We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

SKYCITY Hotel

Show Prices
#12 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
SKYCITY Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,713 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,567: English reviews
London, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a busy and functional hotel. The location is the chief plus point: Auckland is not a big city but its public transport is limited and it is quite hilly enough to be worth avoiding being too far away from the centre and having too much walking to do. The hotel is otherwise modern, efficient and slightly soulless, though... More 

Helpful?
Thank John_from_NM
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John_from_NM I would like to share my gratitude for the time you have taken to provide us with your lovely, honest and descriptive review of your recent stay here with us at SKYCITY Hotel. I am certain that onlookers would be very appreciative towards the great advise you have shared as are we for the constructive feedback. It is... More 

mumbai
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is part of the casino has a parking area where u can park your car some good choices of restaurants and global food in the main area of Auckland so high end shopping around the hotel . Over all nice hotel

Helpful?
Thank shakungifts
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear shakungifts Thank you so much for the time you have taken to share you lovely experience with us recently at SKYCITY Hotel. I am pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were able to take great advantage of our convenient central location and also our many Restaurants scattered within and around our Main SKYCITY... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have traveled to many places in the world; stayed in all kinds of hotels, but I was never asked to pay an extra 3% on room bill when check out. My bill was NZD3,000. I paid cash. They didn't even tell me when check in, nor there is any visible sign telling this. Did the management people ever travel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Serena W
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Serena W Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your honest feedback and I would like to apologise for the inconvience of what you had endured during your recent stay here with us. If you could please contact me directly at Helena.Ikitoelagi@skycity.co.nz so we may look further into this to see if we... More 

Province of Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was comfortable and very well located. Nice and comfortable room furniture. Bathroom could have been wider. Hotel lobby rather busy and impersonal (rather cold in appearance) due to constant traffic of people going to the casino. Breakfast assortment very good.

Helpful?
Thank Marcelo R
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marcelo R I am pleased to read that you did enjoy your stay here with us and our rooms were suited to your comfort level. Your positive feedback although is great, we are truly appreciative of your constructive feedback as it will greatly assist in us improving on those areas guest find we may be lacking. Thank you so... More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend Hannah and I both had enjoyed our stay at your Sky City Hotel. And our room was room number was 939 and it had a big vew of a bit of the Sky Tower. It was also very wheelchair friendly and it was very clean. My friend and I thought that the staff were very nice and freindly... More 

Helpful?
Thank NewZealandbear
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NewZealandbear Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your lovely review of your recent stay here at SKYCITY Hotel. I am thrilled to learn that you had a wonderful time and that your room was to your comfort level. Here at SKYCITY we strive to provide our guests with the most exceptional service as... More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was exactly what I needed, comfortable bed, curtains that made it dark enough to sleep even during the day. Staff were helpful, room service, was efficient and inconspicuous. I didn't really use most of the services available, more as a base to do other things around the city. I've you need a better than average place to base... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darren H
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Darren H Fantastic to read your lovely review and I thank you very much for the time you took to share your time here on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled that our facilities were beneficial for you during your stay in regards to comfort, cleanliness and convenience. We are so very fortunate to have such a wonderful and central... More 

Whiteville, NC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

They got our luggage at the door, they greeted us warmly, the room was large, well appointed, very clean, with a very comfortable bed. Add a good location, safe environs, and we had a perfect start for a 3 week vacation. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Helpful?
Thank hornet50
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hornet50 Thank you so much for the lovely review you have shared of your recent stay here with us at SKYCITY. Our team will be very appreciative for the positive feedback and gratitude you have towards their hard working efforts. Here at SKYCITY Hotel we are so very fortunate to be a part of such a large establishment which... More 

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My grand daughter and I stayed here for a weekend after a Disney on Ice show. Love this place, it has everything for you at your fingertips. My grand daughter stare out a big window in a corridor watching the sky bungym, she enjoyed that, would definitely come again

Helpful?
Thank Leila S
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leila S How fantastic that you were able to experience such a wonderful weekend with your grand daughter. We are thrilled to have been a part of it also, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your lovely review. I am pleased that your stay here with us was a successful and especially that your... More 

Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This a very nice hotel in the centre of auckland with nice rooms and good service. A good place to start sightseeing and to go for dinner in the skytower restaurant, wich you can reach from inside the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Geerten W
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Geerten W Thank you very much for the time you have taken to provide us with your lovely review on Trip Advisor. Here we are so very fortunate to be attached to such a fantastic establishment which have great amenities available right at your feet. I do hope that you were able to take great advantage of this as... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location, very pleasant staff and modern room with all amenities but I felt something was missing. Perhaps character? It felt like the McDonalds of the hotel world rather than a 4 star hotel (clean and efficient). I've stayed at other Casino hotels before and possibly was comparing to these(?) Breakfast was served at Andys burger bar and while I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig L
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Craig L Thank you so much for sharing your honest review with us on Trip Advisor. It is only through feedback such as yours that we continue to seek ways in which we can improve those areas our guests feel we may be lacking. I am pleased that you did have an enjoyable stay here with us and that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

480 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (451)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (100)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (111)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Other (162)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
2,221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#4 of 68 in Auckland
3,616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 68 in Auckland
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $154 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from SKYCITY Hotel staff and other travelers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from SKYCITY Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Most rooms don't have a good view, but its location is hard to beat.”
 of 5 bubbles darrenhO7899WQ, 1 week ago | Read review
“Views better from the higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles leoniew5558, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“H1 would be a good level to suggest”
 of 5 bubbles KarleyKat, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“Do you homework before visiting”
 of 5 bubbles zoes76, Sep 29, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with renovated bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles YvonneTA, Sep 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay