We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 342: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The worst hostel we stayed at during our entire trip to New Zealand. En suite room had a cockroach in the bathroom. Room was tiny with limited space to store bags. Was not provided with a bath mat or hand towel for bathroom. Plumbing terrible, shower turned to a trickle when other bathrooms on floor in use. Nightclubs downstairs blaring... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
Nadine T, General Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hello there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you had a cockroach in your room and hope you reported this to our reception team to get an alternative rooms? We are surrounded by bars and nightclubs and the... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dirty - rooms weren't cleaned before we checked in. Loud! - Music blasting every night of the week until 3am! Unfriendly! - Staff couldn't care less. Plumbing couldn't cope! - Shower had no water when everyone was using the bathrooms, just a trickle if water. Kitchen was filthy - seriously, clean it once in a while. Also there was hardly... More 

Helpful?
Thank J D
Nadine T, General Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

HI there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Especially the fact that you felt the staff didn't care is not what we train our staff members in any department! We are surrounded by bars and nightclubs and the noise is out of our control... More 

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in this hostel for 4 nights and I wouldn't recommend staying here. On two nights running our dorm room was overbooked and all the beds filled yet people arrived in the night had being placed in the room even though all the beds were full. The bathrooms were grubby but the staff were friendly and there was a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katie H
Nadine T, General Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Katie, thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that it seemed like your room was overbooked?! Unfortunately guests seem to use more then 1 bed at a time or change beds without informing reception/housekeeping and therefore often rooms still show as clean for our reception staff but have been double used by guests already in the room.... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Initially stayed in a twin room and had to argue about the price which I had booked through there website. It was at 3am on a Saturday after a long flight which wasn't ideal. The room (200) had really skinny futon mattresses and faced on to the the noisy street. Came back as part of a kiwi experience group for... More 

Helpful?
Thank DerekMcH
Nadine T, General Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your review! We are sorry if there was a misunderstanding with the rates in your booking. The rate that showed when you made the booking online is the correct one please email me if there is still some unclearity? nadine@nomadsworld.com We are still in progress of upgrading to inner sprung mattresses in all of our rooms.... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room was not clean including dirty tissues and sticking plasters on the bed/floor. Beds were very uncomfortably and if you want a good nights sleep don't stay here. Windows did nothing to reduce the noise from outside. Internet also didn't work even after double checking the password.

Helpful?
Thank annamorrison101
Nadine T, General Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us didn't turn out the way wanted! Can you please confirm in which room you stayed with us so we can pass on this info to our housekeeping team? Nadine@nomadsworld.com We are located in the down town area with many bars and night clubs... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. Room 200 needs the mattress changed asap as they are sponge and very thin, can feel the wooden slates as soon as you lie down. Also the number 200 is missing the number from the door. I saw into other rooms though and the mattresses looked... More 

Helpful?
Thank JenHurl
Nadine T, General Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about your mattress - we have since upgraded them and as you had already seen for yourself other rooms have already got our new inner sprung mattresses! We are surrounded by bars and nightclubs due to our down town inner city location - we hope you made use... More 

Southport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I loved my stay at Auckland Base. It is smack in the middle of the CBD and really close to transportation. The staff was exceedingly helpful. My flight was super delayed so I wasn't able to get to BASE until about 2am. They swiftly checked me in, let me know the basic information regarding the hostel, and I was off.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Savannah M
Nadine T, General Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Savannah, thanks for your review! We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay and made use of our facilities! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here twice. First time was brilliant, was on the 5th floor first time. Had an en-suite which came in handy. Bunk weds were very unstable and kept creaking every time we moved. Staff were very helpful. My next visit here was quite appalling, stayed on the 3rd floor. Beds again were very creaky and there were communal bathrooms down... More 

Helpful?
Thank alex17242
Nadine T, General Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for your review! We will check all of our bunks again to avoid the creaking! The bathrooms are looking at a huge renovation that will also avoid the constant wetness. In the meantime our cleaners are under constant instruction to dry the floors and keep the bathrooms as clean as possible. We offer free... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Got in pretty late from a flight and went right up to find our room. Weird that there's a bunk bed over the double bed for a double room but whatever, worked in our favour because the room was super tiny... Like tinier than expected. It's a budget room so I wasn't expecting tons of space but we had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank theres_a_step
Nadine T, General Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your review. We are sorry about the bad experience you had with our housekeeping service and we can assure you that we will deal with this matter asap! Some of our private ensuites have a single bunk on top which can help with luggage etc. or a 3rd person staying if need be! We hope you... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

Ok, so we called the day before check in to create a booking. Explained how many of us there were and how long we were staying for.... Easy? You'd think so. Fast forward to the next day, we get there (granted it was straight after a massive Kiwi Bus check in but still, we have a reservation). The staff can't... More 

Helpful?
Thank dutchessgummybuns
Nadine T, General Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your review! We are sorry to hear that you experienced some issues and delays on your check in?! We have some new staff members in training and therefore the check in process can be a bit slower at times. Our cleaning team attends our communal ares multiple times a day and our reception team is there... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Attic Backpackers
Attic Backpackers
#4 of 92 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.0 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
0.0 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#52 of 92 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#1 of 92 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ponsonby Backpackers
Ponsonby Backpackers
#7 of 92 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jucy Snooze
Jucy Snooze
#10 of 52 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Backpack in style at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel. We're located in a beautiful historic building in downtown Auckland, near everything you need for your stay in this fantastic city. Come stay at our stylish, upmarket hostel in the central city, We have some female-only dorms as well as mixed dorms and private rooms! We have great facilities, with a friendly atmosphere and crew who will cater to your every whim. Our travel staff were hand-picked to ensure you will have a trip to remember!We're in an awesome downtown Auckland location, close to Vector Arena, Skytower, Viaduct Harbour, the train station and all the downtown shops - it's the perfect place to stay in Auckland. Our facilities include 24-hour reception, Global Gossip internet and Wi-Fi, and a rooftop kitchen with panoramic views of the city and harbour. We have free tea and coffee, free travel advice (no booking fees) and free 2-for-1 drinks vouchers at check-in. Hang out on our rooftop sundeck, communal kitchen or our lounge with Sky TV. Chill out in our free sauna and rooftop spa then head down to Fort Street Union Bar to meet travellers from all over the world. We put on free and cheap daily activities all around Auckland. FREE 30min WIFI each day. FREE Tea & Coffee FREE Sauna FREE Heated Spa FREE Travel advice (no booking fees) FREE/Cheap daily activities around Auckland ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Address: 16 - 20 Fort Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $18 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay