We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Bounty Motel

Show Prices
#15 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bounty Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 142: English reviews
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We returned to this motel after previous stay in 2002. Rebooked here as price continues to be great value for money and close to everything. Booked 2 bedroom unit - a little bit strange that door into unit is directly into main bedroom - but was not a bother. Our unit was newly renovated and spotlessly clean. Had everything we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jlawson59
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review,very much appreciated.It was a pleasure to have you stay. All the best Paul More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great value and short walking distance to the town centre. Very friendly and helpful staff. The studio was warm, comfy and handy to all amenities within the motel. The king bed was excellent and very comfy -that was the best. A breakfast service was available at a very affordable price, very well done. No complaints about our stay at all.

Helpful?
Thank JohnandKaylene B
BountyMotel, General Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks John and Kaylene it was a pleasure to have you stay.Look forward to seeing you again in the future. Paul More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Bounty motel over the weekend as we were driving around the Northland. The location was fantastic, just 5 minutes walk from the wharf where the cruises leave and the town center, shops, restaurants, bars... We rented an apartment with a massive bed in the main room and 3 single beds in a separate room. The kitchen... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Hello Barbara many thanks for your review.Much appreciated.Hope you return to see us someday.Good to have known you were a light sleeper and we could have shifted you to an upper unit.We were very busy that weekend. All the best Paul More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016

Recently a small group of us wanted some peace, quiet, good food and an easy time. The motel is central to the beach and shops but blessedly quiet. The rooms were large, warm and inviting with plenty of deck space when the sun shone. The manager was a mine of useful information and arranged a fantastic tour to Waitangi for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeanette B
springfield9, General Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks Jeanette for your great review its was most appreciated.Hope to see you back in the Bay of Islands and stay at our motel.Hope you have a good trip back to the UK. Paul More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016

This place was fantastic for a great weekend away with mates. Rooms close together meant it was easy to catch up with each other on the balcony. Paul was incredible helpful with advice on places to eat and things to do, he even arranged the tour of Waitangi for us, meaning we rocked up and things were organised! The rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank LQM123
springfield9, General Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments and rating it was a pleasure to have you stay at our motel. Hope you come back some day to the Bay of Islands and enjoy our hospitality. Paul More 

Staffordshire Moorlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2016

We had a two night stay at the Bounty Motel, where we found everything good. It is situated in a residential area just a few minutes stroll from the sea and centre of Paihia. The rooms were spacious, clean and furnished in a modern style with a very comfortable bed. Liked the reading light fixed on the headboard. There was... More 

Helpful?
Thank gerryshut
springfield9, General Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Hi Gerry glad you enjoyed your stay at our motel.Yes we have a buffet continental breakfast available at $7.50 which is good value and fills one up for the day ahead. Mind you we have a Supermarket a hop skip and jump away and close walking to anything(dont need to take a car) All the best Paul More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016

We arrived at the tail end of a cyclone weather system, lots of rain and strong winds, as the roads were starting to flood and it was getting late in the afternoon, we rang the owners to let them know we could be late. They were fantastic told us not to worry and to drive carefully and take our time,... More 

Helpful?
Thank grubbaldd
springfield9, General Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review.Yes indeed we are very close to everything and no need to take a car.Look forward to seeing you or friends in the Bay again sometime. All the best Paul More 

Tasmania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

PAul was most welcoming on arrival and couldn't do enough for us. The room was basic but clean and roomy. A good shower and plenty of facilities. The bed was great, and the location was convenient. Wifi was advertised, however not working very well in the rooms. PAul told us he was having it looked at. It worked ok near... More 

Helpful?
Thank TassieGrammia
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thanks it was a pleasure to have you both stay.Glad you enjoyed our facilities which we know it is a good standard and we are in walking distance to everywhere. We have now updated the Wifi system and all seems working well and unlimited as well. All the best Paul More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Very nice place to stay. Rooms are clean and good atmosphere. Its a budget hotel so bedrooms are little small but convienient. No regrets for staying there. Balcony is lake facing and ambience is good. Recommended for budget stay.

Helpful?
Thank Mayurharia
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments.I was puzzled when you mentioned "lake front"as we have no lake here only the sea/ocean,so was wondering whether you are reviewing the right place. The unit if you stayed here in was our newly renovated rooms which do have a balcony. One thing though you would have found that we are in easy walking distance to... More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
171 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

Nice place with an owner that actually cares about whether you had a good stay or not. Rooms are clean and tidy and the internet is very fast and free and depending what deal you are on has a free continental breakfast thrown in which is basic but good. Overall very nice place to spend some time.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mozzroom
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

thank you, we certainly do care that you enjoy your stay, that is all important to us and I am glad you noticed! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bounty is a Kiwi owned and operated property, located in a quiet suburb approx 100 meters from the Paihia Beach, shops and restaurants. It is a 3 minute walk to the wharf for dolphin watching, fishing trips, sightseeing and ferry to Russell. Tours to 90 mile beach and Cape Reinga pick you up at the motel entrance.We have a conference area for small groups up to 60 with catering facilities and kitchen. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bounty Motel

Address: 42 Selwyn Rd | PO Box 170, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Paihia Central Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: $57 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bounty Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bounty Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounty Hotel Paihia
Bounty Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#19 Family Hotel in Paihia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay