We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cedarwood Lakeside - Motel & Conference Venue

Save
Share
17 Holden Avenue Holdens Bay, Rotorua 3010 New Zealand
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
$81
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com$90
CheapTickets$81
eDreams$90
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (160)
Room & Suite (45)
Pool & Beach (28)

About

#13 of 89 hotels in Rotorua
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Quiet, tranquil lakefront accommodation and conference venue on the shores of Lake Rotorua, Cedarwood Lakeside is one of the most relaxing motels in Rotorua. We have 16 quality ground floor units ideally suited for families, travellers and corporates. Choose from standard studios with kitchenette and fully self contained two bedroom family units or lakefront suites at the water's edge. All units have lake views, free unlimited ultra fast WiFi, 5 Sky TV channels and are serviced daily. The complex features private indoor spa pool, an outside spa pool, heated outdoor pool, large BBQ area, children's play area and private jetty with a nearby boat ramp. Coin operated guest laundry available. Plenty of off street parking for boats. Mountain bike wash down area and storage available. Breakfasts available - continental or cooked. We are located within easy driving distance of Rotorua City Centre which is approximately 8 minutes away or 2 minutes drive to the Regional Airport.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Bath / shower
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
379Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 255
  • 105
  • 15
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Cushla F wrote a review Mar 2021
Auckland, New Zealand8 contributions4 helpful votes
Online this place looks OK, however on checking in we found our unit to be run down, the carpet old and dirty, the PU leather couches all shedding their 'leather', cigarette butt's everywhere outside including right on our unit steps, the pool is tiny, the trampolines are unsafe, and the unit smelt bad. I turned a cushion over and it was filty, the covers have obviously never been washed. The dining chairs had rust spots on them. I felt like I didn't want to touch anything myself, let alone have my 4 year old daughter in the unit. To top it all off, it's miles out of town. I can't believe the audacity of this owner, charging $193 a night for this place. What a joke. Don't stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Lehua Huang, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside - Motel & Conference Venue
Responded Apr 1, 2021
Hi Fell, Not surprised to me at all when I saw your feedback. You have booked for 2 nights special rate from booking.com, and you told me that you want to change to one night the minute you step into reception. I’ve told you that you will have to communicate with booking.com to make change, you said I know you can change it and rush me again and again. I said if you booked directly I can change it for you, but if you booked from agency you will have to go through them as we don’t want break any rules between us and booking.com. And I have call them for you as obviously you don’t want call them for some reason. Might be you know that I can say no and charge you in full as per your booking conditions. After communicating with agent, I’ve agreed not to charge you the 2nd night but increase the rates to one night rates. And you were agreed. You have left key on the reception table and left after an hour roughly. When I saw your unit key I when you your unit and checked everything and found you guys left a bag with wallet and the other stuff behind. I called you to remind you and you said it was too far from the town center, then come back to grab the bag. Our motel is only 8KM from the town center, less then 10 mins driving distance. And it has details on all website specificity. Anyway, thank you so much for your feedback. We will do our best to serve all the guests who stays here. Kind regards
Read more
SarahJ_NZ wrote a review Jan 2021
2 contributions
My family and I stayed in 2 units at the start of the year. The units were great, the location was great and finally the hosts were great. We will definitely be back. This is a great location if you want to go to the lakes or mountain bike.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Lehua Huang, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside - Motel & Conference Venue
Responded Jan 28, 2021
Hi SarahJ, Thank you for sharing your experience of Cedarwood Lakeside after your recent stay with us! I am so glad that you guys enjoyed everything here. It was my pleasure to have all of you guys here again! Lastly, thank you for recommending Cedarwood to other travellers and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! Kind Regards Leon
Read more
Paul Martin wrote a review Nov 2020
Hillcrest, New Zealand1 contribution
We stayed for 3 nights. The studio room was very comfortable, quiet and had everything we needed. We had two mountain bikes which we could store securely in the bike shed. We hired kayaks from reception and it was all organised easily. The location is nice and quiet with beautiful views of the lake. The host, Leon, was very friendly and helpful. A great place to stay and we're already planning to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Lehua Huang, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside - Motel & Conference Venue
Responded Jan 28, 2021
Hi pmar044, Thank you for sharing your experience of Cedarwood Lakeside after your recent stay with us! I am so glad that you guys enjoyed everything here. It was my pleasure to have all of you guys here again! Lastly, thank you for recommending Cedarwood to other travellers and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! Kind Regards Leon
Read more
Panda wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Leon and Grace were exceptionally welcoming and accommodating of our large group on our Harley's. Security service well over and above expectations. Rooms were clean, comfortable and super easy to access. Facilities were readily available. Such a very quiet peaceful spot - no road traffic noise nor airport noise. A very family/group orientated venue. Top notch - thanks Leon and Grace, we look forward to seeing you both again next year.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Letting Leon or Grace know what your requirements are helps source the best room for your...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Lehua Huang, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside - Motel & Conference Venue
Responded Jan 28, 2021
Hi Sally, Thank you for sharing your experience of Cedarwood Lakeside after your recent stay with us! I am so glad that you guys enjoyed everything here. It was my pleasure to have all of you guys here again! Lastly, thank you for recommending Cedarwood to other travellers and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! Kind Regards Leon
Read more
LMB27958 wrote a review Oct 2020
Oroua Downs, New Zealand105 contributions36 helpful votes
Outstanding hosts that made our large group (16 rooms I think) feel most welcomed, nothing was too much trouble, easy, caring, helpful, clean comfortable lockwood-style room accommodation, and friendly hosts - thank you Leon and your wife. Rooms clean and two- bedroom units very spacious. Superb grounds with fully fenced warm outdoor pool and spa, kids play ground area, fantastic bbq and outdoor space. Confrence room also available. Quiet and right at lake edge. Whilst not at city centre ( its near airport at Holden Bay), supermarket etc only 1km.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Lehua Huang, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside - Motel & Conference Venue
Responded Jan 28, 2021
Hi LMB27958, Thank you for sharing your experience of Cedarwood Lakeside after your recent stay with us! I am so glad that you guys enjoyed everything here. It was my pleasure to have all of you guys here again! Lastly, thank you for recommending Cedarwood to other travellers and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! Kind Regards Leon
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$77 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionRotorua DistrictRotorua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cedarwood Lakeside - Motel & Conference Venue
Which popular attractions are close to Cedarwood Lakeside - Motel & Conference Venue?
Nearby attractions include Rotofobia (3.1 miles), ZORB Rotorua (4.4 miles), and Redwoods, Whakarewarewa Forest (2.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Cedarwood Lakeside - Motel & Conference Venue?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Cedarwood Lakeside - Motel & Conference Venue?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Cedarwood Lakeside - Motel & Conference Venue?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Cedarwood Lakeside - Motel & Conference Venue?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cedarwood Lakeside - Motel & Conference Venue?
Conveniently located restaurants include EL Mexicano Zapata Cantina, Ali Baba's Tunisian Cuisine, and Gelato Mio Ice Cream.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cedarwood Lakeside - Motel & Conference Venue?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Cedarwood Lakeside - Motel & Conference Venue offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cedarwood Lakeside - Motel & Conference Venue?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to Cedarwood Lakeside - Motel & Conference Venue?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tamaki Māori Village (2.7 miles), Te Puia (4.0 miles), and Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village (3.7 miles).
Does Cedarwood Lakeside - Motel & Conference Venue have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.