we hope to have completed by December 2016 so there are exciting times ahead. From time to time we... More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016

Had a very run down unit. Not the most comfortable but it did for one night. The thing that annoyed me the most was going to get an early shower but there was no hot water. You couldn't even say it was luke warm. I tested the water at the handbasins and that was the same. So I went back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn H
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and we appreciate your feedback. Our Holiday Park is about to undergo huge renovations this year which will rectify these issues and we apologise for any inconvenience you had while staying with us. If you are back in Rotorua this coming summer we would love to see you. More 

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016

Spent two nights at this park during a road trip. We booked the "one bedroom apartment" and really enjoyed our stay here. Facilities were good, and the cabin was situated in a nice quiet area. A bonus was the free thermal pools, which we enjoyed on more than one occasion.

Helpful?
Thank Gary L
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and we really appreciate the positive feedback. Our Holiday Park is about to start a massive upgrade so it is exciting times ahead for us - if you are back in Rotorua please make sure you come and visit us. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.6 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 94 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
4.8 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel
6.6 mi away
Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park
2.7 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A visit to Rotorua is not complete without visiting Rotorua's renowned Thermal Holiday park Rotorua's closest Holiday Park to Thermal activity, world-class level Whakarewarewa Mountain bike park. With free geothermal pools onsite to relax in at the end of the day. A heated outdoor pool and some fantastic walks through the tree-trust behind us, you won't be short of things to do. As well as being one of New Zealand's Tourism hubs for cultural and Geothermal attractions and activities. A great place to stay, with all types of accommodation including tent sites & powered caravan/motorhome sites, studio cabins, log cabins, ensuite cabins, tourist flats and superb self contained 2 bedroom motel units. Surrounded by Protected Native trees Rotorua Thermal Holiday park is the ideal place to stay. The Holiday park has a bike wash, wifi (fee), pools, a kids mtbk track, playground and an onsite sports masseuse (by appointment only). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

Address: 463 Old Taupo Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $37 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park Hotel Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay