We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scenic Hotel Auckland

Hotels.com$101*
View Deal
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

935 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 855: English reviews
Start your review of Scenic Hotel Auckland
 Click to rate
new york
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It's a nice old building. Rooms are a decent size, mine had a kitchenette. However, furniture feels like its 20 years old and wasn't nice even back then. Staff could care less. I was there fours days and they wanted an extra 50 bucks to check out at 1PM instead of noon - how cheap is that! I would suggest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iphonenyc
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and sorry we could not do better for you. Our check-out time is 11am, we might extend it to midday for no extra charge or later if we have rooms available however if the hotel is full, as it often is these days, we may not have flexibility with later check out times. Again sorry...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Overall was ok Least like: 1)my welcome to my level 6 was a double up against the wall in the passing just along from my room; 2) ideally have tv in bedroom also; 3) having to do this review with a minimum of 200 words Like: friendly staff

Review collected in partnership with Scenic Hotel Group
 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaretj9
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the trouble to post your comments. Kind regards, Ken

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for two nights during the writers festival at the aotea centre. The location was perfect. Room was clean and spacious, bed comfortable. Only down side was that queen st on a Friday and Saturday night was noisy. Next time would ask for rooms on the other side of the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the trouble to post your comments. Kind regards, Ken

Down Under
Reviewed 1 week ago

"Please just send me to the Scenic," I begged our office administrator. "Everyone says the Scenic is the good one." Take it from a seasoned globetrotter: everyone was right. My room at the Scenic was clean, quiet, warm on a brisk autumn night, and surprisingly spacious. The location is unbeatable, especially for those who truly know Auckland and have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eac1
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

We really appreciate that you chose our hotel and took the time to review our hotel, thank you so much. Kind regards, Ken

Sarnia, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night. The hotel is tired looking and needs renovation. Our room was adequate, the bed comfortable. The room is divided into a well equipped kitchenette and a sofa. TV coverage was good, wifi worked well. Room phone did not work but was not repaired when we left. The good thing about this hotel is its location,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karibu13
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to give feedback, sorry about the room phone not working. kind regards, Ken

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lack of resources during peak hours. 1 staff to take the order and being the barista at the same time. Poor response time even though I had informed that I needed my take away quick. Failed to deliver and I had to cancel my order left without coffee and breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pearl O
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

So sorry you had a poor experience getting takeaway coffee and thank you for letting us know, we want to be looking after our guests promptly especially so at breakfast. Kind regards, Ken

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is very pleasant, perfect location for a short stay while in Auckland. Large rooms which are nice. The bathrooms however are very small and there is nowhere to place a toilet bag so I had to use the dining table. Food in the restaurant is lovely.

Review collected in partnership with Scenic Hotel Group
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your positive online comments. Kind regards, Ken

Fox Glacier, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Senic Hotel is an older hotel located in downtown Auckland on Queen Street. The rooms are large and well appointed, with lounge, kitchen, bedroom and kitchen. Breakfast was rather disorganised with a buffet and a la carte but the buffet was never mentioned. The staff were trying their best to be helpful but a combination of new trainees and uncertain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you so much for commenting, your comments are helpful to us. Kind regards, Ken

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here two times in one week and the rooms were always clean. Service was always swift and hospitable, and the location was great for exploring Auckland and nearby Ponsonby where my friends lived. All very easy walks from this hotel. I would definitely stay here again should I be back in the Auckland area.

Review collected in partnership with Scenic Hotel Group
 Report
Helpful?
Thank guckianmr
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your positive online comments. Kind regards, Ken

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago and I'm taking now the chance to write a review. This hotel was very nice and right in Auckland cbd. Closed to the main attractions we got to visit everything during our 3 nights stay. Room was very clean and tidy. We hope to come back soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaryDesp
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

We really appreciate that you chose our hotel and took the time to review our hotel, thank you so much. Kind regards, Ken

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

310 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (169)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
1:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (126)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Lightwell Queen room (25)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Studio Queen (31)
Viewed
Superior Queen (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,139 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,245 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $107 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Scenic Hotel Auckland staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Scenic Hotel Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms facing Queen street could be noisy.”
Karibu13, 1 week ago | Read review
“Queen street facing rooms can be noisy at night if window left open.”
ronald276, Mar 24, 2017 | Read review
“Look for another hotel. I doubt any of the rooms are good.”
GabbyC111, Mar 23, 2017 | Read review
“rooms overlooking the main road can experience street noise”
452hilaryg, Mar 17, 2017 | Read review
“With a group of 6 couples, no one seemed to have a bad room.”
foodiefool_10, Mar 16, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotels.com
$101* /night
View Deal
AMOMA$203
Orbitz.com$101
Expedia.com$101
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates