We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Base Auckland Central Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

664 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 528: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The man at the front desk was pretty useless and unhelpful. At first we just stood there like plonkers whilst the staff had a chat. Then when we eventually were spoken we were checked in. We booked into an 8 bed mixed dorm, but was put into a 4 bed mixed dorm with an older man who was unfortunately a... More 

Helpful?
Thank _LongJohns93
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I stayed twice in this hostel. My first booking was for 2 nights. I received a private double room, without windows or something. The matrass was also very bad. I could feel the steel in my back. The second stay was even worser. The only positive point was that I have been upgraded to a room with windows. Twice they... More 

Helpful?
Thank ArmandTr
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. Sorry to hear about the issues you encountered here. If you could email me on aucklandgm@stayatbase.com and let me know your room number, that would be really helpful in finding which bed to replace. Thanks again for the feedback, it is appreciated. Safe Travels, Darelle Jenkins. More 

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Quite okay. Has a lot of beds and even more space, so it is possible to find areas in the common places that are not as noisy as in other places. Therefore also chances to still find a place when you need it immediately. It is not the most clean hostel, volunteer cleaners work 20 hours per week, which translates... More 

Helpful?
Thank ExplorerMS1986
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for leaving us a review. Your comments are appreciated. The Kitchen is about to get some work done on it to re-arrange the storage area which will be great. Glad to hear you agree on the changes. I hope you have safe onward travels. Thanks again, Darelle Jenkins More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. It has a really good central location. However, this building appears to be an old office building and a lot of the rooms have no windows. I had to ask to move rooms because our private room was literally a box with a bed inside, not nice for anyone who is nervous. The room... More 

Helpful?
Thank oz2k13
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your feeedback. Unfortunately there are some inside rooms without windows, we do state this on our website when booking certain rooms (they do however make great rooms for jetlag or hangovers!), i understand they are not to everyone's liking though. Unfortunately, being a high rise in the city, windows are restricted from being able to open.... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed two (separate) nights but didn't try many of the facilities. Friendly staff. Comfy beds. Quite. Clean bathrooms. No real complaints. Wifi was extra but advertised as such. Expect to pay extra for any facilities.

Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope you have safe onward travels, Darelle Jenkins. More 

Saint Kilda, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The kitchen here is far from pleasant, prepare for your milk to no longer be... your milk. The staff, (minus an unfriendly, inhospitable, rude female British manager), are an amazingly accomodating, helpful crew with plenty of advice and kind assistance. Loads of weirdos stay here; maybe kitten says this upon having been a weirdo who was in fact here long... More 

Helpful?
Thank kittentravels
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Im glad you found (the majority) of the staff friendly, thats what we aim for. I will be dealing with the exception to this. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks again, Darelle Jenkins. More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

They offer a lot of help for any question you might have, but every help costs money and is run by companies that make money through this hostel. They can help you with your JobSearch and CV but that costs 100$ and no job guarantee. They know a lot of what there is to do around Auckland but the recommendations... More 

Helpful?
Thank Astrid J
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for leaving us a review. Remi and Mike are stoked to have been mentioned :) I'm sorry you felt like help costs money, that is not the impression we want to give. There are plenty of free and cheap things to do in Auckland and we promote these just as much as the paid activities. I hope... More 

Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

One of the better hostels I've stayed in. Beds are comfy, rooms have great views, bathrooms are clean (though showers streams are a bit weird), and kitchen is good. Very central! And reception is helpful and pretty much has everything you need!

Helpful?
Thank Anneline K
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your review! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Base Auckland. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels! Thanks again, Darelle Jenkins. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed just one Saturday night on the 7th floor, in a 2 bunk room. My room was good, quiet and clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was not cleaned during my stay so was pretty dirty, shower had blood spots on the wall. Upon checkout had to wait a while to hand in my key as the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank starjamgirl
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking time to leave a review. I appreciate your comments and have passed them onto the housekeeping and reception teams to diminish them happening again. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks again, Darelle Jenkins. More 

Winkfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016

I arrived at Base Auckland on my first day travelling in New Zealand. Staff weren't welcoming at all. I had paid for the cheapest room so that's what I got - fair enough - but with no window so wasn't great. I found it very hard to meet anyone here, there wasn't really a clear social area. There is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susie C
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm really sorry to hear you didn't have a good stay here. I hope you have safe onward travels. Thanks again, Darelle Jenkins. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (63)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
0.0 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#52 of 92 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Attic Backpackers
Attic Backpackers
#4 of 92 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#1 of 92 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jucy Snooze
Jucy Snooze
#10 of 52 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quest on Queen
Quest on Queen
#32 of 92 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Award-winning Base Backpacker Auckland is located in the heart of Auckland city, less than 5 minutes walk to everywhere. We have fun working here so we know you'll have fun staying in our hostel. Former ACB, Base Auckland hostel is located in the heart of the city - central to shops, cafes, museums, Sky tower and only a few minutes walk to train, bus and ferry terminals and Vector Arena. The airport bus (Airbus) stops right outside our door! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Base Auckland Central Backpackers

Address: 229 Queen St | Cnr Queen St. & Darby, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $22 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Base Auckland Central Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Base Auckland Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Auckland Central Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Base Auckland Central Backpackers New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay