We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 182: English reviews
Orchard Road, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

$139 for a family room. Met the basic criteria. Great location in Hamilton. However do not expect an inch more than basic. Given the choice I would not stay here again. Only chosen due to the brand & location but it is clear that this hotel has been acquired more than build in the name of this brand. Following are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darknight1522
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Big smiles with great customer services. Not a bad price for a family of four. The hotel room we stayed in was overlooking the pool area and courtyard. Clean, tidy and warm the room had convenient facilities for tea and coffee with a small but adequate bathroom that had a bath, shower and toilet. Centrally located near the city, this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ahuapai
Ambassador_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, our team really appreciate your feedback and work hard to constantly increase the quality of our guest’s experiences. We are currently working hard to resolve the issues that guests are experiencing in regards to WiFi and apologise for the inconvenience. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms were clean and tidy. The spa was too cold for me but the kids had a great time specially with the terrible weather we had. The room was nice and warm. The bed was comfortable. Would definitely go back again.

Helpful?
Thank Oeht
Ambassador_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, our team really appreciate your feedback We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you return in the future. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a nice room overlooking the pool although the weather was certainly not conducive to swimming - mid Winter, windy, wet & cold. The room was well appointed, sparkling clean, but with basic facilities. Would have been good to have a microwave and the bathrooms could do with a bit of modernising. Very comfortable bed and chair with footstool... More 

Helpful?
Thank BevyR
Ambassador_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, our team really appreciate your feedback and work hard to constantly increase the quality of our guest’s experiences. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you return in the future. More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently stayed here. My room was spacious with clean and comfortable sheets. I loved having a long, hot bath and watched SKY for hours. I did not eat in the restaurant as there were nothing for vegans. I think there was only vegetarian meal , which I found quite disappointing. Although the repectionist quicky suggested a vegan restaurant for... More 

Helpful?
Thank fairyLondon_Uk
Ambassador_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, our team really appreciate your feedback and work hard to constantly increase the quality of our guest’s experiences. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you return in the future. More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

Our room faced the street so the view wasn't the best. It was also on the side where there is no AC and we were there during a hot January week, so sleeping was rather hard. It is, however located close to a river where we took lovely walks and there are also parks with huge trees within walking distance.

Helpful?
Thank Katie S
Ambassador_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

Room on 2nd floor of tower block. Cold and uninviting. Room quite small with recent " cost of paint" to look good but still old still tired everything else. Called hotel but really a motel in disguise. No extra blankets in room. Had leftover food in the fridge 😕 Basic facilities. No eco-friendly options.

Helpful?
Thank Ann B
Ambassador_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. We truly apologise for the bad experience you had when you stayed with us recently and are grateful for you bringing it to our attention so we can quickly work to ensure this doesn’t occur again. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

I was not impressed with The Ambassador. I was with 3 small children and we arrived late after a show at the local events centre. I booked initially thinking the photos and location were great, and at a fair price. However I found the suite to be lacking in many ways: 1. Curtains were broken and hanging down from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cheriefleur
Ambassador_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations you had when you stayed with us recently. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make... More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016

Photos do not reflect the actual room. Stains on the sheets, dirty bathroom, old and tired rooms. It was horrible. It was like staying in an Estate block from the East End. No real service from the reception.

Helpful?
Thank Jackie771
Ambassador_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

Room was average, neat and tidy. Facilities was below average, have to go to reception each time to obtain and return key for the laundry, could do with a better system. Service staff was average, restaurant staff was rude. Requested to turn on the lights as the area we were eating at was dim, staff came around and told us... More 

Helpful?
Thank micsim
Ambassador_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. We truly apologize for the bad experience you had when you stayed with us recently and are grateful for you bringing it to our attention so we can quickly work to ensure this doesn’t occur again. Once again sorry for any inconvenience caused. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (84)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.3 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#6 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#5 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.7 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#13 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Central to Hamilton Events and Entertainment.Located in the heart of the city amidst shopping, entertainment and the CBD, Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is within short walking distance to Waikato stadium, Claudelands Event Centre, Seddon Park cricket grounds and only 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport.Relax in one of 51 guestrooms and suites, cool off in the pool, enjoy a wine in the house bar or dine in Retrospect, the family friendly restaurant with fresh seasonal cuisine. The Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is the ultimate location for the corporate traveler to large sporting or tour groups looking for that iconic touch. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador

Address: 86 Ulster Street | Whitiora, Hamilton 3240, New Zealand (Formerly The Ambassador Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: $70 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hamilton
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay