We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central

YHA Auckland International

Save
Traveler (26)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (7)
Overview
  • Excellent17%
  • Very good41%
  • Average32%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“queen street”(21 reviews)
“charging points”(3 reviews)
“free wifi”(11 reviews)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Paid Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
3.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (280)Write a Review
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
35
70
71
13
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
35
70
71
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueen streetcharging pointsfree wificommon areasairport bussingle roomhostelkitchenfacilitiesaucklandensuitestorageplugharbour
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Big hostel, totally impersonal service and impersonal atmosphere. Kitchen is big, well equipped and generally clean. Double private room was so small, no room for storage of two big packs. Good for a basic start up in Auckland, no more than that!

Thank John L
Response from YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland InternationalResponded 4 days ago

Hi John, thank you for your comments. I will follow-up your comments regarding service in particular with the team at the hostel. Regards, Steve - Area Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff is friendly and helpful. YHA's are known for their budget-friendly atmosphere easy to get to from the airport. Close to city attractions, easy walking and close to good food. Spend one night before going on a cruise. Close to cruise departure.

Thank teenytinyterry
Response from YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland InternationalResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for your great feedback, I am pleased you had a good experience with us and will pass your comments onto the staff at the hostel. Best, Steve - Area Manager

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Nice place for a few nights for Young People; very Central Location; clean rooms, réception 24/7; next to the sky bus busstop (direction airport); showerrooms on the floor with 2 showers + 2 toilets, both showers did not work at the same time; recommended

Thank schneider_romy
Response from YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland InternationalResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for your comments following your stay with us, I am sorry there was an issue with the showers. This has since been addressed so should not be a problem should you visit us again in future. Steve - Area Manager.

Reviewed October 8, 2017

Unfriendly service at check in and throughout our entire stay. Receptionists aren't helpful and are making every single thing complicated. The other YHA is much better in terms of service at list. Why you working in hospitality if you're unfriendly?More

1  Thank Sasha V
Response from YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland InternationalResponded October 10, 2017

Sasha, I am sorry that our staff customer service did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. I will work with the team and review our training programs so that we can address the concerns you have raised. Thanks for bringing this to...More

Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

Friendly welcome. The staff is always ready to help. All the place is really clean in general. The only thing I could say is the slow Wi-fi. Also a bit annoying when you have to check out early to get your new room around 2pm...More

Thank christophe g
Response from YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland InternationalResponded October 9, 2017

Hi Christophe, I am pleased you found our staff helpful, I will pass your feedback onto them. Our free Wifi is there for all customers however if people do download large data files it can slow the system down, unfortunately we cannot manage what people...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345641
About
Amenities
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
$25 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
$25 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (26)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (7)
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Bathroom (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
smalo12
June 28, 2016|
Answer
Response from swiftearth | Reviewed this property |
Hello, they did not have any laundry facilities when I stayed here but that was over 8 years ago now. However, there are a few laundrettes in Auckland, some quite close.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Depends on how much you want to spend."
Read review
"They are all very similar"
Read review
"Ask for rooms at the back of hostel as they are quieter."
Read review
"Maybe ask about room noise when you book if you are a light sleeper or dont like earplugs!!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite