We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Motel de la Mer

Show Prices
#21 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Motel de la Mer
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 195: English reviews
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Click the other "terrible" reviews for similar scam experiences. Clearly stated we would be checking in late via Booking.com. Motel had one weeks notice. Never informed us late check in was not possible. 1. Tried to check in on the night, refused to check us in. 2. Lied about not receiving notification from Booking.com of special request for late check... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hui_Chch
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hi Hui Many thanks for your email. Yes we did note your arrival between 9 and 10 and we usually wait up for people coming in at this time and there was no need to contact you. Yes check in is between 2pm till 9 pm. We phoned you at approximately 8.30 to see where you were an you were... More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the penthouse apartment - top left of picture above. It was clean, the decor was average, and it had views of the ocean, towards Te Mata Peak, and of the Ruahine mountain range. It's close to the city - The Warehouse is directly behind it. It's a couple of minutes' walk into town with lots of restaurants... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank BigZed52
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

We thank you for your review. Firstly we cannot help the noise of construction during the day. With ongoing projects in Napier happening it is only for the betterment of our fine city. We cannot control the weather and when a storm hits everybody is affected so I apologize for this. Best wishes John More 

Palmerston North
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I took advantage of a winter special on a penthouse apartment and loved it. We had previously stayed on 2 occasions in the regular rooms but the penthouse was a step up. The extra space and the sun filled lounge was brilliant for relaxing in on a winter's day. Great friendly service from the proprietors too.

Helpful?
Thank Rick F
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. Best wishes John More 

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a penthouse unit on our birthday getaway. It was an immaculate setting with 180 degree views over Napier and the shore. The roar of the waves crashing onto the beach was awesome. The huge spa bath was a fabulous mood setter and the California King bed sealed the deal. The entire room layout just made you feel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hi Romantic Weekend We hope to see you back again someday. Best wishes John More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

I have stayed at many places along the esplanade in Napier but rate this at the top. The 1bdr spa unit is fabulous with a view of the ocean and walking distance to the town. The hosts are friendly and helpful, the unit well presented and very comfortable and the position excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Joanna L
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Best wishes John More 

Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

Have stayed here a few times and always good . Linen is always fresh . Always spotlessly clean and the owners are very friendly . This is just a short walk away from the town . Plenty of Restaurants close by . Would go back .

Helpful?
Thank Kim M
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your friendly review. Best wishes John More 

Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
217 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016

John & Llanys were very accommodating and changed our room with no issues. Room with a view, spa, and bl**dy great big bed, also serviced to a very high standard daily On Marine Parade and near to everything, but just back off the road. Great place and hosts.

Helpful?
Thank YvonnePapamoa
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your warm review. Best wishes John More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

Great place to stay ,Great location and great views from the 3rd floor and close to shops and beach .And super hosts will stay there again The room came with a spa and had a small kitchen and separate lounge The hosts were a great help with restaurants to and places to visit

Helpful?
1 Thank joandnoel
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

We look forward to you returning in the future. Best wishes John More 

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

upon our arrival(early) they gave us some great recommendations for things to see while in town. very accommodating, had a wonderful stay,would happily recommend to anyone visiting or the surrounding areas.

Helpful?
Thank psharrow
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you agin someday. Best wishes John More 

Lyttelton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016

We arrived at the motel late afternoon and were welcomed by John. After the usual check in formalities John asked if we would like any suggestions for dinner that evening. We hadn't anything booked for two of the three nights we were in Napier and welcomed his suggestions. We were not disappointed. John gave us a choice of milk options... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChrizBee59
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for fair and friendly review. Best wishes John More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.4 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#4 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
0.5 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
The Crown Hotel Napier
#3 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 stars 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
1.5 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
VR Napier Hotel
VR Napier Hotel
#15 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel de la Mer looks forward to welcoming our customers having established ourselves as a favourite with business travellers and discerning holidaymakers, who relish luxury, and a genuine, hospital experience. Our stunning oceanfront location complemented by our spacious motel apartment suite accommodation is lavishly appointed with tasteful interior décor. Each of our suites has a luxurious, relaxed atmosphere and facilities to match. Spoiled for choice: Executive Studio, Deluxe Executive Suites with large in-room fresh water private spa's and Executive One Bedroom Suites (no spa), and Deluxe Penthouse Apartments with large fresh water in-room spas and spectacular views. Situated close to Napier's C.B.D, a variety of top class restaurants, cafe's, boutique shopping and a selection of activities with the oceanfront and promenade at your door. "McLean Park" is just a 12-15 minute stroll. A "Fabulous Sporting Arena" where all our "Major Rugby and Cricket" events are hosted!. Motel de la Mer has now achieved the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence Award" for the fifth year running, and a place in the TripAdvisor Hall of Fame. This is all the more reason to come explore and experience Napier and the Hawkes Bay Region and our friendly hospitality at Motel de la Mer. Motel de la Mer - quality, superior, oceanfront suite accommodation - Relax with us in Napier, Hawkes Bay, where "Art Deco" lives on. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel de la Mer

Address: 321 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range: $93 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel de la Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Motel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Mer
De La Mer Hotel
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#17 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay