We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Show Prices
#14 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

399 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 381: English reviews
Ornskoldsvik, Sweden
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for three nights. Perfectly situated by the beach in the middle of Paihia. Nice beds, clean room, good shower. The staff is friendly and helpfull. The only negative is that you need to purchase wifi if you want more than 30 min a day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is absolute beachfront, 100meters from the pier. Rooms were good and comfortable. This is a big hotel, with probably 100 rooms. Staff were efficient and friendly. One complaint is the miserly internet, limited to 30 mins/ day. There is also the pool which is too small. It only has 6 loungers, for 100 rooms this is not enough. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaPinball
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - unfortunately pool was closed a full day due to chemical issues, maintenance staff worked through the night to insure pool was only out for 1 day. We are sorry for the inconvenience it caused but need to insure the safety of our guests swimming.

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This accommodation is in the perfect location if coming to Paihia. The rooms are spacious, and the pool is lovely. Having said that the hotel is a bit dated, and really has more of a motel vibe than a hotel feel to it. It's a little pricey for what it is, but still totally adequate accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Member135
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My family and I went in for dinner last night for the buffet at the restaurant and were thoroughly disappointed. The range was very limited and the food could be considered average at best. Service was fine but we were not offered drinks. When we came to pay we were told it was $45 per person! Would have been an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention this is appalling from our F&B department and definitely will be investigated as to what was placed on the buffet as the hotel has a policy in place as to what should be out on the buffet. Will also be speaking to the Front of House Staff with Customer Service being a...

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved our stay as always. Had a suite with ocean view. Very comfortable and handy to everything. The facilities are great with pool, spa, games room, restaurant & bar. The only negative was someone banging on our door right on 10am to remind us checkout is at 10am and not 30 seconds later, housekeeping doing the same thing! Seriously!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rowet43
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 1 night to watch the Fireworks. I did not have any expectation because the rating of the hotel was not excellent. We were very surprised to get a very good Standard Double Room, which was very functional and clean. We enjoyed our stay because it was close to all the impartant things in Paihia. I can recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MargitandJim
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was in a great location. Perfect for walking to and from the restaurants. Clean and comfortable. A little noisy can hear next door at times but it was New Years Eve so understandable. Only ate breakfast in the Restaurant on the one occasion and that had everything that a normal buffet would have. No disappointments there. Staff in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maree W
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback e hope to welcome you back one day soon

Middles
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here on our honeymoon for 2 nights the room was lovely and clean nice size and even had a balcony, bath rooms are nice and modern, lovely central location. The view from the restaurant is the best thing about this place we would definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kcstar86
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, couldn't agree more we are very lucky with the views from our restaurant, we hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Sarina, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel close to town, port and food. Son enjoyed pool which I thought was too cold. Breakfast yummy and breakfast staff very friendly and welcoming. Gym excellent but couldn't use on a Sunday which was a nuisance. Very noisy as carparks right in front of room which was very handy for car travellers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We apologise about the gym but this is a different business to the hotel, we lease the space out to the Fitness Hub and in return our guests do receive complimentary access but we have to adhere to the timings set by the owners.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Kingsgate has a great location, waterfront, close to the wharf, shops and restaurants. Great service from staff. But the bed was too soft, almost broken, uncomfortable to sleep. Not great sound proof, we could hear people talking loudly at night in the corridor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we apologise for the bedding, changing of our Queen beds are scheduled to be changed in our winter maintenance plan for this year.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (125)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
411 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: $87 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Auckland Region, New Zealand
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Lovely to have an ocean view room but, for the extra cost you just as easily enjoy the view from the pool or the bar.”
 of 5 bubbles rowet43, 1 week ago | Read review
“Average rooms - poor service”
 of 5 bubbles robsT9648IO, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Get a room with balcony for better ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles sactokw, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
“The Suites in the 400 block----yes they are dearer but if coming for a few days stay well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Trisha826, Nov 30, 2016 | Read review
“Only two storey building and the sea is just outside the door”
 of 5 bubbles Rkemsley, Nov 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay