We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Show Prices
#17 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
See the most recent reviews
Showing 430: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed February 24, 2016

We have stayed here twice on deals during off-peak season. Great spot on the waterfront and walking distance to everything in the quaint town. Very near the Waitangi site and to Russell. Rooms were nice and clean with comfy beds. Spa pool was clean but the surrounding area could do with a touch up.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RnR_275
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for comments, we hope to welcome you back soon

Longview, Washington
Reviewed February 22, 2016

Kingsgate was very comfortable, right across the road from the waterfront, and easy walking distance to restaurants and the grocery store. They worked with our coach company to store and deliver our luggage before check-in and after check-out. We did have trouble a couple of times with not enough hot water for our showers, though. And the free wifi was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we will look into the hot water situation.

Tasmania
Reviewed February 21, 2016

Overall, a nice stay, but the rooms are quite small - it really is a motel, so the 3 of us (9 yr old in tow) were quite snug in the room. Staff friendly enough. It was a bit disappointing to find some guests had paid 1/2 what we had paid because they got on some "Grabone" site, or something...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RooboyTasmania
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback

New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Reviewed February 20, 2016 via mobile

The Kingsgate by far exceeded my expectations having stayed in numerous others around the country. Would definitely recommend this place as a deluxe place to stay. The suite was spotless and the staff were friendly and more than helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear we meet your expectations during your stay with us.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed February 20, 2016 via mobile

The Kingsgate is centrally located and a short walk to the cafes and restaurants in Paihia. However I was disappointed with a the complimentary wifi as it was only valid for 30 minutes a day, before you had to pay for additional connection time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth D
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Our wifi is set at a national level with the chain and is out of the hotels control.

Witney, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 19, 2016

A basic motel room. Adequate but nothing fancy. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinner in the hotel were very good. Nice outdoor pool area but quite small. Very close to the pier where all the trips leave from.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterW2804
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, room suggestion for a view is to book our junior suites.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 9, 2016

Non-residents are welcome here. Their all-you-can-eat evening buffet dinner is exceptional value. Oysters, green lip mussels, crab and prawn in abundance. Great salads, always a roast of the day with vegetables, cheese board and a selection of desserts. Comfortable dining room directly overlooking the bay. Good wine list.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback its nice to hear the positive comments on our buffet.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed February 9, 2016

Great location to the wharf and shops. The room was lovely, clean and modern. Beds were comfortable. Reception staff were helpful and friendly and we could not fault the service. Great outdoor pool, and spa, the children spent a large amount of time swimming. The restaurant had a smorgasbord in the evening with a wide variety of food. Had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your staff with us and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back one day.

Manawatu-Wanganui Region, New Zealand
Reviewed February 9, 2016

We were there as part of a coach trip. Staff very friendly, especially Billie in the restaurant, and no complaints about the room. Unfortunately the carvery/ buffet style got a bit much after three nights and on the third night there wasn't as much choice if you didn't want the carvery. However, the hotel was very well located for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LCM18
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback I will pass on your comment to Billie its nice to read about our staff being friendly.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 3, 2016

The room was good, modern and relaxing to be there. Well positioned for all activities. Good TV selection and good range for breakfast overlooking the water. Interesting "scrambled egg" dish which was essentially a set savoury egg custard - very good while not what a Brit would consider scrambled egg. food seemed a little over-priced. So why so mean with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nickcrouch12
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, our wifi is set by Millennium Hotels New Zealand

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

165 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (143)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
441 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: $61 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Auckland Region, New Zealand
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Breakfast was in $9 for Toast and Coffee $15 for Continental and $22 or 23 for full cooked breakfast.”
Gonz2020, 1 week ago | Read review
“Book a Junior suit if you can”
Nakigirl62, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“ask for a sea view”
errolin100, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Get one near the bar and check your email quickly !”
DesW108, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Walking distance to everything”
ATT2444, Mar 11, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question