We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Econo Lodge City Central

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 224: English reviews
Wolverhampton, England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights, the room was clean but small - and I deliberately didn't book the 'compact' room because of the reviews! Two people would struggle in a room of this size, luckily I was a solo traveller on this occasion and only stayed four nights. The hotel is centrally located, and the staff were pleasant enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulN09
Boston
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to Auckland to see my nephew in a show and spent one night there. Got a good rte on a room at the Econolodge in downtown Auckland, Easy check in, pretty Art Deco design which I think is original. The room was clean, and the bed was wonderfully soft and comfortable. I will say though, that the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fiona B
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although this is a more affordable option in a good location, we did not enjoy our experience at all. Walls are paper thin and we could hear everyone in the hallway, the laundry, a horrible screeching sound (not sure what it was, but it was regular), and more. We were also given a handicap accessible room, which meant the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaDe
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had the unfortunate experience of being booked into this place by one of our administration people. What a disaster the decor reminded me of Milford sound from 30 years ago. the rooms were tiny with just about enough room to walk around the outside of the bet. I have stayed in some prety awfull places but this one takes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tony00001
Gore, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was very compact and for $150 I would have expected a mini fridge. I woke every hour or so trying to get comfortable as the bed was not great. I am 100% sure the sheets had not been changed as they were quite wrinkled and had that slept in look. I also left an item of jewellery on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hawkesbaygirl2015
Econoldge c, Public Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Econo Lodge City Central. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations. You booked and stayed in one of the budget compact rooms, we do have other rooms types, which are larger and more spacious....

Wellington
Reviewed October 16, 2016

Room next to lift shafts, very noisy plus there was a power outage (planned) in the night which was supposed to occur at midnight but didn't happen until 3am for an hour. When you know something is going to happen it keeps you awake! Then at 4am the building sprang back to life. It was also very cold and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WellingtonJoanna
Econoldge c, Public Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Regarding the power cut, it was beyond our control, as this was done via power line supply company their routine line maintenance. As...

Adelaide
Reviewed September 20, 2016

Very little room,no fridge, limited internet, moddy staffs, bad smells on bed quilt, terrible shower. We wanted to wash our clothes and the staffs didnt like because it was 9pm. Noisy place. The location is ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre A
Econoldge c, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Central, responded to this review

Dear Alexandre Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Econo Lodge City Central. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding small room, the room type you booked was one of the budget compact room, we do have other larger room types with fridge, if you would have provided...

Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

Good location within Auckland CBD. Staff were all friendly and wifi was adequate. Only stayed one night, unit was cosy however we expected this from the listing. No parking is provided and costs to park overnight. Overall a pleasant stay

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Luke C
Canada
Reviewed September 5, 2016

Stayed last week Friday, Saturday and Sunday night was so disappointed by only one particular staff called Tross, he is the waiter and front desk attendant too. I saw him in the restaurant both mornings working as a waiter and then was at the front desk both the days, was lazy when I went to him as I was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpaterson2016
Canada
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Stayed Friday, Saturday and Sunday night, Great location, good price for the room. Service for one staff Tross let me down, he is both the Waiter and Reception staff, maybe hotel owner, thats why he was there at breakfast at early morning and then was working the desk at 10pm, was rude and very vague with informtion, I guess with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpats0n
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

207 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (14)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (137)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
One Double Bed (19)
Viewed
Other (62)
Viewed
One Queen Bed (19)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#28 of 68 in Auckland
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.2 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ascotia off Queen
Ascotia off Queen
#44 of 68 in Auckland
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#38 of 68 in Auckland
74 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 68 in Auckland
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Central

Address: 37 Wellesley Street | Corner Wellesley & Albert Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly City Central Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $62 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Econo Lodge City Central 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Central Auckland
Hotel City Central
Econo Lodge City Central Auckland, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge City Central staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
San Diego, California
16 days ago
Perth, Australia

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge City Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Not a quiet hotel. Great bed. Good rate.”
 of 5 bubbles fionab134, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Don't stay in 305!”
 of 5 bubbles ChelseaDe, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“stay well clear of this place - I asked for a quiet room and I still got noise from the outside air units”
 of 5 bubbles tony00001, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“stay away from the lifts”
 of 5 bubbles WellingtonJoanna, Oct 16, 2016 | Read review
“We had a twin room - the rooms are small, but clean and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles Noobies, Jun 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay