We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

City Garden Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
City Garden Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 95: English reviews
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hi Stayed here for 3 days at It was comfortable stay with nice hospitality. This hostel is already good, and is getting better with all the renovations. We will come back next year when we come Auckland. The staff was very friendly. Parking is limited, but we managed on the street with no problems. Wifi is free and unlimited, kitchen... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cooktim957
OurResponse360, Front Office Manager at City Garden Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest A pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you very much for giving us such a positive feedback. Your encouragement and appreciation helps us to work even harder to provide perfect service for all guests. At City Garden Lodge we take pride in creating a friendly, relaxed and comfortable ambiance for our guests traveling from across... More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Small, clean and organized hostel. Perfect for a long stay. It's actually an old-restored house where you can really feel at home. Lot of outside public area with beautiful gardens and view of the lights of SkyCity Tower after sunset. Great location. Beautiful and relax residential neighbourhood, just 15-20 minutes walking from city center and close to New Market, Auckland... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mau S
OurResponse360, Guest Relations Manager at City Garden Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Mau S Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for your positive comments/feedback. You have actually done us a huge favor by talking about all that we offer and the neighborhood provides to a guest at City Garden Lodge! As you rightly pointed out, we are fortunate to have a historical building as our... More 

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

I've traveled many places in the world and never stayed at a hostel that is so disgustingly dirty and dishonest as this place. The facilities are of poor quality and grimy; I could fill the page with negativities about this hostel. Workers from the CBD live here and they rent the remainder of beds nightly. The only redeeming feature is... More 

Helpful?
Thank SoloTraveller082010
OurResponse360, Public Relations Manager at City Garden Lodge, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that you had such a negative experience, however, at City Garden Lodge we take pride in serving backpackers and travelers from across the globe. There are certain rules and regulations of our lodge, which few people do not follow and end up having negative experience. We are in the process of renovating our heritage property and hope... More 

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

I have travel many places in new Zealand with lot of new friends, this is the place i had felt so happy at end of my travelling. This place is so good as homely, the people here are very friendly I recommend my friends to visit this hostel, the Really nice hostel to stay in. The staff were all very... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jojames891
OurResponse360, Public Relations Manager at City Garden Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback! We are glad to have made your stay comfortable and enjoyable- that is always our endeavor. Yes..at City Garden Lodge we encourage a homely, friendly atmosphere for our backpackers to interact and enjoy the open spaces including the garden area and the cosy living rooms with books to browse on a rainy... More 

Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

We were looking very last minute for a place in Auckland to stay and City Garden was one of the only places left with rooms. We stayed for 3 nights in a tiny twin bunk room with shared bathroom. With better management this could be a great hostel, but as it is we could not recommend City Garden to other... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Becki S
Camberley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016

Former house of the Queen of Tonga, extended and with outbuildings. Main house divided into rooms and dorms. Tents in gardens. Full facilities, incl wooden dining table in area covered by plexiglass (it sometimes rains in Auckland). Self-service laundry. Friendly staff who didn't complain when we locked ourselves out at night and they had to drive over and unlock the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Antony O
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016 via mobile

We booked this hostel based on the reviews on trip advisor. Neither me nor my partner are strangers to hostels, we've both stayed in a fair few before and know they can be a mixed bag. But with the mostly positive reviews on trip advisor we believed this would be one of the better ones. It wasn't. We only stayed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dan M
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2016

We came back here again after traveling NZ for 6 weeks. This is just like home for us away home. We have stayed for 11 nights here. It was comfortable stay with nice hospitality. This hostel is already good, and is getting better year by year. We will come back next year, too.

Helpful?
4 Thank Sato-Hisa S
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2016

PAY NO ATTENTION TO THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS FROM YEARS AGO!!! We arrived very late to find our keys waiting for us in the mailbox. Our room was small but efficient with a bunkbed. There are larger dorm style rooms with multiple bunks and rooms with just one queen sized bed. You can camp in the yard as well. The toilets... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank benmcclung82
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2016 via mobile

I stayed for 3months in my lovely tent at the first no one stay in tent (cost 20$ for your own space and calm quiet at night) had a work in Newmarket . Good location to Auckland CBD and nice restaurant . Normally people take buses to go shopping or hang out into city. But I'm not city person. few... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank pinpanyuri
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#41 of 92 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
1.7 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
1.6 mi away
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bamber House Hostel
Bamber House Hostel
#2 of 92 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
1.3 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#12 of 92 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
1.5 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#1 of 92 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about City Garden Lodge

Address: 25 St Georges Bay Road | Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $21 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Garden Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your City Garden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Hotel Auckland Central
City Garden Lodge Auckland, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay