We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Heritage Auckland

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
Panoramas (2)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,428 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,356: English reviews
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Heritage was a great place to stay in Auckland. It is a big hotel and split into two areas, joined by a walkway. We were in the Tower which was further away from the main entrance but did have its own separate Reception area and we checked out from there. The room was huge and had a good view... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Liney1966
David L, Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Liney1966, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor and for sharing your experience with our followers. I was pleased to hear that you had a memorable experience at the Heritage Auckland and thank you for acknowledging our staff and spacious rooms. Thank you again for your kind words and we certainly hope to... More 

Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place, rooms were very tidy and clean, very comfortable beds, the shower was AMAZING! The room had everything you could possibly need, including a washing machine! Very close to walk to the shops on Queen Street also plenty of restaurants in the area.

Helpful?
Thank renegaderunaway
David L, Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review

Dear realpinkunicorn, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor and for sharing your experience with our followers. I was pleased to hear that you had a memorable experience at the Heritage Auckland and thank you again for your kind words, we certainly hope to host you again in the near future. Kind regards, David... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We really loved staying at The Heritage. Excellent service with friendly staff. The room was very stylish & clean. Great facilities - children enjoyed the indoor pool. The buffet breakfast was amazing, huge variety & caters for every diet. The central location meant that we could walk to sky city & viaduct without worrying about car parking. The package deal/rate... More 

Helpful?
Thank R8627YLjom
David L, Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review

Dear R8627YLjom, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor and for sharing your experience with our followers. I was pleased to hear that you had a memorable experience at the Heritage Auckland and thank you for acknowledging our great staff and facilities. Thank you for your comment regarding our internet service and this is... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in the hotel for business for 4 nights. My bedroom was beautiful; very comfy large bed, tastefully decorated. The kitchen was nice, just a bit weird as it provided you with an oven, but no oven gloves... The meal in the restaurant was delicious and nearly all the staff I came across were attentive, friendly and efficient. Only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather L
David L, Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Heather L, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor and for sharing your experience with our followers. I was pleased to hear that you had a memorable experience at the Heritage Auckland and thank you comments regarding our staff, restaurant and rooms. Please accept my apologies regarding the level of service received from... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The flushing mechanism in the toilets in my room stopped working for no obvious reasons. It could have been embarrassing to deal with this issue but luckily it wasn't :) I informed the reception about the problem with the toilets upon checking out but it seemed they didn't care much about it. Also, there was no supplementary blankets in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank vlad747
StefanCoetsee, Front Office Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Vladimir, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor and for taking the time to share your experiences with our followers. I appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns personally yesterday. As you are aware the hotel is a 24 hour operation and we have a dedicated team to assist with any queries such... More 

Alexandra, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved my recent stay at The Heritage Auckland. All of the staff were friendly and professional. The bed was very comfy too! Great shower pressure. I'll definitely be back when I'm next in Auckland. It was a great experience - thanks very much. Highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank AmyScottNZ
David L, Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review

Dear AmyScottNZ, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor and for sharing your experience with our followers. I was pleased to hear that you had a memorable experience at the Heritage Auckland and thank you for acknowledging our staff who served your during your stay, I will ensure they are rewarded for their good... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel rooms are well presented with the timeless age of the old building they are found within, the hotel also has a modern tower section with contemporary styled rooms. The Breakfast staff are always very friendly and energetic in the mornings and the hotel bar is well patronized in the evenings. I always try to book here first when... More 

Helpful?
Thank AzzaRich
David L, Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review

Dear AzzaRich, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor and for sharing your experience with our followers. I was pleased to hear that you had a memorable experience with us at the Heritage Auckland. Thank you again for your kind words and we certainly hope to host you again in the near future. Kind... More 

Little River, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I picked this hotel for a weekend away because I love old buildings, wooden floors, high ceilings and the Art Deco style. Our family suite was supremely spacious with a a King and a queen bed divided by a sliding door for privacy, great for me and my teenage daughter. The bathroom was also spacious. Wonderful to have a separate... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MathesonGrant
David L, Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review

Dear MathesonGrant Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor and for sharing your experience with our followers. I was pleased to hear that you had a memorable experience us at the Heritage Auckland and it certainly sounds like your daughter enjoyed her stay as well. Great to hear that you'll be back and we... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Exceptionally helpful staff. Very relaxing hotel, quirky and interesting. Ideally placed for pretty much anywhere in Auckland City Centre and harbour area. Rooms spacious and well appointed. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Caroline A
David L, Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Caroline A, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor and for sharing your experience with our followers. I was pleased to hear that you had a memorable experience us at the Heritage Auckland. Thank you again for your kind words and we certainly hope to host you again in the near future. Kind... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The staff and service was good. The big problem is the noise from the bar located on the Hodson St side of the building. It was like trying to sleep in a hostel above a bar. Something you can deal with in your 20's but not when you have the whole family. I did call to complain but nothing could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shane R
David L, Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Shane R, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor and for sharing your experience with our followers. I was pleased to hear that you had a received great service from our staff but I do apologize for your experience you had with the Bar below. We are working with them to ensure the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

573 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (262)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (111)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (285)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Fitness Center Pool (7)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (44)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment with Terrace (54)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (36)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite with City View (37)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Rooftop Pool (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 3,304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Azure at the Heritage
Azure at the Heritage
Cuisines: Vegetarian Friendly
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $142 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay