We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Quality Hotel The Ambassador

Hotels.com$78*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel The Ambassador
See the most recent reviews
Showing 205: English reviews
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed October 24, 2016

Certainly on the 'budget ' side of accommodation when it comes to the standard rooms. Some rooms have had an upgrade but those that haven't are well overdue for a 'birthday'. Rooms totally lacking in additional touches ( obviously not designed as an ' eat in' motel as there are no eating, crockery items apart from cups and glasses) Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sutton58
Ambassador_Team, Director of Sales at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. We truly apologise for the bad experience you had when you stayed with us recently and are grateful for you bringing it to our attention so we can quickly work to ensure this doesn’t occur again.

Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

Room was dated and tired looking, but the beds were exceptional. Hotel offered nice breakfast at cost. WiFi access to the room which was great for our business needs. All in all it met our needs and was a reasonable cost for 3 persons

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poihakena P
Ambassador_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewed October 1, 2016

Would look for better value or maybe go for retro larger rooms. The Bartender was nice, others seemed like they didn't want to be interrupted by patrons who were wanting to check in or ask questions .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toni B
Ambassador_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

Orchard Road, Singapore
Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

$139 for a family room. Met the basic criteria. Great location in Hamilton. However do not expect an inch more than basic. Given the choice I would not stay here again. Only chosen due to the brand & location but it is clear that this hotel has been acquired more than build in the name of this brand. Following are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darknight1522
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

Big smiles with great customer services. Not a bad price for a family of four. The hotel room we stayed in was overlooking the pool area and courtyard. Clean, tidy and warm the room had convenient facilities for tea and coffee with a small but adequate bathroom that had a bath, shower and toilet. Centrally located near the city, this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ahuapai
Ambassador_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, our team really appreciate your feedback and work hard to constantly increase the quality of our guest’s experiences. We are currently working hard to resolve the issues that guests are experiencing in regards to WiFi and apologise for the inconvenience. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed August 2, 2016

The rooms were clean and tidy. The spa was too cold for me but the kids had a great time specially with the terrible weather we had. The room was nice and warm. The bed was comfortable. Would definitely go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oeht
Ambassador_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, our team really appreciate your feedback We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed July 31, 2016

I had a nice room overlooking the pool although the weather was certainly not conducive to swimming - mid Winter, windy, wet & cold. The room was well appointed, sparkling clean, but with basic facilities. Would have been good to have a microwave and the bathrooms could do with a bit of modernising. Very comfortable bed and chair with footstool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BevyR
Ambassador_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, our team really appreciate your feedback and work hard to constantly increase the quality of our guest’s experiences. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed July 26, 2016

I recently stayed here. My room was spacious with clean and comfortable sheets. I loved having a long, hot bath and watched SKY for hours. I did not eat in the restaurant as there were nothing for vegans. I think there was only vegetarian meal , which I found quite disappointing. Although the repectionist quicky suggested a vegan restaurant for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fairyLondon_Uk
Ambassador_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, our team really appreciate your feedback and work hard to constantly increase the quality of our guest’s experiences. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Reviewed July 14, 2016

Our room faced the street so the view wasn't the best. It was also on the side where there is no AC and we were there during a hot January week, so sleeping was rather hard. It is, however located close to a river where we took lovely walks and there are also parks with huge trees within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
Ambassador_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

Room on 2nd floor of tower block. Cold and uninviting. Room quite small with recent " cost of paint" to look good but still old still tired everything else. Called hotel but really a motel in disguise. No extra blankets in room. Had leftover food in the fridge 😕 Basic facilities. No eco-friendly options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
Ambassador_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. We truly apologise for the bad experience you had when you stayed with us recently and are grateful for you bringing it to our attention so we can quickly work to ensure this doesn’t occur again.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

124 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (88)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.2 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.7 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 62 in Hamilton
933 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
1,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#12 of 62 in Hamilton
165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 62 in Hamilton
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Central to Hamilton Events and Entertainment.Located in the heart of the city amidst shopping, entertainment and the CBD, Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is within short walking distance to Waikato stadium, Claudelands Event Centre, Seddon Park cricket grounds and only 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport.Relax in one of 51 guestrooms and suites, cool off in the pool, enjoy a wine in the house bar or dine in Retrospect, the family friendly restaurant with fresh seasonal cuisine. The Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is the ultimate location for the corporate traveler to large sporting or tour groups looking for that iconic touch. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quality Hotel The Ambassador

Address: 86 Ulster Street | Whitiora, Hamilton 3240, New Zealand (Formerly The Ambassador Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: $84 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel The Ambassador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel The Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hamilton
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Quality Hotel The Ambassador staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Take your own pillow !!!!”
lyndyloo15, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Book directly with the establishment, get a better room. .Request a room facing away from the roading intersection”
Sutton58, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
“Hotel rooms overpriced for basic room.”
ToniB165, Oct 1, 2016 | Read review
“easy access to CBD”
fairyLondon_Uk, Jul 26, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with air conditioning during the summer.”
  • View from our room. No AC and that fan didn't help too much.
katiesP6263QW, Jul 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotels.com
$78* /night
View Deal
Cancelon$84
Orbitz.com$79
Booking.com$78
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates