We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hilton Auckland

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hilton Auckland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,001 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,856: English reviews
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location of the hotel is excellent with wonderful views of the water. The hotel staff were exceptional and the food was excellent. By far, this Hilton was the very best we've stayed in and we've stayed all across the US and in the Caribbean.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 448nancyk
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel is clean, luxurious and well thought out. Peaceful too. The room service is great and we had a good sleep . The balcony is big and you can sit there and have a drink or two looking out to the harbour.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hilgards
Dyce
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Everything about this hotel was excellent. The location- downtown at harbour, setting on old pier, view of harbour and associated activity of ferries and cruise ships, that's outside inside just as good. Room standard high, facilities good, no complaints. I'd return again - and request a room on harbour side high up, and recommend hotel for friends, family. Food and...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q5513OJalir
HIAKL, Director of Operations at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Q5513OJalir Thank you very much for sharing a review on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland in the 'City of Sails'. We are proud to be showcasing the revamped and 'new look' nautically themed Hilton Auckland to our valued guests and glad that you enjoyed the experience. Sitting 300 metres out to sea on Waitemata Harbour,...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very centrally located. Rooms are small and poorly provisioned. Our "suite" did not have any mirrors other than in the bathroom. Almost no place to put away clothes. Concierge was so bad I caled the restaurant myself to get a table. I wil definitely stay elsewhere next time.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DavidandRex
HIAKL, Director of Operations at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review

Dear DavidandRex Thank you for taking the time to share a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Hilton. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the superb waterfront location on Princes Wharf. I apologize that the suite you were allocated did not provide some essential necessities that you would have preferred on this occasion. I am not...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is located in the viaduct area. It is within walking distance of several restaurants, businesses, and the cruise port. We were told that we had been upgraded to a larger room. Both my husband and I thought the room size was a bit small compared to some of the other hotels we had visited in Australia and New...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allyson H
HIAKL, Director of Operations at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Allyson H Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your time at Hilton Auckland and found the location on Princes Wharf to be suitable for your requirements. I welcome your feedback and am disappointed to note that you were not fully satisfied with your tour bookings....

New York, NY
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Hilton Auckland when we stayed there in 2005 was a world class international hotel. Unfortunately it now pretty much seems like the domestic US Hilton brand of mid-market hotels. Everything from the tiny generic tubes of shampoo and shower gel to the bleak breakfast experience seemed to reflect a kind of cheapness and general lack of sophistication. The bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank villagesq
HIAKL, Director of Operations at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review

Dear villagesq Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor and I am sorry to read that your recent stay did not necessarily meet with your expectation. Our aim is to always ensure that our guests receive a memorable experience. I apologize for the inconvenience with the guest room bed being too soft for you and the air-conditioning unit appearing to be...

Raleigh
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We really liked the hotel and the location; we even sponsored a dinner for friends that was over $400 NZD total. But after check-out we received an email telling us they were billing our credit card for $15 for taking an item (a small stuffed kiwi bird) from the mini-bar. Not only did we not take the bird it was...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jd I
HIAKL, Director of Operations at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Jd I Thank you for sharing a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay. We are glad to note that you enjoyed the experience at our waterfront hotel on Princes Wharf and found the location to be convenient for you. Having noted your overall comments, I am very sorry for the misunderstanding when you received an email from the...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Hilton in Auckland after a long flight. Location is hard to beat - convenient for the ferry terminal, shopping, the lovely restaurants and bars in the new harbour area and easily walkable to the Sky Tower. Our room had a fabulous view of the harbour which I would recommend. Could not fault the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
HIAKL, Director of Operations at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth T Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor advising that you enjoyed your stay in the ‘City of Sails’, taking the time to explore some of the many local sight-seeing delights in and around the hotel; starting the day with a great breakfast in FISH restaurant. I am glad you enjoyed your harbour view guest room, relaxing and taking...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We arrived around 9:15 am and our room was not yet ready, so we left our bags with the concierge. They said they would call when it was ready. They called a couple hours later, but we ended up returning around 4pm. The room they gave us was on the 4th floor, even after asking for a higher floor. Upon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cobra5001
HIAKL, Director of Operations at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review

ear Cobra5001 Congratulations on your recent marriage and it was a pleasure to welcome you to our waterfront hotel on the special occasion of your Honeymoon. We thank you for sharing a detailed review on TripAdvisor and delighted to see that the team looked after you well to ensure your stay was memorable. FISH restaurant certainly does boast an enviable...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Rooms excellent all with harbour views. Breakfast very good but FISH restaurant only OK. Overpriced and menu stuck somewhere in the 90's with "frothing "still featuring as their special skill. Location fantastic and close to everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian W
HIAKL, Front Desk Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Julian W Thank you for sharing a review on TripAdvisor as we always appreciate to read our guest feedback. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel's majestic waterfront location on Princes Wharf, set 300 metres out to sea on the Waitemata Harbour and had a very pleasant stay with us. We thank you for choosing to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

742 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (713)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (145)
Viewed
View from Room (126)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (114)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Other (225)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,793 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#12 of 68 in Auckland
2,051 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $237 - $768 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hilton Auckland staff and other travelers.
17 questions
Ask a question
San Francisco, California
7 months ago
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
over a year ago
Scotia, New York
over a year ago
3 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms with a City view can get blocked by cruise ships.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidandRex, 3 days ago | Read review
“Harbour view”
 of 5 bubbles elizabetht286, 5 days ago | Read review
“higher up the better...7th floor fantastic.”
 of 5 bubbles 446julianw, 6 days ago | Read review
“Get a room with a harbour view. Otherwise you're looking at other peoples' apartment.”
 of 5 bubbles 225katerinav, 1 week ago | Read review
“Choose Deluxe Plus room or Bow suites”
 of 5 bubbles 863bennyb, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay