We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Auckland International

Save
Traveler (26)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (7)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent17%
  • Very good42%
  • Average32%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“queen street”(21 reviews)
“charging points”(3 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
Breakfast included
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
36
76
72
13
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
36
76
72
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueen streetcharging pointsspacious kitchenbig hostelprivate roomfree wificommon areasstayed here for nightssingle roomfacilitiesaucklandensuitestoragepluglaundryharbour
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 210 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2018 via mobile

Clean and decent hostel with sublime kitchen facilities and super friendly staff. Beds are ever so comfortable. There are not too many showers and toilets, so you might have to wait for one. The location is really good and just a two minute walk from...More

Thank BenHa97
Reviewed March 3, 2018

First of all, big thank you to the staff, they were nice and helpful. My room was quite comfortable. The location of YMCA was good, it was on Pitts Street and I usually walked downhill to downtown and take the red line city bus up...More

Thank Quack H
Reviewed February 27, 2018 via mobile

This is a chain of hostels and I’ve used a number around NZ now. There is a minimum standard to them, which I find to be higher than almost all other hostels. You can rely on it being clean, well run, have large well equipped...More

Thank Paul S
Response from YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland InternationalResponded March 1, 2018

Hi Paul, we appreciate you taking the time to review our hostel and the YHA network in New Zealand, we are pleased you enjoyed our hostel facilities and will pass your comments onto the staff. Thanks again. Steve - Area Manager

Reviewed February 8, 2018 via mobile

So far my card key stopped working, the lock on the room door is faulty. Small light over bed not working. I had a cold shower, the room is very stuffy and hot but with windows open the street noise is terrible, and I think...More

Thank Gail C
Response from YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland InternationalResponded March 1, 2018

Hi Gail, thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We will look into the feedback you have left and work with the staff on service. Steve - Area Manager

Reviewed February 8, 2018

Clean, cheap, loads of people to meet and get information from. Great cooking facilities, just like any other YHA, plus I can use my UK YHA membership to get discount. This was the start of my 5 week road trip around New Zealand which I...More

Thank Krauty F
Response from YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland InternationalResponded March 1, 2018

Thanks for your great review and rating of YHA Auckland International. Enjoy the rest of your travels in New Zealand. Steve - Area Manager

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Auckland Central
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
$17 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
$17 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (26)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (7)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
smalo12
June 28, 2016|
Answer
Response from swiftearth | Reviewed this property |
Hello, they did not have any laundry facilities when I stayed here but that was over 8 years ago now. However, there are a few laundrettes in Auckland, some quite close.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Book ahead to avoid disappointment or travel out of season and most of the time you'll end up with a dorm..."
Read review
"Depends on how much you want to spend."
Read review
"They are all very similar"
Read review
"Ask for rooms at the back of hostel as they are quieter."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing