We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

YHA Auckland International

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YHA Auckland International
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 165: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a very good time here as it closes to Queen st. The staff members are such a wonderful and very helpful. Person line Tianna and another bearded guy :) ( sorry, can't remember his name) are very dedicated persons and gave me a good guidance.

Helpful?
Thank Elayaraja A
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind feedback, and it's great to hear you had great service. we have a couple of staff with beards so will pass your comments on to all of them :) Steve - Area Manager More 

summer hill
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Twice mid winter. We had a double ensure. Motel style accommodation. Great value for money. Easy access for step and stair challenged people. Located close to a range of Asian restaurants, the airport bus terminus and the Irish pub for great food, downtown and the harbour. ****. WiFi was a bit crappy but that have been due to the load... More 

Helpful?
Thank colin_n_jones
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi Colin, thanks for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. With our Free Wifi you are correct in that if a lot of people are streaming videos it does impact the speed for other users. Kind regards Steve - Area Manager. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016

The kitchen is very large, enough dishes / pans / etc for everyone. Enough room for privacy. Clean and roach free showers/bathrooms. Big and robust lockers. But only two sockets in each four bed room.

Helpful?
Thank David G
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi David, Thank you for your positive feedback about our hostel. The good news is we are currently installing power supply so that each locker will have it's own socket for you to charge devices securely in the locker. Steve Collier - Area Manager More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one the night and was really impressed with the staff, kitchen/dining area and tv/media area. All the facilities were well looked after. The rooms although basic did the job. However we had a room at the front and the noise from the road kept us awake all night, talking, singing, music, cars and the lorry taking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Moonie2011
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi there Moonie, Thanks for your feedback following your stay in Auckland, I am pleased the staff looked after you and the good news is we are planning an upgrade of our rooms. Unfortunately being in a City Centre location noise from the outside of the is a challenge and we do have ear plugs at reception for those customers... More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

Close to K Road which is good for nights out. If you become a YHA member the wifi is a lot better (and free however to become a member isn't). It's not a bad hostel to stay in for a couple of nights but I wouldn't want to stay there any longer.

Helpful?
1 Thank Helie1992
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi Helie, Thanks for your feedback. By being a YHA member, not only do you get the benefit of a minimum of 10% off accommodation rates both here in New Zealand as well as Hi Hostels around the world there are number on members discounts for activities and travel around our beautiful country. Please see the reception staff at the... More 

Matamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

I needed central city accomodation in order to attend a business event. YHA Auckland International is well located near the top of Queen St, with easy access to Airport buses and buses to downtown Auckland. I had a private room with ensuite facilities - was very clean and comfortable - I slept till 8am and didn't find it at all... More 

Helpful?
Thank FathomBruce
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

This is a very noisy hostel with a VERY long wait for showers and the toilet. In all honesty I am glad I was only here for one night. It was horrible and the sanitary bin was overflowing onto the floor - gross.

Helpful?
Thank Amos Vira G
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi Amos, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations at the hostel. We try hard to manage the noise in the hostel, I will talk to our staff team with regards to this. Unfortunately if the noise is from the City there is little we can do about this.We will also work with our housekeepers with regards... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

Great place to stay in Auckland for families or backpackers! Staff are friendly and welcoming. Dorms are a good size (I stayed in a 4 and an 8 bed). Bathrooms were always clean. Kitchen was big and there was plenty of space to put your food on the shelves. Wifi was fast and free. Great location at the top of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth H
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi Ruth, Thank you very much for your kind feedback, we are pleased you had a great stay with us and I'll pass on your compliments to our team. Steve Collier Area Manager More 

Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

My flight was delayed coming out of Sydney due to horrible weather, and i wasn't able to get to the hostel until 1am. Thank god Venic the night manager was there to check me in and put a pleasant end to a long tiring day. Simple check-in and he gave me some suggestions on where to grab a late night... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mdenci
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your feedback and it's great to hear you were so well looked after. I'll be sure to pass your comments on Venk. Steve Collier Area Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

After checkout, we cannot use the storage room anymore, one has to pay 5$ to use a locker even for 1hour only ! Big, quiet common space, (although nicely equipped), unfortunately medium social/friendly atmosphere between travelers Missing a little furniture next to one's bed to put your phone, water etc when sleeping Checkout at 10am for a checkin at 2pm...... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AdeleLLL
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#29 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 3,418 reviews
0.5 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#27 of 92 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#1 of 92 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YHA Auckland International is 5-star Qualmark rated, staffed 24 hours and offers excellent amenities. Backpacker accommodation includes small and large multishare rooms. Twin, double and ensuite rooms are also available. There is a large fully equipped kitchen as well as a spacious and relaxing lounge area with Sky TV and a pool table. Other amenities include gear and luggage storage, video library, stereo and a great book exchange make this backpacker hostel a complete facility. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Auckland International

Address: 5 Turner Street | P.O. Box 68-149, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $21 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — YHA Auckland International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your YHA Auckland International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland International Hostel-Yha Hotel Auckland Central
YHA Auckland International New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay