We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 201: English reviews
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

Stayed night before seminar to catch up with other attendees Had business dinner and breakfast package. Good food and service. Great venue for seminar we were well looked after and food choice was most excellent Would highly recommend for conference venue Hotel rooms good size a bit basis but very clean and price was very reasonable

Helpful?
Thank Steve W
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that your seminar was such a success. We hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

Papatoetoe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

Front Desk Workers all day shifts were welcoming, accommodating, enthusiastic & helpful. We were very impressed with all staff and we felt at home during brekkie service & when we were in lax mode. Enjoyed the spas and pool. Comfy bed and room.

Helpful?
1 Thank Palaaia
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic review. We really appreciate it. We hope to see you back again soon. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016 via mobile

The room was perfectly ordinary, although a wine glass carried the lipstick of a previous guest. But on no account eat here! We ordered soup of the day and a Caesar salad. Might take a well organized kitchen a couple of minutes to prepare, but it took half an hour and when it arrived the soup had a distinctly unfresh... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Na J
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We appreciate any and all feedback. I have passed your comments on to housekeeping and the restaurant to ensure they have proper procedures in place. More 

Travelers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Botany Downs
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

we have stayed here before and that was great but this time we were disappointed the bed was hard the furniture was old and warn out springs coming through the furniture and you are paying good money for what

Helpful?
Thank David E
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for tasking the time to write a review. We are naturally disappointed that you did not really enjoy your stay with us however I am pleased to be able to let you know that under the new ownership the refurbishment of the hotel is about to begin. Watch this space. More 

Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

Excellent facilities at an affordable price. Good location, plenty of parking. Nice restaurant, pleasant and helpful staff. Clean rooms. Car park able to park over a hundred cars. Close to Bunnings store for the boys!

Helpful?
Thank gary l
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay- sounds like the Bunnings store just down the road was a hit. We hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

Manawatu-Wanganui Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed our 3 day stay here. We arrived earlier than check in time and the lady at reception was very accommodating at getting us into our room as soon as she could (the complex was very busy!). On the second morning we had issues with our air conditioning unit and when we alerted reception we were moved to a... More 

Helpful?
Thank kristybell2016
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the staff too. More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2016

Decor quite tired and the whole hotel could do with a massive refurbishment. Close to The Base for shopping. Eat in the hotel or you will have to travel about 4km into the centre of Hamilton as there is no where close to eat. Staff are very helpful and efficient. This hotel is often full as it host to many... More 

Helpful?
Thank KiwiG360
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. The hotel is about to start renovations so we hope you may return to enjoy the new look and feel. I will pass on your comments about the staff to the team. Its always good to receive feedback. More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2016

We stayed one night after a social event in Hamilton. It was a last minute decision to stay overnight and phoned to make a booking and arrived about 10.30 pm. The reception area was huge with a lot of wasted space and not atmosphere. It reminded me of venues from the 70's where they would have had a lot of... More 

Helpful?
Thank fortunatefew
DHHManager, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Plans are in place for an updated look. We hope you can return again to enjoy this when it is done. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is now a Distinction Hotel. Large, plain, clean room. Corridor smelled of cleaning product? Door to 400 block tricky to open. Outside presentation of buildings very drab. Seems to cater for groups. One group was outside their block smoking/drinking at 4pm and 11pm. I was out so not sure if there all the time, but was not a... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeffrocowboy
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We hope that the other house guests outside did not disturb you too much. We do have lots of groups that come and stay with us for a weekend away. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon. More 

Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016

Great place to stay if you want somewhere quiet and away from town. Friendly service on front desk. Comfortable clean rooms. Adequate facilities for myself and teenage son. Only downer was the weather. Otherwise a pleasant stay.

Helpful?
Thank Talaleu
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and its pleasing you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologise for the weather but as they always say in the Waikato "the farmers will be pleased". Once again it is appreciated that you have taken time to comment. Kind regards Murray Cook More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador
1.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#6 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#5 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hygate Motor Lodge
1.0 mi away
Fountain City Motor Inn
Fountain City Motor Inn
#18 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 100 Garnett Avenue | Te Rapa, Hamilton 3241, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: $88 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay