We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Mercure Auckland

Save
8 Customs Street East Grand Mercure Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1001 New Zealand
Expedia.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (372)
Room & Suite (128)
Dining (80)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#17 of 69 hotels in Auckland Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Located in the heart of the Auckland's CBD and waterfront district, perfectly situated for cruise ships pre and post travel, Waiheke ferry excursions and directly alongside the Britomart train station. Grand Mercure is surrounded by designer boutiques and award winning restaurants of Britomart, Grand Mercure Auckland embraces all of these elements to tell a story of our uniquely diverse city. With 207 guest rooms, a dedicated conference floor and lifestyle spaces, Grand Mercure welcomes every traveller to explore the intimate ethnic mosaic of Auckland. Guests can also experience the indulgence of Executive Suites located on Premium Floors, a new cafe Custom Lane, a guest Library featuring New Zealand literature, a wellness yoga room and gym.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Car hire
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Paid wifi
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Special diet menus
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, Filipino and 6 more
768Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 387
  • 271
  • 69
  • 27
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I must commend the staff for their help in making our stay comfortable and looking after my dietary requirements while we are here in the covid isolation The chef at the restaurant has been really kind in looking after me . I would also single out Daniel whose been a gem of a person, helping us so much. Really helpful staff
Read more
Response from Mercure Auckland, General Manager at Grand Mercure Auckland
Responded 5 days ago
Dear ashils2014, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. Given the current situation at hand, we are delighted that you enjoyed your isolation with us. I will be sure to share your wonderful remarks with Chef Daniel. We do hope you returned back home to safely and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Stay safe. Kind Regards, Tasi Fameitau Guest Relations Manager
Read more
As many others have indicated; great location with the ferry terminal a block away, Skybus pick-up pretty much outside, adjacent to the Britomart area and Queen Street. It was difficult time for staff with COVID-19 restrictions just about to bite, so we appreciated the reception staff being kind enough to upgrade our city view room to a Harbour view and grant a 1pm check-out time. The ‘Superior’ room was of average size, but comfortable enough and our only gripe was that the room lacked adequate storage/cupboard space. We had to park our car two blocks away at the Lumley Centre (some good cheap eats in Fort Street, eg King Made Noodles), but it seemed secure enough (it was a ‘Secure’ Parking though!) and cheaper than Britomart and Downtown parking stations. We had breakfast ( a good selection, liked the juice machine and eggs made to order) a few times (pricey, but ok with Accor Plus membership) in Vue restaurant and had some drinks at the bar; a great view from both places and staff were very accommodating. Overall, 4.5 but can’t enter that on TA.
Read more
Response from Mercure Auckland, General Manager at Grand Mercure Auckland
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear iancc, Thank you so much for taking the time in providing us with genuine comments regarding your recent time with us. I am delighted to hear that our team of Storytellers had taken great care of you during your stay with us and that you enjoyed our scrumptious breakfast accompanied by a great view of the Harbour. I'm surprised to hear that you didn't agree with our breakfast prices as we are the cheapest around town but as you said with your loyal Accor Plus membership, you were eligible for a discount. Overall, we are so happy that your experience with us was a positive one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Stay Safe. Kind Regards, Tasi Fameitau Guest Relations Manager
Read more
As we were made to stay here, thanks to the nz government, you would think the staff would be helpful, let alone great ful for a job. Unfortunately they are rude and really unfriendly. As we were not allowed to leave the hotel, $30 for a bottle of lemonade is not cool. Yes I know votes have mark ups, however $30 for a 1.5 lt of lemonade is robbery. Even a bottle of wine we were told was at cost, $30 is not at cost for a bottle of wine. I know the staff were working under very trying circumstances however there are still standards of dealing with customers. Grunting, arguing with each other and not even delivering meals is unforgettable. You have an opportunity to make the stay a little more comfortable for someone that can’t leave there room. Having talked to other people that have stayed there previously have said’ so things have not changed’, ‘oh that is the norm for Auckland hospitality’ wow Auckland you have come down in standards.
Read more
Response from Mercure Auckland, General Manager at Grand Mercure Auckland
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear 982DavidM982, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am terribly sorry to read that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations and our usual standards. I understand your frustration, as you had returned from overseas, having to be isolated away from family and loved ones to keep them safe, can take a toll on some. I totally agree that a normal bottle of wine purchased at a hotel is not $30 as it usually ranges from $40 upwards, unless you were after Supermarket and Liquor store prices, which we are neither. Your feedback is very important to us so please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Stay Safe. Sincere Regards, Tasi Fameitau Guest Relations Manager
Read more
We were treated wonderfully by the staff both at reception and at the restaurant. Much to our pleasant surprise, we were given a complimentary room upgrade. We absolutely loved the food at Vue restaurant (Gnocchi is a must-try even for non-vegetarians!) and the ambiance was lovely. Truly enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Response from Mercure Auckland, General Manager at Grand Mercure Auckland
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear JerryEh80, Thank you for awarding us with 5 stars and for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to hear that you had a memorable experience with us and I'm pleased to read your compliments to your upgrade, our Vue Restaurant and especially our staff. I too agree the Gnocchi is a must try! We all look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future for another amazing stay. Stay Safe. Kind Regards, Tasi Fameitau Guest Relations Manager
Read more
The location was excellent. The personnel were very good. Good facilities and all you would expect. As usual due to difference between flight time and hotel check time, the gap was well spent, leaving the bags and roaming around. I also stayed at another Accor hotel between dates of 12 to 14th March and did leave my part luggage back. All of which was well taken care. Strongly support - Great Place !
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Response from Mercure Auckland, General Manager at Grand Mercure Auckland
Responded Mar 20, 2020
Dear Ravikk56, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a great review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel as we enjoy sharing it with our fellow travelers and I’m super stoked you had time to explore our beautiful city too. We all look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay. Kind Regards, Tasi Fameitau Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$118 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure auckland hotel auckland central, accor hotel auckland
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
207
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Mercure Auckland
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Mercure Auckland?
Nearby attractions include New Zealand Maritime Museum (0.3 miles), St. Patrick's Cathedral (0.3 miles), and Britomart (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Mercure Auckland?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Mercure Auckland?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Mercure Auckland?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Mercure Auckland?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Mercure Auckland?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hello Beasty, The Grove, and Culprit..
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Mercure Auckland?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and yoga classes during their stay.
Is Grand Mercure Auckland located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Auckland Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Mercure Auckland?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Mercure Auckland offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Mercure Auckland?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, Chinese, Hindi, and Japanese.