We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bluewater Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bluewater Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 126: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked into the Bluewater as it was a last minute planned overnight trip that just didnt seem to be going to plan accordingly the receptionist was busy checking in guests when we arrived and alas we booked for a room and was happy 1 was available - happy with our room and as always when we do visit Napier we... More 

Helpful?
Thank paulamka
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience... More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016

Not the cleanest of hotels and definitely no luxury. It was somewhere to sleep and that is all. I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all. There was a dirty towel in the room and something nasty in one of the drawers. It didn't smell too pleasant either. Was in a good location and had adequate parking.

Helpful?
Thank Terri D
Bluewater19, Front Office Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. Mangement is at a complete loss as to why your stay was in February 2016 and you are only now just placing a review on Trip Advisor. (July 2016) We find it hard to beleive that this in fact was Bluewater Hotel, you only need to read all the previous reviews which... More 

Travelers are raving about these Napier hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is amazing Best hotel I've ever been to. There is great quality definitely worth staying at. The view is beautiful and I would definitely recommend it. I stayed for a week and no problems at all. Although early morning there is a small fish smell but apart from that it's great :) -Chloe

Helpful?
Thank chloe1717
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Chloe Thank you for taking your time to make this great review. Sorry about the fish smell, we are hoping to sort this out. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

Spent 5 nights here. Nothing flash but value for money, warm and tidy. Nice little balcony for sampling all the wine we bought. Is in a really good location. 5 minutes from airport plus close to main roads to rest of bay. Was very good as a base to explore bay. For evenings is In walking distance of a lot... More 

Helpful?
Thank antnChris
Bluewater19, Front Office Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Bluewater. It is pleasing to read that your stay, on majority was a comfortable and pleasing one. Great you managed to see some of the sights in beautiful Hawkes Bay and also manged to sample some of the fine wines that are on offer here. We apologise if... More 

Hawera New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

First time for us staying at the Blue water Hotel in Napier for a 3 day holiday I can honestly say the service here was great, no problems to get any extra towels, milk etc. Our rooms were lovely and clean and love the White covers on bed, TV in the room was great.Location was great as we walked around... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ducky1784
Bluewater19, Front Office Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your recent stay at Bluewater Hotel. It is always a great feeling to read such positive feedback from one of our guests and we really appreciate them. We are so glad you enjoyed your tour around in the Hummer - it is a pretty impressive vehicle for sure., and the bars and cafes... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
235 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times for work never as a tourist so I am afraid I cant comment about it location to things. Rooms have always been clean and of reasonable size with 2 Queens beds in room. Ranch sliders opens onto a small deck which faces towards the water but cant quite see it... More 

Helpful?
Thank 67TravelBug67
Bluewater19, Front Office Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on your stay here at Bluewater. It is always pleasing to read such positive feedback from one of our regulkar guests. Perhaps next time you stay you would like to request a upper floor room which gives you a better view of the marina and water. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Wairarapa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

Have returned to stay on several occasions because of the location. Always stayed on the upper level. On our last visit we got the last room which was on the ground floor. Room was tidy and had everything we required. Pet hate...long life milk, much prefer a carton of real milk, is this so hard to manage? Noise from mini... More 

Helpful?
Thank C K M
Bluewater19, Front Office Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Bluewater Hotel. We apologise if you felt some of the aspects of your accommodation fell below your expectations, rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into. Obtaining the last room would have indicated to you how busy the Hotel was that particular... More 

Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016

The location isn't the best, although it is walking distance the to bars and restaurants. I asked the receptionist if I could have some ice and she said "she had to get it from the bar" - I said I would go but she said "the bar was no place for a lady." So with that in mind you have... More 

Helpful?
Thank mccarthykris
Bluewater19, Front Office Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Bluewater. We apologise that you felt the rooms were not to the standard you required, however we have several guests stay here on regular basis for over a week and have never had any negative responses. As for the comment relating to the bar, yes our receptionist did say that... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2016

Good hotel for mid range price. Bar food is great and nearby walking to a good range of bars and restaurants in Ahuriri. I stay here regularly for work and enjoy it. Small complaint, please put real milk in the fridge ?

Helpful?
Thank ScottJeff
Bluewater19, Front Office Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. It is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback from one of our regular guests. We enjoy having you stay and hope to see you again soon. More 

Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2016

I was a member of a party of 12, whom had booked and paid a deposit on our room well in advance. 3 members of our group arrived earlier only to be told that they could not enter the room unless the room was paid for in full by each 12 members of our group, we offered a credit card... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlee26
Bluewater19, Guest Relations Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Charlee26, In regards to your comments relating to your stay here on the 27th February, 2016 , it is Hotel Policy that no person is given a key or keys to a room unless it is the person whose name is on the booking and also that we have a credit card that can be charged on check in, so... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.5 mi away
East Pier Hotel
East Pier Hotel
#17 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
The Crown Hotel Napier
#3 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 stars 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#8 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 stars 636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motor Lodge
Anchorage Motor Lodge
#32 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Lodge
Harbour View Lodge
#18 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As a luxury hotel situated in the popular, exciting inner harbour area, the Bluewater Hotel provides a first-class stay in Napier with dazzling views of the marina,located in the rejuvenated Ahuriri quarter, is the perfect place to stay in Hawke’s Bay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bluewater Hotel

Address: 10 West Quay, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range: $101 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Bluewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay