We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Dolphin Motel

Show Prices
#12 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dolphin Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

297 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 288: English reviews
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay over two nights. We felt comfortable and enjoyed the proximity to shops and sights. The two rooms and three beds were very suitable for our group of three. We appreciated having cooking facilities. We would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bron808
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

Cannot say enough positive things about this place...staff was friendly and very helpful. Extremely easy to locate and well-positioned in town. Flexible hours for travellers. Very clean, beds were incredibly comfortable, and room was well-appointed with whatever you might need. Full housekeeping service daily (they even did the dishes for us...thank you!!). This place was a *steal*...incredibly well-priced for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pepperpotts0176
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Reasonably priced with everything you need, this motel is in a great location. In walking distance to the shops ,restaurants, bars and ferry, but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. We would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbriff_334917
Auckland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have felt so comfortable while I staid there I could have experience to swim with dolphins and could see really nice landscape. I can't forget the memories in Bay of Island.... Thanks for everything

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonylP9080PF
emmz2015, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

excellent to hear you had a fabulous time in the Bay of Islands glad we could help helping your trip enjoyable

Paeroa, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked two units for eight of us, the one that we got are the one closest to the main street. I dont mind that since it has not many traffics, and i know we will be out most time. However, I was not impressed when I walked in because : 1) the bedrooms did not looked as big as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yi Ting H
emmz2015, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Yes both the 2 bedroom units are on the ground floor closest to the road, sorry you thought the photos in your perception make the room smaller that it is, you have been looking different the 2 bedroom luxury photos instead of the standard 2 bedroom units.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Holiday Paihia very pretty stay a few days. Staff wonderful. Clean room, very comfortable warm bed. Easy walking distance to cruise. Bay of Islands special. Drive 60 to 80km 4hours from Auckland. I don't need 200 words. 30 words enough or no review ççccccvvvvvvvvvvvbbbnnnnhhc ch hjkjbvv b hhjjjjjjkbj

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dragonfly4035
emz1921, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the room lots of people enjoy our beds very comfortable

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel in spring(November) was a bit too cold first night, a bit too hot second night, with temperature control out of guest's rooms only. Well stocked with extra blankets, kitchenette supplies, and very helpful staff balances out the temperature complaints. Walking distance to markets, dive shop, restaurants, and pier/shore services.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LenoreDMorte
emz1921, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Yes great for town events close yet quiet hope to see you again ring direct for specials

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very comfortable accommodation. We had a two night stay, room was very roomy for a 2 bedroom unit had everything we needed. Well within walking distance to Paihia yet not too close to hear any traffic noise. Staff were really friendly too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ds77762
emz1921, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Glad you had all you required to have a enjoyable stay, happy to assist

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Comfortable motel and handy to the town center, restaurants etc. Easy access and parking and easy walking to main Paihia and Waitangi sights plus the wharf for cruises into the bay or to Russell. An easy stay of reasonable value

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry W
emmz2015, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Thanks gerry for your nice comments hope to see you again

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We thought this Motel was great for our needs but did not rate it 5 stars for two reasons. One day they forgot to make up our room. Some staff miscommunication so we for the "last towels" which were a bit threadbare and ratty on the edges. Also the bed was too soft for us. Otherwise the layout and features...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianna C
emmz2015, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Yes sorry about miscommunication about your servicing of room, happy to hear however you liked the shower pressure etc many guests love the showers.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#14 of 43 in Paihia
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Qualmarked 4 star. In the heart of Paihia 5 minutes flat walking from waterfront,shops. Wide range of accommodation from Small Queen Studio(Basic Facilities),King Studios,King Studio Spa, One Bedroom(sleeps 3-4),Two bedroom(sleeps 4) and Large Family units(Sleeps 2-7 people)with Spa Bath and BBQ. Kitchens, Sky TV 19 channels. Free WiFi with 2GB, Laundry. Knowledgeable Kiwi operators to help you with tours in the Bay of Islands and throughout New Zealand. Special packages arranged.BBQ also available.New Fast Wifi System.Great Discounts for Tours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Address: 69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: $70 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Paihia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Dolphin Motel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Auckland Region, New Zealand
over a year ago
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
over a year ago
Auckland Region, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Dolphin Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Depending on weather, warm layers or fans maybe needed. Laundry on site, coin operated($2 coins), small fridge/microwave/dishes provided.”
 of 5 bubbles LenoreDMorte, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Small room with adequate amenities, just perfect for a night stay for one person.”
 of 5 bubbles Swapnilwk, Apr 21, 2016 | Read review
“Quite close to the centre and all local facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles X7290RMjamesp, Mar 10, 2016 | Read review
“Front apartment for 2 couples worked well and kept us away from the busier reception area”
 of 5 bubbles 192kevinp, Mar 9, 2016 | Read review
“We had a King Suite which was great but unnecessary for two better for 3 or 4 people”
 of 5 bubbles paniap, Jan 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay