We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saltwater Lodge

14 Kings Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Saltwater Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 64: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely big rooms and ensuite was lovely although once they had been mopped each day, they did not dry so wear shoes when you go in! The rooms were lovely and warm in the evening although you can't turn the heating on during the day. The kitchen area is brilliant - lots of space for cooking and storage and lots... More 

Helpful?
Thank GirlOnH0liday
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear GirlOnH0liday, thank you for taking your time to write this lovely review. We are happy you had a nice stay and enjoyed our facilities. Heaters are set up to turn off after 10am (check out time) for few hours, to reduce electricity waste. Thank you very much for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you next... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

+ clean rooms (lounge, kitchen, bathrooms, bedrooms) + heater in the rooms + well-equipped kitchen + free herbs/salt/pepper for cooking + free tea, coffee and sugar + unlimited Wi-Fi for free that actually works + own bathroom for each room + cupboards with the opportunity to use a locker if you want to + located in the centre of Paihia... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reisegiraffe
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review about your experience. We appreciate feedback from our guests. We try to provide all guests the best possible experience. We can't wish for more than happy customers who would like to stay here again on their journey around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

I was only going to stay a night or two but ended up staying for over a week. Excellent facilities that are always clean and well looked after. The staff are friendly and very helpful. It's nice to have a dryer that dries your clothes the first time around. There's nothing I feel this hostel is lacking and would stay... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HopelessWanderer1122
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing a lovely comments about your stay with us. We can't wish for more than happy guest who want to stay longer. Our priority is to make every stay an enjoyable experience. We wish you all the best on your journey around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016 via mobile

I've recently spent the past two months staying at Salwater Lodge and I wouldn't stay at another hostel. Its a spacious, clean and well equipped hostel, with a great social vibe and nice common area. The friendly managers and good lay out means you'll not find it hard to meet people but if you want to relax and have some... More 

Helpful?
Thank kerryandrachel
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kerry, We would like to thank you for your amazing review and the time sharing your experience with travelers. We are thrilled that you had great time staying with us and that you went back to travel with lots of memories from Paihia. We appreciate your very kind words regarding our Lodge. We wish to have travelers like you... More 

Augsburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here up for 4 nights and everything was perfect! The rooms are very big and clean, there is a big balcony where you can relax with your friends or just enjoying sitting in the sun. At the evening you can go to pubs, which are very close to the hostel or cook something in the kitchen and just have... More 

Helpful?
Thank marc_2096
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marc, we want to thank you for commenting our Lodge so highly. It is our priority to make all of our guests happy and make them feel like home. Therefore we are glad to hear that you had a good time. We wish you safe travels and have a great time in New Zealand. More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016 via mobile

This is an amazing hostel!! Right from the beginning the customer service was great when I wasn't sure if I was staying 2 nights or 3. I was able to pay for my first 2 nights and then come back to pay for my third when I decided how long to stay in Paihia. The wifi is free, unlimited, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sadiedude
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sadiedude, We appreciate you took the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our Lodge. It sounds like you had a fabulous stay with us and we can't thank you enough for all your kind words about your experience. We wish you safe travels around New Zealand. Kindest regards, Lenka & Rohit More 

Benediktbeuern, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2016 via mobile

I could use the Saltwater Lodge Wifi free of charge without staying there, when the Wifi where I stayed didn't work properly. Thank you very much, Rohit, it was really very very kind of you! And it worked perfectly. Can only recommend your Lodge as I assume you would try to be of help for others as well. Gertrud

Helpful?
Thank Gertrud S
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your nice review. We are happy that we were able to assist you. We are very pleased that based on your experience you would recommend others to stay in our Lodge. Kind Regards Lenka & Rohit More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016

There aren't enough good things to say about this hostel. The staff was very helpful with the wifi and they were incredibly friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and I enjoyed every minute of it. It was a short walk to the beach and the internet worked very well, considering how many people were probably using it. If you're looking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick B
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us for your stay and your delightful review. We are pleased to know that your stay was enjoyable. We are glad that our guests have pleasant experience and nice memories on Bay of Islands. We wish you safe travels around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit More 

middlesbrough
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2016

Ugly building but spacious clean rooms and kitchen area. One of the best equipt kitchens I've seen travelling, only downside was no pool. But 5 min walk to beach. not cheap but not expensive, would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank recharnock
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Recharnock, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about our Lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciated our Kitchen facilities, rooms and location. Our building structure unfortunately don't give us space for pool. But as you mention we are only 5 minutes from beach which means our guests... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016 via mobile

I have stayed at many backpackers over the years but this one takes the cake. It was very clean, tidy and the facilities were great. The common room had a very family feel and was kept in a very clean condition. We had our own ensuite in the room which of above any of the standards of bathrooms I've experienced... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy W
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are new in Paihia, however we think this is amazing place to visit. We try to do our best to help our guests enjoy this lovely place the most. We appreciate your feedback on our facilities and we are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable . Thank you for recommending our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.6 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Saltwater Lodge

Address: 14 Kings Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: $36 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Saltwater Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Saltwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay