We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Specialty Lodging in Paihia

Saltwater Lodge

99 reviews
Save
Traveler (26)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (1)
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good29%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“the kitchen”(22 reviews)
“large lockers”(2 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Multilingual Staff
Wheelchair access
5.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (99)Write a Review
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
55
25
4
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
55
25
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenensuite bathroomlarge lockerstv videocommunal balconyfemale roombackpacker hostela fantastic place to staytop bunkbunk bedscommunal areasstayed here for nightswifi is freesliding doorfamily roomwould definitely stay here againferry terminal
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

We were in room 14 on the 2nd floor. Rooms are well maintained. They have a bunk and two singles (which are made into a king if you choose this configuration). So perfect bedding config for Dad Mum and two teens. Unfortunately, the top bunk...More

Thank jadagreen
Response from Nachiket_VAITY, Manager at Saltwater LodgeResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your comments about Lodge. It's great to see that you share your experience and lovely comments about your stay with us. We always try to do our best to make sure that our guests feel welcome and can enjoy what the Bay...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in a 4 bed room with my boyfriend, the staff were very friendly and helpful giving advice on the activities around the area. The room itself was very spacious, had many plugs and lots of storage. The ensuite bathroom was also very good with...More

Thank Phoebe P
Response from Nachiket_VAITY, Manager at Saltwater LodgeResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and felt very comfortable. We will feel delighted to host you on your next visit to the Bay of Islands. Best Wishes for your future travels.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve travelled to many countries and tried many different types of backpackers. This is a very spacious and clean backpackers bordering on motel standards. Perfect location to the beach and nearby shops. Clean and good staff. Definitely recommend!! I stayed in both 4 bed dorm...More

Thank Jazmine C
Response from Nachiket_VAITY, Manager at Saltwater LodgeResponded 2 weeks ago

We are happy to know that you were happy and comfortable to stay with us. And also would like to thank you for the recommendation. best Wishes for future travels.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a deluxe 4 bedroom for a family of 4, 2 teens. What we liked: spacious and extremely clean room, on third floor, large bathroom with liquid soap dispenser, bath and beach towels, complimentary coffee, tea, sugar, and milk. The Lodge itself is a...More

1  Thank Cuppa C
Response from Nachiket_VAITY, Manager at Saltwater LodgeResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately, we are not able to control the bar but we keep the noise minimum at our side. Best wishes for future travels.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel offers a big terrace just outside your room, and I booked this hostel, because there is this nice terrace. But what the Saltwater Lodge DID NOT tell is that at 10:30 there will come an uniformed security guard and tell you, that you...More

Thank camajo
Response from Nachiket_VAITY, Manager at Saltwater LodgeResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, Yes, we do market on the shared terrace on our every website. But with respect to other guest comfort and security, we have the policy and signs to vacate the terrace by 10:30 pm and our security guard comes at midnight which gives you...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345618
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Microwave
Details
Price range
$40 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
$40 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (26)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (1)
Pool & Beach (1)
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Bathroom (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Saltwater Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"Third floor above the kitchen"
Read review
"Book early"
Read review
"Choose the 2nd level, the rooms are larger!"
Read review
"Room 9 is the furtherest away from the road and bars, and also the communal lounge which can get noisy too."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite