We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Auckland International

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YHA Auckland International
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 161: English reviews
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Close to K Road which is good for nights out. If you become a YHA member the wifi is a lot better (and free however to become a member isn't). It's not a bad hostel to stay in for a couple of nights but I wouldn't want to stay there any longer.

Helpful?
1 Thank Helie1992
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi Helie, Thanks for your feedback. By being a YHA member, not only do you get the benefit of a minimum of 10% off accommodation rates both here in New Zealand as well as Hi Hostels around the world there are number on members discounts for activities and travel around our beautiful country. Please see the reception staff at the... More 

Matamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

I needed central city accomodation in order to attend a business event. YHA Auckland International is well located near the top of Queen St, with easy access to Airport buses and buses to downtown Auckland. I had a private room with ensuite facilities - was very clean and comfortable - I slept till 8am and didn't find it at all... More 

Helpful?
Thank FathomBruce
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

This is a very noisy hostel with a VERY long wait for showers and the toilet. In all honesty I am glad I was only here for one night. It was horrible and the sanitary bin was overflowing onto the floor - gross.

Helpful?
Thank Amos Vira G
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi Amos, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations at the hostel. We try hard to manage the noise in the hostel, I will talk to our staff team with regards to this. Unfortunately if the noise is from the City there is little we can do about this.We will also work with our housekeepers with regards... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

Great place to stay in Auckland for families or backpackers! Staff are friendly and welcoming. Dorms are a good size (I stayed in a 4 and an 8 bed). Bathrooms were always clean. Kitchen was big and there was plenty of space to put your food on the shelves. Wifi was fast and free. Great location at the top of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth H
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi Ruth, Thank you very much for your kind feedback, we are pleased you had a great stay with us and I'll pass on your compliments to our team. Steve Collier Area Manager More 

Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

My flight was delayed coming out of Sydney due to horrible weather, and i wasn't able to get to the hostel until 1am. Thank god Venic the night manager was there to check me in and put a pleasant end to a long tiring day. Simple check-in and he gave me some suggestions on where to grab a late night... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mdenci
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your feedback and it's great to hear you were so well looked after. I'll be sure to pass your comments on Venk. Steve Collier Area Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

After checkout, we cannot use the storage room anymore, one has to pay 5$ to use a locker even for 1hour only ! Big, quiet common space, (although nicely equipped), unfortunately medium social/friendly atmosphere between travelers Missing a little furniture next to one's bed to put your phone, water etc when sleeping Checkout at 10am for a checkin at 2pm...... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AdeleLLL
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
219 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016

Nice room, shower and the staff are great! They are very supportive helped me to book the tour to hobbiton, very pleasant! The hostel has a shared kitchen, we could use for breakfast, lunch and dinner and everything was very organized and clean!

Helpful?
1 Thank PatNeves
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi Pat, Thanks very much for your very kind feedback, I will pass this onto the staff. Steve - Area Manager More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2016 via mobile

My son and I stayed for two nights the room was comfortable and clean we had our own bathroom that had a great shower. My only complaint would be the grumpy staff at the front desk on check out the guy was incredible rude and not one bit helpful made us leave with a bad impression even tho up until... More 

Helpful?
Thank jacksonh91
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and apologies for the way you were treated on your departure. We will address with our staff team. It is unacceptable and we're sorry it spoiled the weekend. Thanks for the great rating despite this and we hope you give us another chance at some point in the future. Steve Collier - Area Manager YHA New... More 

Swansea
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

The staff and hostel were great, there was a really relaxed vibe and the food was good. At night there was always something to do whether there was entertainment on or as the hostel is on the smaller side everybody got to know each other and we'd all just hit the local bars. Would certainly stay again if I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank swiftearth
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your kind words, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Auckland. Steve Collier - Area Manager YHA New Zealand More 

Domazlice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2016

I was always happy with YHA hostels, usually YHA hostels offers modern facilities, plenty of space and quiet accommodation. YHA in Auckland was exactly what i was looking for after long flight from Europe. Friendly staff, very good location and nice athmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank pavleek
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#30 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,076 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#1 of 91 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#25 of 91 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YHA Auckland International is 5-star Qualmark rated, staffed 24 hours and offers excellent amenities. Backpacker accommodation includes small and large multishare rooms. Twin, double and ensuite rooms are also available. There is a large fully equipped kitchen as well as a spacious and relaxing lounge area with Sky TV and a pool table. Other amenities include gear and luggage storage, video library, stereo and a great book exchange make this backpacker hostel a complete facility. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Auckland International

Address: 5 Turner Street | P.O. Box 68-149, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $20 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — YHA Auckland International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your YHA Auckland International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland International Hostel-Yha Hotel Auckland Central
YHA Auckland International New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay