We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stamford Plaza Auckland

Show Prices
#14 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Stamford Plaza Auckland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,829 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Stamford Plaza Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,655: English reviews
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed December 6, 2015 via mobile

Friendly staff greet you and make you feel valued. Room looks like it was recently upgraded from my last stay. Good king size bed which was comfortable and fresh decor including business desk, new TV and tea and coffee facilities including mini bar. Close to the Main Street and shops, restaurants and harbour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane H
Stasya Z, PA to GM at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. It’s pleasing to know that you’ve noticed the positive changes of our recent multi-million dollar refurbishment of all guestrooms. I will be certain to pass on your compliments to our team members. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Jordan Jahng Guest Services Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed December 3, 2015

Easy walk to everything, you can elect not to have your room serviced each day and save $10 per day on food & drink. Still freshened towels and toiletries. Good value. Good gym with views overlooking the harbour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oziangel99
Stasya Z, PA to GM at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to know that you have taken advantage of our “Go Green” initiative, which underpin our commitment to environmental sustainability. We receive numerous positive comments regarding our luxury pool and gymnasium facilities which boast superb city & harbour views. We hope you see you again...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed December 1, 2015 via mobile

Got a good deal and, wow, this howl was great. Central location with newly refurbished rooms. I found all staff delightful, and both my dinner and breakfast were delicious. The free WiFi was well appreciated and ran really well. There are cheaper places to stay but look for deals and you will appreciate this place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JakeRaven
Stasya Z, PA to GM at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased that you’ve had an enjoyable stay with us, along with the food and beverage offers. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the respective teams, and we look forward you welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Jordan Jahng Guest Services Manager

Reviewed November 30, 2015 via mobile

Over priced small rooms with rude reception and delays in refunding the room hold fee. Good location for central Auckland and the harbour but otherwise fell well short for a five star hotel compared to other experiences. Spend your money elsewhere. The other staff were friendly just not reception on either check in or check out. Very disappointed with this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Selena J
Stasya Z, PA to GM at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are deeply sorry that you were not impressed by the service at Reception. This is not the level of service that we strive for. We will ensure the team is made aware of your comments to convey how important it is to ensure that our valued guests are well looked after. We...

Reviewed November 29, 2015

Comfortable bed and room. Good swimming pool and gym facilities. What let this hotel down for us was that the reception staff were not friendly or helpful and therefore not what we expected from a hotel of this standard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gforfar
Stasya Z, PA to GM at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are pleased that you’ve enjoyed your room and leisure facilities. However, we are sorry and disappointed that you were not impressed by the service at Reception. The team at Reception is fully aware of your comments, and have passed on their commitments to do better. We do hope to welcome you...

Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed November 28, 2015

Room was excellent. My only complaint would be they charge extra and a lot for everything. The lobby restaurant was average, and the chairs were absolutely filthy. They need to spend some time with the details.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
Stasya Z, PA to GM at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your top-rated review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you found the rooms to be of an excellent standard. We note your comments regarding the lobby restaurant and are currently working with designers to refurb all the bars and restaurant areas of the hotel. We know the finer details are crucial to...

Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Reviewed November 27, 2015

We had a lovely overnight stay at the Stamford Plaza Auckland. Hotel is located in a great location a short walk to the harbour. Hotel room was lovely and spacious, we had a view of the sky tower. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was lovely. All staff encountered were friendly and helpful! Would highly recommend and will return again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayleylouisegregg
Stasya Z, PA to GM at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We are very pleased that you've had a lovely stay with us, and that our refurbishments were to your liking. I will certainly pass on your compliments to our team members. We do hope you will return to take advantage of our great location, and hopefully enjoy our hospitality for more...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed November 26, 2015

Enjoyed the stay at Stamford. The room was very comfortable with the shower, bed and TV options all up to scratch. Room was reasonably big and didn't feel cramped. Will stay again when next in Auckland for work. Free WiFi in the hotel for up to two devices worked well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joel M
Stasya Z, PA to GM at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and have found the room comfortable. It is also good to know that you have taken advantage of our complimentary Wi-fi services offered to bookings made directly with the hotel via the phone or the Stamford website. We certainly...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 24, 2015 via mobile

Very comfortable. Extremely helpful and pleasant front of house staff - really went above and beyond to help us. Great location. Only complaint is that sometimes the room wasn't done when we got back in the evening or in the night. They were prompt in coming to do it once we requested though. Overall, very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank psybonchu
Stasya Z, PA to GM at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and were happy with our service standards. I will pass on your compliments to our staff, and will also work towards improving our housekeeping services for a more prompt service delivery. We hope to see...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed November 24, 2015

Great location, well appointed room and bathroom design was excellent. However, paying $35 per day for wifi that is freely available in most cafes, buses, trains and ferries and at regular hot spots in the streets is a rip off! The walls are thin. And worst of all the bed was lousy, the mattress was saggy, lumpy and had two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeaHXZ
Stasya Z, PA to GM at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback regarding our Wi-fi services. We are always working towards improving our products and services, and will look into your suggestion as a point of improvement going forward. I am pleased to advise that we do offer complimentary Wi-fi when booking directly with the hotel via the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

312 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (285)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (137)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $133 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Stamford Plaza Auckland staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Stamford Plaza Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Of the five rooms we had they were all very good, however, one lift was out of service and the other often bypassed our floor.”
rodneyb298, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“facing the street”
peteTimaru, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“We stayed on 5th and 8th floor - didn't experience any noise etc from the construction going on outside. So, noise is not an issue here.”
DiyanahA, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“higher is better”
R9880XZtomm, Mar 13, 2017 | Read review
“Pick another hotel”
MojiNegro, Mar 4, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question