We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 205: English reviews
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Check in to the hotel you enter a grand reception, staff were super friendly and we were very impressed to be able to check in earlier than normal. (With kiddies this means the world to us). I called to request a room with a bath and this was arranged without any hassle. Decor seems dated and perhaps a soft refurb... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team. We are about to start a refurbishment in our guests rooms so I hope you can come back some time and enjoy the hotel again. More 

Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time I have stayed here for a work conference. This Hotel is basic but very comfortable. It is clean, staff are friendly and breakfast is great. Maybe a bit to far out of the city centre for my liking but it is only around a 5 minute drive away. The Hotel is located next to a... More 

Helpful?
Thank jmnc_12
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel. We will soon undertake a refurbishment of the property so we hope you are back to see the new product soon. More 

falmouth, maine
Level Contributor
582 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

went here as a last minute choice for rugby match at WAikato stadium. Sort of an interesting mix of dated decor and quality. Room was fine. Creaky floors in halls. wooden doors, almost dorm like. But room was fine. fixtures all worked, not super modern or trendy but perfectly fine. Very clean, no peeling wall paper, cracked tile, etc. Plenty... More 

Helpful?
Thank chimayred
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We really appreciate it. We are about to undertake a refurbishment of our accommodation rooms to make them far more modern. We hope you come back and visit again once this is complete. More 

Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Chose this hotel due to its location adjacent to Te Rapa race Course. We were disappointed with the cleaniless and presentation. We had 3 rooms and 2 of these were not cleaned properly..A.large pile of biscuit crumbs beside the bed and unvacummed look throughout in one room, very rumbled sheets on bed in another and bathroom not cleaned properly The... More 

Helpful?
Thank chrissy g
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am disappointed that your room was not up to standard and I have passed your comments on to our new Housekeeping Manager. I do hope you return another time. More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

Stayed night before seminar to catch up with other attendees Had business dinner and breakfast package. Good food and service. Great venue for seminar we were well looked after and food choice was most excellent Would highly recommend for conference venue Hotel rooms good size a bit basis but very clean and price was very reasonable

Helpful?
Thank Steve W
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that your seminar was such a success. We hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

Papatoetoe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

Front Desk Workers all day shifts were welcoming, accommodating, enthusiastic & helpful. We were very impressed with all staff and we felt at home during brekkie service & when we were in lax mode. Enjoyed the spas and pool. Comfy bed and room.

Helpful?
1 Thank Palaaia
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic review. We really appreciate it. We hope to see you back again soon. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016 via mobile

The room was perfectly ordinary, although a wine glass carried the lipstick of a previous guest. But on no account eat here! We ordered soup of the day and a Caesar salad. Might take a well organized kitchen a couple of minutes to prepare, but it took half an hour and when it arrived the soup had a distinctly unfresh... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Na J
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We appreciate any and all feedback. I have passed your comments on to housekeeping and the restaurant to ensure they have proper procedures in place. More 

Travelers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Botany Downs
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

we have stayed here before and that was great but this time we were disappointed the bed was hard the furniture was old and warn out springs coming through the furniture and you are paying good money for what

Helpful?
Thank David E
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for tasking the time to write a review. We are naturally disappointed that you did not really enjoy your stay with us however I am pleased to be able to let you know that under the new ownership the refurbishment of the hotel is about to begin. Watch this space. More 

Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

Excellent facilities at an affordable price. Good location, plenty of parking. Nice restaurant, pleasant and helpful staff. Clean rooms. Car park able to park over a hundred cars. Close to Bunnings store for the boys!

Helpful?
Thank gary l
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay- sounds like the Bunnings store just down the road was a hit. We hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

Manawatu-Wanganui Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed our 3 day stay here. We arrived earlier than check in time and the lady at reception was very accommodating at getting us into our room as soon as she could (the complex was very busy!). On the second morning we had issues with our air conditioning unit and when we alerted reception we were moved to a... More 

Helpful?
Thank kristybell2016
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the staff too. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador
2.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 stars 864 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Asure Barclay Motel
Asure Barclay Motel
#25 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
2.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#5 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fountain City Motor Inn
Fountain City Motor Inn
#20 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 100 Garnett Avenue | Te Rapa, Hamilton 3241, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: $89 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay