We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Motel de la Mer

Show Prices
#18 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Motel de la Mer
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 204: English reviews
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Overall my husband and I were very happy with the service we received , particularly from John co owner. We had the "penthouse" apartment which was lovely with an ocean view, although this was slightly interrupted by construction work on a skate park ( beyond the moteliers control) could be useful for this info to be on the motel webiste....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You couldn't ask for a better location, or better hosts. We never got to meet John but his delightful wife told us all about him, with no details spared. They are justly proud of the awards displayed in reception. Our unit was beautifully presented with a restful decor, nice facilities and very comfortable amenities. Wifi was courtesy of a Zenbu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oolonz
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

many thanks for your kind review Your thoughts and comments are very much appreciated. Best wishes John

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We cannot rave enough about Motel de la Mer and the staff - especially John and his wife. The basics: the room was large, very very clean and tidy with a huge spa bath and a separate bathroom. The kitchenette was lovely and well stocked. Ents wise: there was free wifi which was good speed (which we have struggled with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hana-Rae W
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hi Hana Many thanks for your kind review. We hope you are enjoying the rest of your stay in New Zealand. Best wishes John & Llanys

kapiti
Reviewed October 28, 2016

I was expecting since it was on the Marine parade a balcony on the street front. The rooms however are set back from the street with the hotel car parking in front. I don't think I'd be too happy having a ground floor room as you really do look out on to someone's car. I'd also check to make sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsBeasley09
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Unfortunately the marine Parade revamp is beyond our control but it will look very impressive when completed in a couple of weeks. The grounds are being laid as I write to you. I can assure you the chairs are up to the standard code so they are quite safe. We have not had an issue...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

Very comfortable accommodation. Nice and clean and well presented. Comfy bed and quiet at night. Very friendly staff and most helpful. Central location 5 min walk to town centre and just across the road from awesome playground bike park and marine parade. And looks like a huge new skate park opening soon too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Markyparknz
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hi Markyparknz Many thanks for your kind review. Say Hi to Abby for me. Best wishes John

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed September 27, 2016 via mobile

The Motel is very nice & clean centrally located near the city. We stayed in Room 7 with a commanding view of the ocean. The Hosts John Maulder & Llanys Searle are very nice couple who manages the business. My only criticism of this motel is the sagging bed mattress & pillows in the King Size bed which needs immediate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bert E
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hi Bert Many thanks for your review. Pillows are always an issue and we try to have a selection in the room to choose but we will check this out to make sure the selection is correct. Regarding the mattress this is very new so we will also have this attended to by sleepyhead who we purchase from. Best wishes...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed September 22, 2016

We've just returned home from a visit to Napier - a lovely experience in itself but made very special by our accommodation. We've stayed at Motel de la Mer twice before, but about six years ago, and each time we've loved it!! We had an incredibly spacious unit (No. 7) - quite the largest 'studio unit' we've ever encountered on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lois M
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hi Lois & Colin Many thanks again for a wonderful review. We hope to see you again sometime in the future. Best wishes John

Reviewed August 29, 2016

We wanted somewhere we could go and have 2 weeks holiday. Chose Napier as we could be by the sea, do nothing if thats what we felt like, but also plenty to do if we wanted. Motel de la Mer ticked all the boxes for us. Off road parking, unit fresh clean and roomy and well fitted out for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hi to you both many thanks for your kind review. We enjoyed having you. We look forward to seeing you sometime in the future. Best wishes John.

Auckland
Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile

Returned to Napier for the Ironmaori duathlon Had stayed here last year and due to a great experience decided we would return. Host was welcoming and friendly Room was tidy and we'll set out. Excellent review and easy walk to everywhere we needed to go. Excellent value for money, will return November and December

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TLCAUCKLAND
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hi to you all. many thanks for your kind review. We look forward to you your return in November Best wishes John

New Zealand
Reviewed August 9, 2016

Click the other "terrible" reviews for similar scam experiences. Clearly stated we would be checking in late via Booking.com. Motel had one weeks notice. Never informed us late check in was not possible. 1. Tried to check in on the night, refused to check us in. 2. Lied about not receiving notification from Booking.com of special request for late check...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hui_Chch
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hi Hui Many thanks for your email. Yes we did note your arrival between 9 and 10 and we usually wait up for people coming in at this time and there was no need to contact you. Yes check in is between 2pm till 9 pm. We phoned you at approximately 8.30 to see where you were an you were...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#8 of 48 in Napier
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.5 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
1.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
The Crown Hotel Napier
#3 of 48 in Napier
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel de la Mer looks forward to welcoming our customers having established ourselves as a favourite with business travellers and discerning holidaymakers, who relish luxury, and a genuine, hospital experience. Our stunning oceanfront location complemented by our spacious motel apartment suite accommodation is lavishly appointed with tasteful interior décor. Each of our suites has a luxurious, relaxed atmosphere and facilities to match. Spoiled for choice: Executive Studio, Deluxe Executive Suites with large in-room fresh water private spa's and Executive One Bedroom Suites (no spa), and Deluxe Penthouse Apartments with large fresh water in-room spas and spectacular views. Situated close to Napier's C.B.D, a variety of top class restaurants, cafe's, boutique shopping and a selection of activities with the oceanfront and promenade at your door. "McLean Park" is just a 12-15 minute stroll. A "Fabulous Sporting Arena" where all our "Major Rugby and Cricket" events are hosted!. Motel de la Mer has now achieved the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence Award" for the fifth year running, and a place in the TripAdvisor Hall of Fame. This is all the more reason to come explore and experience Napier and the Hawkes Bay Region and our friendly hospitality at Motel de la Mer. Motel de la Mer - quality, superior, oceanfront suite accommodation - Relax with us in Napier, Hawkes Bay, where "Art Deco" lives on. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel de la Mer

Address: 321 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range: $106 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel de la Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Motel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Mer
De La Mer Hotel
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#16 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Motel de la Mer staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Motel de la Mer staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We were happy with the ground floor due to my arthritic ankle, but the views from the balconies would be superb!”
 of 5 bubbles Oolonz, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“I was in room 8. It was very good. View good You have to share the balcony - tho which I didn't like.”
 of 5 bubbles MrsBeasley09, Oct 28, 2016 | Read review
“No. 7 hard to beat if you don't want a spa”
 of 5 bubbles LoisM_13, Sep 22, 2016 | Read review
“John very good at helping and advising on the room that would best suit what you are looking for. He chose well for us anyway.”
 of 5 bubbles , Aug 29, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid giving out credit card details before your stay if possible”
 of 5 bubbles Hui_Chch, Aug 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay