We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Econo Lodge City Central

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge City Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 218: English reviews
Adelaide
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very little room,no fridge, limited internet, moddy staffs, bad smells on bed quilt, terrible shower. We wanted to wash our clothes and the staffs didnt like because it was 9pm. Noisy place. The location is ok.

Helpful?
Thank Alexandre A
Econoldge c, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Central, responded to this review

Dear Alexandre Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Econo Lodge City Central. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding small room, the room type you booked was one of the budget compact room, we do have other larger room types with fridge, if you would have provided... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good location within Auckland CBD. Staff were all friendly and wifi was adequate. Only stayed one night, unit was cosy however we expected this from the listing. No parking is provided and costs to park overnight. Overall a pleasant stay

Helpful?
Thank Luke C
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed last week Friday, Saturday and Sunday night was so disappointed by only one particular staff called Tross, he is the waiter and front desk attendant too. I saw him in the restaurant both mornings working as a waiter and then was at the front desk both the days, was lazy when I went to him as I was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank jpaterson2016

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed Friday, Saturday and Sunday night, Great location, good price for the room. Service for one staff Tross let me down, he is both the Waiter and Reception staff, maybe hotel owner, thats why he was there at breakfast at early morning and then was working the desk at 10pm, was rude and very vague with informtion, I guess with... More 

Helpful?
Thank jpats0n
New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This room made me laugh when I first walked in...I hadn't expected anything quite so small ! But, in saying that, the service from the front desk was top notch, the staff member polite and extremely helpful. The room was very clean, and I had the facilities I expected for the small price I paid, including free toiletries and tea/coffee.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisabug1964
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
173 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

- Bathroom and shower , is to small. Mattress was to soft. Room is to small. + It was OK for 2 nights , for for longer I would choose a different Hotel, as Rooms are very small. But all in all, for one or two nights, I would possible come back. 5 Minutes walk to the sky Bus.The Indian... More 

Helpful?
Thank India2012
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

You get what you pay for. This is a very cheap central Auckland motel , the reception is nice enough and it's very handy to plenty of places in the central city, BUT the rooms very really small and old. It's clean enough and safe but for another $40 I'd rather go somewhere a bit nicer. For me it's a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peterdubai
Econoldge c, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Central, responded to this review

Dear Peter Thank you for taking time to review Ecnolodge City Central. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding small room on your recent visit. The room type you booked is one of the budget small compact room, we do have other room types available which are much more spacious. Again,... More 

South Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel for a short stay, if your on a budget and only need a place to sleep then this is the place, it's not fancy and the bathroom is really tiny and needs an upgrade but I would say I would stay here again because of the price and it is at the Center of everything...within... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shelathexplorer
Econoldge c, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest We would like to thank you for taking the time review the hotel. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind regards, Dana... More 

Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

When I checked in I had to go out immediately and just left my bags and went out. When I returned late that night I discovered I had been put in a room with a bed which had a broken base so ended up sleeping upside down with my head at the foot as that was the only way the... More 

Helpful?
Thank AMInvercargill
Econoldge c, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. I am glad to hear that you were moved to another room as soon as we were informed about your experience. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided... More 

Christchurch
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

I didn't realise the compact room was so COMPACT ,but the bed was nice and firm and was good to sleep on. Down stairs there is internet access for a small fee and there is an ice machine for endless ice, if needed.The hotel is centrally located on Wellesley street, very close to all transport options . There are car... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kiwibouy
Econoldge c, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#29 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.2 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ascotia off Queen
Ascotia off Queen
#40 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
8.0 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#33 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Central

Address: 37 Wellesley Street | Corner Wellesley & Albert Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly City Central Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $65 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Econo Lodge City Central 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Central Auckland
Hotel City Central
Econo Lodge City Central Auckland, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay