We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Motel Oasis

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Motel Oasis
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 175: English reviews
Start your review of Motel Oasis
 Click to rate
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 1 night in October while travelling NZ. The Motel is well presented and maintained, rooms are nicely decorated, good quality bedding. Was a delight to have a PlayStation in the rooms. The kitchens were well kitted out, was a nice touch to have a coffee machine. Bathroom was good, very clean and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chapmans4g
Travel-Bunny272, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review

Hi James C Thanks so much for your review. We are so pleased to hear you found our motel well presented and maintained and that you enjoyed the decoration of your room and quality bedding. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again next time! Kind regards Hamish & Kate

New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I spent a great night in my lovely super-comfortable bed at the Oasis. My unit had a big very clean walk in shower, a Well outfitted kitchenette. Air conditioning for the very hot dry summer weather and after dark I enjoyed a swim in their quiet private lovely swimming pool area. It was private and convenient and not far from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine L
Travel-Bunny272, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review

Hi Christine L Thank you very much for choosing Motel Oasis to stay and for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed your room, super-comfortable bed and our pool. Good to hear you appreciated our free, fast wifi also, such a necessity today. Thanks again for your lovely review and we hope to welcome you back! Kind regards Hamish &...

Sun Valley, Idaho
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived at 5:00pm and there were no other cars at this run down motel. Badly in need of repairs. My wife wouldn't get out of the car. Stayed elsewhere when though we had a non refundable paid reservation. Ad is false advertising and picture is photoshopped.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank svflyrod
Travel-Bunny272, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review

Hi svflyrod We understand you were unhappy when you phoned on the afternoon of arrival to say that your travel plans had changed and you wouldn't be staying in Gisborne but needed to get to your next destination. We do not feel it is a reasonable expectation to be refunded on a non refundable rate booked via Expedia for a...

Auckland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visit friends in Sponge Bay every January and thank goodness the only motel in Sponge Bay is such a lovely one. It is a little pricey for being out of town (think more main tourist town prices) but I am happy to pay it for the convenience of being close to our friends and getting to stay in such...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Number9NZ
Travel-Bunny272, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review

Hi Number9NZ Thank you so much for a wonderful review! We are delighted to host you repeatedly and so pleased you enjoy our motel and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back again next time. Kind regards Hamish & Kate

Canandaigua, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We got a jacuzzi suite and loved it. Very spacious, clean, comfortable room. Location is close to the out-of-town beaches, but close enough if you have a car to drive into town in 5 minutes. Friendly staff. They have a very extensive video library if you need to watch a movie. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
Travel-Bunny272, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review

Hi Joe Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased to hear you found your room spacious, clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed the spa bath! We are indeed, in a great location to enjoy the best beaches in Gisborne especially right now with these beautiful summer days we are having. Thanks again for your high...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had a fabulous time with the family at the motel. The owners were excellent, very helpful and always provide excellent tips for places for visit. They even lent us a couple of boogie boards to take to rock slides at Rere. We stay in the one bedroom spa room. The room was good size with comfortable beds. My kids appreciated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avinesh M
Travel-Bunny272, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review

Hi Avinesh Thank you very much for your great review. We are delighted you and the family enjoyed your time with us and the facilities we have to offer. It was our pleasure to host you all and we hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again next time you are in Gisborne. Thanks again. Kind regards...

Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

A great spot to stay here in Gisborne! Close to the beach (access is just a short walk away.) Surfing & Boogie boarding have been the best here in Gisborne of any place we've stayed so far! A sparkling blue swimming pool; a comfortable (Yes, firm!) mattress; beautiful modern beach decor here in the room, videos to watch (but, really,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristen K
Travel-Bunny272, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review

Hi Kristen Thank you so much for your great review! It is clear you have a passion for the East Coast and our beautiful beaches and we are so happy you chose Motel Oasis to stay with whilst exploring and enjoying all we have to offer in our little slice of NZ. We are also happy to hear our pool,...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 12, 2017

We only stayed here one night but the welcome by Kate was very warm. Useful laundry facilities and lovely swimming pool area. Good shower pressure and comfortable bed. It's right on the outskirts of town so although you could cycle if you had the time, you really need to drive. Washing up bowl provided but it would have been more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
Travel-Bunny272, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review

Hi Fiona Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions of your stay. We are so pleased you felt warmly welcomed and that you enjoyed our pool area and your comfortable bed! Our larger one bedroom units are the ones with kitchen facilities including the kitchen sink - and our smaller studio units are better suited...

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewed December 21, 2016 via mobile

This motel ticks all the boxes. It's in a good, easy to find location close to the CBD. My room and the grounds were immaculately clean. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet so I got a good night's sleep. The swimming pool was a nice bonus. The hosts were friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. A very enjoyable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oskar_Baxter
Travel-Bunny272, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review

Hi Oskar Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you had a very enjoyable stay with us and found your room and our grounds immaculate, bed comfortable and room quiet! All very important factors when travelling. It was our pleasure to host you and we wish you a very Happy 2017! Kind regards Hamish & Kate

Reviewed November 27, 2016

We have visited this motel now twice and will do so still many more times in the future. It is slightly out of town which is great. Rooms are very comfortable, has everything you need and is very clean. Service is excellent and one just want to stay longer. The last visit we order some breakfast and it was as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C-S B
Kate D, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review

Hi C-S B Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy to hear you have enjoyed both your stay's with us and found your room comfortable and clean and that you enjoyed your breakfast also! It is a real pleasure to host repeat guests and we thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
1.9 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
2.0 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#7 of 27 in Gisborne
254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 27 in Gisborne
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
2.6 mi away
Ahi Kaa
Ahi Kaa
#10 of 27 in Gisborne
63 reviews
2.0 mi away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#2 of 27 in Gisborne
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel Oasis was recently refurbished into an elegant Sanctuary on the outskirts of Gisborne, only minutes away from Sponge Bay Beach and Wainui Beach. The ideal getaway spot! Beautiful landscaped gardens & solar-heated swimming pool surrounded by 15 stylish ground-floor air-conditioned units with FREE Unlimited Wireless Internet, 10 channel SKY, DVD player/Playstation (FREE library of 300+ movies/games), Microwave, Fridge, Kettle, Iron & Board, Hair-dryer, Heat Pumps/Electric Blankets. Secure FREE PARKING, FREE Bicycles, Scooters, FREE Laundry Facilities. We have wheelchair-friendly rooms, as well as family suites and studios. Conference room. Our staff will ensure you get the best time in our beautiful Motel and in Gisborne in general. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel Oasis

Address: 5 Sponge Bay Road | Tamarau, Gisborne, New Zealand (Formerly Sponge Bay Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Price Range: $73 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Motel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gisborne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gisborne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gisborne
#1 Family Hotel in Gisborne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Motel Oasis staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Murupara, New Zealand
3 months ago
Murupara, New Zealand
3 months ago
Auckland, New Zealand

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Motel Oasis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“great for families”
 of 5 bubbles , 5 weeks ago | Read review
“Best spacious room we stayed in was the queen bed with spa bath.”
 of 5 bubbles annchand1, Nov 4, 2016 | Read review
“Choose one with spa bath. Well worth it”
 of 5 bubbles V9663MTdebbiem, Jul 14, 2016 | Read review
“easy accessibility, privacy, lovely clean rooms”
 of 5 bubbles AliCheesman, May 17, 2016 | Read review
“Lovely pool in summer.”
 of 5 bubbles anonF338IA, Apr 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question