We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kiwi International Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kiwi International Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

562 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 467: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you're looking for cheap and scummy this is the place to go. This "hotel" had the most disgusting and rudest staff as well as lying about free parking and a view. Would never stay here again. Absolute joke.

Helpful?
Thank alannah_clark379
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Alannah. We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Our hotel is definitely priced in the lower budget price range, however our facilities are extremely clean and tidy. The parking is free, so I am a little perplexed about your comment. We are set off the main road so not all of our rooms have a view. Though your... More 

Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

it has great service and amazing,the rooms are very relaxing and comfortable I loved it I would stay there again next time when I go to Auckland, it has a good view of Auckland and i didn't even have to book we just asked if there was about 5 beds left and there was

Helpful?
Thank caitlyn s
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Caitlyn. Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are so pleased to have provided you with an enjoyable stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Best Regards. More 

Donnybrook, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sorry to say didn't have the pleasure of a stay.As this booking was made in May and very early on for September visit arrangements changed denying me the pleasure of the staff company.The $20 dollar cancellation fee was very reasonable unlike Jetstar who gave no refund for same period and reason.The central location was the reason I originally made booking... More 

Helpful?
Thank PeterJHolker
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for posting a review even though you didn't get to stay. We do welcome you back in the future though and hope we have the opportunity to host you. Best regards. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The receptionists were very helpful in terms of checking in, asking for directions, and additional requests (like doing the laundry). The room is clean and spacious enough with hot showers and comfy beds, although I was not very particular to the room as I wanted somewhere cheap and what I valued most was just getting some rest and sleeping (I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grace Y
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and gained great value for your money. We thank you again and hope to see you in the future. More 

Santos, SP
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is good, the rooms are comfortable and the staff is helpful. But the best about it is its location. Only a few minutes away from Auckland's CBD, the hotel is perfect for those who want to enjoy their day out, without a problem to return late to the hotel. O hotel e' bom, os quartos são confortáveis e... More 

Helpful?
Thank RafBartDex
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there. Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your recommendation. Many thanks. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2016

In terms of a low-cost, single night stay-over, this will do the job - the bed is adequate, the room is warm, the shower is hot and the toilet flushes. What this place lacks is a logical layout - we stayed on the third floor and it took two, violent elevator rides and trekked throughout the building to find our... More 

Helpful?
Thank MDD888
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for your review. The third floor was built over 50 years ago, about 50 years after the original construction of the building. Yes you do have to catch 2 lifts to get to the 3rd floor, however there are signs showing the way. Fortunately our 3rd floor rooms are our best rooms with a lovely view... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016

It's a basic hotel with helpful staff and very good location on the begining of the main street in Auckland. Nice walk from the hotel along the Queen Street. Continental breakfast, rooms good enough to stay a few nights. I stayed 3 in Feb 2016

Helpful?
Thank Hornet_72
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We agree we are excellent value for money in the heart of Auckland City, being on the main road through the city centre and close to all transport points. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016

A very neat and clean hotel within the CBD. It was just a stop gap but wouldn't mind staying for longer and will with family.------//////-//-//////// . It suits people/ travellers of all kind. Hope you have a great stay.

Helpful?
Thank Satishpushpa
kiwihotel411, Public Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for kindly reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again. More 

Zaventem, Belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one week to visit auckland and found it a very nice and pleasant stay. The Staff is friendly and rooms are small but clean and you can ask for additional services at the reception desk. The hotel is located on Queen Street it will take you 20 minutes to reach the harbour.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rik G
kiwihotel411, General Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We look forward to hosting you again. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016

+: location (end of main high street) +: affordable +: helpful staff (when I asked if room temperature can be raised, the receptionist gave me his own heater!) -: WiFi (operates by vouchers and drops all the time) -: laundry (old fashioned and costly, needs two tokens, at $4 NZD each, to actually dry the washing, total cost per wash... More 

Helpful?
Thank x j
kiwihotel411, General Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for your review. We appreciate all reviews so we can constantly improve our services. Please note the cost to do a full washing machine load of washing and drying including laundry powder is $9NZD. If your load requires extra drying, you may not have adjusted the temperature gauge. We have fibre optic wifi which is the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (109)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#41 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
1.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#9 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.6 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
Ascotia off Queen
Ascotia off Queen
#38 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Quiet yet centrally located and of a size to provide the facilities that modern travellers expect while retaining a sense of comfort & friendliness. We offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city - free wi-fi, free baggage storage, no surcharge credit card payment and friendly 24/7 reception & service. Some parking is available on a "first come first serve" basis. Spaces are not guaranteed and cannot be reserved. Ideal for travellers and groups seeking quality, value and location. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance - Skytower, Skycity, Aotea Square, Viaduct Basin, the central business district, 'K' Road, theatres, restaurants, universities & tertiary institutions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $54 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay