We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Save
130 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200 New Zealand
Booking.com
Otel.com
Nustay.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (155)
Room & Suite (55)
Dining (32)

About

#12 of 41 hotels in Paihia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa overlooks Paihia's most picturesque beach and is within walking distance of Paihia Wharf, the departure point to discover the wonderful Bay of Islands. Located within the Hotel is the chic poolside and ocean view restaurant offering only the finest culinary experience. Visit the hotel's award-winning spa, La Spa Naturale, offering first class spa treatments with a uniquely New Zealand flavour.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Beach
Conference facilities
Spa
Concierge
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Bay View

Location

Full view
76Somewhat walkable
Grade: 76 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
0Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
344Reviews2Q+A99Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 192
  • 91
  • 29
  • 24
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We paid $476 a night, well more than we would have paid for Westin in Fiji or similar. We were so disappointed. The location really is primo, but the rest; cabinetry in bathroom stained and damaged, hair on the walls, pillows are awful. One of the small pools was empty and surrounded by traffic cones. Apparently they couldn't fill it because of the drought. Yes there is a drought and so that's fair enough, but put a board over it! looking at dirty old traffic cones ruins the whole outlook. I discovered there's not duvet cover on the duvet. They double sheet the beds and put a duvet in the middle. And it was stained. I certainly don't stay in one place when I sleep so the thought of a non covered duvet on me is gross. I asked the house keeping staff but they said "no, we don't have any and yes, it's a bit weird". I also walked past rooms where the duvet was on the floor while they were making the beds. We ditched the duvet and thankfully it was warm so we only needed the sheets. We thought we'd stay by the pool and have nibbles or lunch at the house restaurant. Nope. Not open. We were offered free breakfast. 4 items on the menu. So we said no thanks and walked down to the village where there are some nice options. And yes, you can walk to the village easily. The location of this place is great. We did get a small per night refund with no arguments which was good.
Read more
Response from Kanishak S, General Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Firstly, I would like to thank you for your online review about your stay. I do see some concerns and i will certainly address them. During last two months , we have hosted over two thousand guests staying with us. Most of these guests have enjoyed and appreciated the world class experience at the resort. During a severe drought phase in the lives of a twenty five plus team are still working diligently around the clock to deliver a quality hospitality experience. This is also true for every Tourism operator in our region & this displays our resilience . I have a received brief note about your expectation gap as a traveller coming from Fiji islands. Having worked very closely with some of the luxury properties located in Fiji myself, We admire them & understand that there are some lovely properties. However, if a traveller compare and critiques an individual property with another across the globe, inevitably, there will be product proposition & its perceived value gaps. Your submission of very dismissing comments at the check in regarding dried gardens & our inability to use hoses to wash off the building despite your knowledge of the severe drought conditions that prevail in the Northland region is very disappointing. Our rooms, facilities,qualified staff, & our resort function are in line with high hospitality standards. We will accept your feedback & improve our response to critical process improvements in the future.
Read more
Stayed two nights, I found the place to be dark and dingy, no air conditioning. I am sure must be better places to stay in Paihia that are better and closer to the town. I would not rebook this place.
Read more
Response from PBRManager, Front Office Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi there Robert, Cross check you have the right property as all our rooms and restaurant etc have air conditioning. Plus all rooms are light and airy with sea views and all open out onto balconies. Kind regards Suzi Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Read more
This review is written bearing in mind that the cost of this hotel is high and it is promoted as luxury boutique. On the positive side the room we were allocated was a good size on the third floor with a large balcony overlooking the pool (and busy road!). On the downside we were woken at 8 on the first morning by the cleaning staff chatting outside our room (301) and collecting cleaning equipment from a cupboard next door. The jacuzzi was fenced off and empty and the featured heated pools were not operating due to a water shortage. I understand why this was needed but there was no notification in advance and no reduction in cost as a result. When we used the main pool the large parasols were not in use and there was no one on hand to put them up. We ate on two nights in the restaurant and on the first the food was excellent and the service adequate. On the second there were only four customers including us. The waiting staff were inattentive spending time in the kitchen chatting - they also had a pc linked in playing loud music which I had to ask twice to be turned down. I suspect that the chef was also distracted because the food this time was overcooked! Overall a disappointing stay bearing in mind the price - would not stay here again.
Read more
Response from PBRManager, Front Office Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 22, 2020
Good Morning John, Thank you for your feedback. We have taken your inconveniences into account and passed this onto all staff that were involved. They are aware of what has happened and send their deepest sincere apologies for the matters. If these had been brought to our attention during your stay and on your departure we may have come up with a resolution for you. We do very much hope we meet again in the near future, till then take care.
Read more
We had a comfortable room with a balcony but the bathroom was a little dated. The staff were friendly & the breakfast was good. A good place to stay whilst exploring the area. There was ample parking overnight.
Read more
Response from Kanishak S, General Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 5, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your time in reviewing your experience at the Paihia Beach Resort & Spa. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Bay of Islands. Our team is delighted that your stay was comfortable. Regards, General Manager
Read more
We had a beautiful room with small kitchen area, huge balcony and fantastic views of the ocean! Great breakfast service although only a reasonable selection. All staff were friendly and helpful. Parking underground was limited but plenty of roadside spaces available. Very good location for visiting Waitanga, Cape Reinga and taking a cruise around the bay!
Read more
Response from Kanishak S, General Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 5, 2020
Dear Guest, We are delighted to read your lovely review. Thank you so much for taking out time and writing a review for us. We sincerely hope that your onward journey was comfortable & relaxing. We certainly look forward to welcoming you & your friends again at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa. Regards, General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$136 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
paihia beach hotel paihia, paihia beach resort and spa
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandNorthland RegionBay of IslandsPaihia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
What are some of the property amenities at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Paihia Beach Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Third Wheel Coffee Co., GREENS Paihia, and Amazing Thai Bar & Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Paihia Beach Resort & Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Paihia.
Are any cleaning services offered at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Paihia Beach Resort & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Waitangi Treaty Grounds (0.6 miles), Pompallier Mission and Printery (2.2 miles), and Flagstaff Hill (2.5 miles).
Does Paihia Beach Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Paihia Beach Resort & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.