We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Newton Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Newton Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Newton Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 43: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed December 14, 2015

Room was basic with 2 wooden bunk beds and a desk, but comfortable for a one-night stay for an event at the Aotea Centre. It's a quick 10-15 minute walk downhill to the Viaduct along Queen St, so is on the outskirts of the CBD for a great price. Walls are a bit thin and you can hear people talking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fushnchupz
Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewed December 12, 2015 via mobile

Location is good, close to Auckland's main stree (Queen street), but the upper side of it, what means you have to walk about 10-15 min to get to the city centre (touristic information centre where you can book tours and find the sky tower). The hostel is big, clean and organized. The twin room is big and beds are quite...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mevess
Kiel, Germany
Reviewed October 5, 2015 via mobile

Been there for two nights to pass my jetlag. wouldn't stay there again. It's very simple and dirty. The dorms have nothing special and the kitchen is dirty. One of those hostels the owner just want to suck money with out...and just do what is necessary

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jotpede
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

Good hotel for backpackers. Good showers and wifi. Everything is under control by reception, there is no noise at night, no alcohol and no drugs. You have free coffee and tea. You can sleep well :). Location is quiet good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Domingo M
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed May 8, 2015

I paid extra for a room with a window....find out that it only opens 5 cm. I have been to over 30 hostels (in NZ and EU). This is the first time I had asked for my money back due to unsatisfaction (I wanted to stay at another hostel in Auckland). They refused to refund. The room was very hot...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jmb3509
Reviewed April 18, 2015 via mobile

I booked the wrong nite and four hours later i realised they would not refund my money or change it to another nite so just letting you know so no one booking falls into this trap i stayed another nite in march and it was fine

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Travellbugggg
Marseille, France
Reviewed March 14, 2015

generally speaking it's not a bad backpack to stay. Actually guess it depends more on people's behavior as for example the showers/toilets could have been cleaner... The kitchen is ok. Dorms as well. There is a small locker for each person. Free wifi (not available in each hostel!) It's not really far from the city centre if you don't mind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nath2105
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed February 24, 2015

It was nightmare. The room was tiny and stinky. The common area was soooo noisy and dirty even at night time. I can not get sleep becasue of the noise and strange smell. I think the host should seperate people who stay long-time or not. People, who long-time stay, put their stuff everywhere, there was no place that I can...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JuneHWANG
Reviewed February 17, 2015 via mobile

I stayed at the Newton Lodge for 2 nights and enjoyed the cleanliness of the place and the spacious kitchen but the dorms are terrible: there are no windows, so no fresh air and with 8 people in one room, it's not great. Than there's a solar light that starts with sun light and always woke me up around 6...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vicky L
NewtonLodge, Manager at Newton Lodge, responded to this review

You have stayed in a private single room. Why are you writing a review about dorm rooms? The truth is that there are AC bringing fresh air 24 hours and there is skylight control on the wall so that you could adjust the light. I knew you were going to write this review because that is what you threatened us...

United Kingdom
Reviewed January 15, 2015 via mobile

Having arrived late and departed early, it's hard to pass much comment on the Newton Lodge. Location seemed to be quiet, with a cool vibe, and the place itself clean and modern with no frills. Corridors were swamped with smelly hiking boots at this particular time, the room, a bunk bed acting as a two bed dorm, small but nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LlamaRamaBanana
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
K Road City Travelers Hostel
K Road City Travelers Hostel
#59 of 106 in Auckland
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#21 of 106 in Auckland
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 106 in Auckland
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
0.5 mi away
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
1.3 mi away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#31 of 106 in Auckland
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy your meal in our bright and spacious open kitchen everyday. Relax on comfortable and soft couches and watch Sky sports and Sky movies with 46' LED TV in lounge. We provide free tea and coffee everyday, and free unlimited WIFI can be accessed all around the lodge! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Newton Lodge

Address: 27 Cross Street | Newton, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $15 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Newton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Lodge Auckland, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Newton Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“if you can afford it get a room to yourself or just with 1 other”
 of 5 bubbles cgsoldier76, Jun 27, 2016 | Read review
“A room further back in the hostel will be a lot quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Fushnchupz, Dec 14, 2015 | Read review
“Bring an entire bottle of sleeping pills.”
 of 5 bubbles jmb3509, May 8, 2015 | Read review
“If I book a single room in this accommodation again, I would prefer not next to the PC area. Because you could actually hear people talking in a common room.”
 of 5 bubbles Mikalet8, Sep 10, 2014 | Read review
“don't be scared by the 8 beds dorm, it's nice and cheap!”
 of 5 bubbles r3dg1rl, Nov 19, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question