We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Ibis Hamilton Tainui

GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

851 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 834: English reviews
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staff very professional but friendly. Amazing views of the river from the deck. Sat and had a wine, read my book while all the time taking in the spectacular views. Close to restaurants and shops and on Sunday I walked across the bridge to the markets. Was able to do a really lovely long walk around the river and take... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Sharon H Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our fabulous balcony to relax. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Clare Eccles Hotel Manager Ibis Tainui Hamilton More 

Tokoroa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had King room overlooking river. Room clean, comfortable and very roomy for two adults. Bed sheets were delightful in that you were not woken by "noisy sheets " when turning over in bed during the night. Bathroom adequate, shower pressure okay bit water temperature kept changing to cooler not cold but definitely cooler. Staff very friendly and placed baggage into... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1hdsoftail
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear 1hdsoftail Thank you for your review, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and training with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards Clare Eccles Hotel Manager Ibis Tainui Hamilton More 

Wellington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On entering the Ibis Hamilton you are met with the smell of a public toilet...there's no reception on the ground floor and confusing signage. On following said signage to what I thought was the reception, I found myself in the aforementioned toilets! An elderly couple took pity on me and directed me to the lifts and the first floor reception... More 

Helpful?
Thank TillyHolmes
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear TillyHolmes Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us ibis Tainui Hamilton. I apologise that you found your stay disappointing, but appreciate you sharing your comments to we can make improvements where possible. Again thank you for your feedback. Kind regards Clare Eccles Hotel Manager More 

Nouméa, null, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff were friendly. Central location, walking distance from shops and restaurants. The room itself seemed a little small, but was adequate for my needs which was a single overnight stay. The bathroom was perhaps the highlight of the room. Great water pressure, well-positioned mirrors and really good lighting, perfect for flawless makeup application.

Helpful?
Thank Ariane T
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Ariane Thank you for your comments, I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Clare Eccles Hotel Manager Ibis Tainui Hamilton More 

Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I have stayed in many hotels from budget to 5 star and this is probably the worst place due to the lack of hospitality from the staff. When we first checked in we felt like we were rushed by the male staff member we felt we were of inconvenience and then told if we need parking they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kamira T
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Kamira T Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post your comments. It is only through feedback that we have the opportunity to improve the service we give our guests. I apologise that the service you received was not up to standard and that you were made to feel and inconvenience to... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stay here often for work for one or two nights. It is very comfortable, lovely big beds always beautifully made. Considering it is regarded as "mid-range" is very good value for money. Location is excellent, love the river walk and access to the gym at Novotel if it is too dark to go out for a walk. But the... More 

Helpful?
Thank wendysomerville
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear wendysomerville Thank you for continuing to stay with us and I am pleased to hear that you enjoy you visits and our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Clare Eccles Hotel Manager More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was all good for what I required and friendly staff. The room was very tidy and clean and the bed was very comfortable. I have stayed there before and will stay again in the future. The atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ianmC4641HZ
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear ianmC4641HZ Thank you for staying with us at ibis Tainui and for taking the time to share your experience with others. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Clare Eccles Hotel Manager Ibis Tainui Hamilton More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

Great, friendly service from the staff. Many thanks to the chef for tweaking a meal to create a yummy vegan version. How about adding something vegan onto the menu as a permanent item? Or a note to say you can tweak - it's always nice to know we're welcome and not have to ask each time! Thanks again chef :)

Helpful?
Thank Karen S
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Karen S Thank you for your review. It is great to see that the Chef was so accommodating with your meal requirements. We hope to see you again. Kind regards Clare Eccles Hotel Manager Ibis Tainui Hamilton More 

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

Rooms are tidy and functional. I stayed two nights & it would have been nice for bins to have been emptied and tea/coffee replaced after first night. No bathmat. Rooms uncomfortably hot - air-conditioning not working correctly or something but no windows to open make for an uncomfortable nights sleep. However, good central location, close to wide range of good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Natalie S Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is through all feedback that we have the opportunity to improve the service and facilities we offer our guests. I apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations and have shared your comments with the team to enable us to make the... More 

Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

Travelling from Auckland we were visiting friends for the evening and wanted to stay somewhere close by. We weren't disappointed with our choice of hotel. A room with a view we got and a very comfortable and spacious room. Friendly staff greeted us when we checked in and our whole experience was such that should we need to stay overnight... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Lisa B Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Clare Eccles Hotel Manager Ibis Tainui Hamilton More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#13 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atrium on Ulster
Atrium on Ulster
#3 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the banks of the Waikato River, the Hotel Ibis Tainui Hamilton is your gateway to New Zealand's wonderful Waikato region. Primely positioned in the heart of Hamilton City, the brand new 126 room hotel is ideal for both leisure and business trips. Just 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport, the hotel also offers easy access to relaxing river walkways, cafes, restaurants, Skycity Casino, shopping and entertainment. Part of the only international hotel chain in Hamilton, the Ibis hotel is a great way to enjoy your stay in the Waikato! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Address: 18 Alma St, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: $70 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Hamilton Tainui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Best Value Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay