We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Saltwater Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Saltwater Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 68: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice, superclean hostel. All the plates and cups in the kitchen are new. The common area has lots of couches to hang out. The rooms are spacious. There were not that many backpackers there but it is low season at the moment. The staff (Lenka and her husband) was very helpful and had some great tips for us.

Helpful?
Thank Pez2468
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pez2468, Wow- what a great review for us to read. You compliments have been highly appreciated and we hope they helps others to choose their stay in Paihia. We are thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed our facilities and service. We wish you safe travels around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit. More 

Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights and it has been a great stay! Not only the place is super affordable, the staff are super friendly and super helpful too. The room is super spacious, super clean, and the bed is super comfy. Everything in Paihia is within walking distance. If I ever come back to Paihia again, I wouldn't hesitate to... More 

Helpful?
Thank KelefehMan
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for amazing feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed yourself while staying with us, we are glad you was satisfied with customer service. We would be happy to welcome you again on your next visit. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016

Scored a solo room on 2nd level and it was huge with the hugest bed I ever seen in it! Whole place was super clean and staff were lovely. Neat location too. If you were concerned about noise I think that would be a problem in peak season as the walls between rooms don't seem too thick, but heck it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank bronimc
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Bronimc, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your compliments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. In addition, thank you for choosing us for your stay again in the future. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016

The rooms are clean, pleasant on the eye and modern,with bathrooms in every room a must for all accommodation I feel. it is close to the beach and the self serve kitchen lounge area is big and fantastic, all pot pans plates are alway available - we stay here often on business and would recommend this anyone wanting a modern... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kiwicaty
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this amazing review. It is great to hear that our Lodge is providing everything our guests require and make their stay pleasant and enjoyable. Thank you for visiting us on many occasions and we hope to host you again in the future. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

Lovely big rooms and ensuite was lovely although once they had been mopped each day, they did not dry so wear shoes when you go in! The rooms were lovely and warm in the evening although you can't turn the heating on during the day. The kitchen area is brilliant - lots of space for cooking and storage and lots... More 

Helpful?
Thank GirlOnH0liday
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear GirlOnH0liday, thank you for taking your time to write this lovely review. We are happy you had a nice stay and enjoyed our facilities. Heaters are set up to turn off after 10am (check out time) for few hours, to reduce electricity waste. Thank you very much for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you next... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

+ clean rooms (lounge, kitchen, bathrooms, bedrooms) + heater in the rooms + well-equipped kitchen + free herbs/salt/pepper for cooking + free tea, coffee and sugar + unlimited Wi-Fi for free that actually works + own bathroom for each room + cupboards with the opportunity to use a locker if you want to + located in the centre of Paihia... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reisegiraffe
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review about your experience. We appreciate feedback from our guests. We try to provide all guests the best possible experience. We can't wish for more than happy customers who would like to stay here again on their journey around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

I was only going to stay a night or two but ended up staying for over a week. Excellent facilities that are always clean and well looked after. The staff are friendly and very helpful. It's nice to have a dryer that dries your clothes the first time around. There's nothing I feel this hostel is lacking and would stay... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HopelessWanderer1122
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing a lovely comments about your stay with us. We can't wish for more than happy guest who want to stay longer. Our priority is to make every stay an enjoyable experience. We wish you all the best on your journey around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016 via mobile

I've recently spent the past two months staying at Salwater Lodge and I wouldn't stay at another hostel. Its a spacious, clean and well equipped hostel, with a great social vibe and nice common area. The friendly managers and good lay out means you'll not find it hard to meet people but if you want to relax and have some... More 

Helpful?
Thank kerryandrachel
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kerry, We would like to thank you for your amazing review and the time sharing your experience with travelers. We are thrilled that you had great time staying with us and that you went back to travel with lots of memories from Paihia. We appreciate your very kind words regarding our Lodge. We wish to have travelers like you... More 

Augsburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here up for 4 nights and everything was perfect! The rooms are very big and clean, there is a big balcony where you can relax with your friends or just enjoying sitting in the sun. At the evening you can go to pubs, which are very close to the hostel or cook something in the kitchen and just have... More 

Helpful?
Thank marc_2096
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marc, we want to thank you for commenting our Lodge so highly. It is our priority to make all of our guests happy and make them feel like home. Therefore we are glad to hear that you had a good time. We wish you safe travels and have a great time in New Zealand. More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016 via mobile

This is an amazing hostel!! Right from the beginning the customer service was great when I wasn't sure if I was staying 2 nights or 3. I was able to pay for my first 2 nights and then come back to pay for my third when I decided how long to stay in Paihia. The wifi is free, unlimited, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sadiedude
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sadiedude, We appreciate you took the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our Lodge. It sounds like you had a fabulous stay with us and we can't thank you enough for all your kind words about your experience. We wish you safe travels around New Zealand. Kindest regards, Lenka & Rohit More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Saltwater Lodge

Address: 14 Kings Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: $40 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Saltwater Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Saltwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay