We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 214: English reviews
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

this place looked very nice i wish i had stayed here with the team looked much nicer than the place i stayed at, as family members of the team we where made very welcome Thankyou, My son Matty who stayed here said the room he had was very nice and a very good bed and the food was very very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank supergranny59
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

I went to this hotel to register myself for Special Olympics on 24 November 2016 and collected handbooks from this hotel! I also got to see my Special Olympics group there and there was sweet popcorns which I snacked on and did not like these sweet popcorns!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonali B
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We hope you had a great time at the Special Olympics event.

Auckland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We recently had our trade conference at this function Centre. The food was below standard, often cold, unappealing. They served burgers to us at an Awards dinner. I found the cleanliness of the room very poor also. There were stains in the bath that I wiped away. My colleagues found their sheets had not been changed. The decor is tired...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank egeka844
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments differ greatly from the bulk of the feedback we received. The organisers made a point of telling us how well the conference had gone and how good the food and service was. Please remember that it is the company having the conference that selects the food served- not...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were pleased with the outside, the foyer and the staff but that's where it ended. The 'block' our unit was in was on the road so it was noisy. The corridors are long and hae carpet patches where other carpet tiles have become worn or damaged....the original carpet is beige...the patches are blue. The room was dirty, the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caz G
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You will be pleased to know that we are currently in the process of refurbishing 55 of our accommodation rooms. The carpet tiles you refer too are actually the pattern- beige and brown. They are not patches that we have tried to fix. However there is no excuse for your...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed October 27, 2016

Originally Kinsgate, booked for 5 people for 3 nights and got a written quote. When we arrived, found Hotel had changed ownership. They verbally said they would honour original agreement, but then overcharged us and refused to negotiate. Would NEVER stay here again or recommend it to anyone wanting a honest friendly Hotel. Complained in writing, got a phone call...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank br0wnkat
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you feel like this. At check in your party asked for the booking to be changed to include breakfast. Your original paperwork showed that you had booked a room only rate. We changed the rate type to be one that includes breakfast but obviously the charge increases. When the phone call was made we were thanked...

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed October 21, 2016

Having stayed on a number of occasions when previously Kingsgate we booked although we had read some rather negative reviews. This hotel is obviously an older hotel and would benefit from some upgrades but all we wanted was spacious clean and comfortable accommodation. We always book ground floor because yes there is no lift and we are not as young...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan0753
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate it. We are undertaking our refurbishment currently so hopefully next time you return you will experience the fabulous new modern rooms. I will make sure I pass your comments on to all the team.

Reviewed October 19, 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night for work. Pleased it was one night. The reception and restaurant area look good but the accommodation areas are looking very tired and in need of care. The air con in my room didn't work, the TV didn't have a remote (one part of the hide and seek) & although it could be switched on at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LRaeN
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. I am sorry you didn't enjoy all aspects of your stay. If you ever have any problems in a hotel while staying they can normally be immediately corrected if you just make a quick call to reception. Our refurbishment is currently being worked on and the new rooms will be much more modern.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed October 17, 2016

Run down and quite shabby. Once upon a time this place must have been busy and maintained, sadly nowadays it's just not. My room had peeling wallpaper, a fridge that didn't work, and the worst rock hard bed I've ever tried to sleep in anywhere in the world. You know it;s bad when you get all the pillows and lay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. You will be pleased to know that we are currently undertaking a major refurbishment project. However your comments have been noted and passed on to the team.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed October 3, 2016

Absolutely repulsive state of linen, towels & general cleaniness of room 403. Bathroom had not been cleaned as tap & sink had what appeared to be spit marks. Hand towels were terribly worn & discoloured. All bed linen was thin, worn out & discoloured. Pillow protector yellow stained as was bed duvet. Bed also contained human hair & stains. Bad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tania19612016
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

We are obviously disappointed to read your comments. I have passed your review on to my team mebers for review. It is a shame we did not hear anything about this from you prior to your departure. Please be assured we take your comments very seriously.

Reviewed September 19, 2016

Check in to the hotel you enter a grand reception, staff were super friendly and we were very impressed to be able to check in earlier than normal. (With kiddies this means the world to us). I called to request a room with a bath and this was arranged without any hassle. Decor seems dated and perhaps a soft refurb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team. We are about to start a refurbishment in our guests rooms so I hope you can come back some time and enjoy the hotel again.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador
1.1 mi away
Asure Barclay Motel
Asure Barclay Motel
#27 of 65 in Hamilton
47 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 65 in Hamilton
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
2.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 65 in Hamilton
1,052 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#12 of 65 in Hamilton
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 100 Garnett Avenue | Te Rapa, Hamilton 3241, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: $84 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms on level 5”
 of 5 bubbles sonalib730, 1 week ago | Read review
“Don't bother...if our room is any guage, I wouldnt recommend you stay there at all.”
  • The hand basin tap.
  • The tap in the shower.
  • The bathroom tap.
  • The shower.
  • Dirty, damaged tiles.
  • Unclean floor.
  • Disgusting exhaust fan.
 of 5 bubbles cazbar62, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ground floor if having no lift is an issue for you.”
 of 5 bubbles Susan0753, Oct 21, 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor if you have heavy luggage, as there are no lifts to the next floor.”
 of 5 bubbles xoz, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“Wing 600 is great, close to the resturant, swimming area and gym.”
 of 5 bubbles , Sep 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay