We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hilton Auckland

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hilton Auckland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,995 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,850: English reviews
New York, NY
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Hilton Auckland when we stayed there in 2005 was a world class international hotel. Unfortunately it now pretty much seems like the domestic US Hilton brand of mid-market hotels. Everything from the tiny generic tubes of shampoo and shower gel to the bleak breakfast experience seemed to reflect a kind of cheapness and general lack of sophistication. The bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank villagesq
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Hilton in Auckland after a long flight. Location is hard to beat - convenient for the ferry terminal, shopping, the lovely restaurants and bars in the new harbour area and easily walkable to the Sky Tower. Our room had a fabulous view of the harbour which I would recommend. Could not fault the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We arrived around 9:15 am and our room was not yet ready, so we left our bags with the concierge. They said they would call when it was ready. They called a couple hours later, but we ended up returning around 4pm. The room they gave us was on the 4th floor, even after asking for a higher floor. Upon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cobra5001
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Rooms excellent all with harbour views. Breakfast very good but FISH restaurant only OK. Overpriced and menu stuck somewhere in the 90's with "frothing "still featuring as their special skill. Location fantastic and close to everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian W
HIAKL, Front Desk Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Julian W Thank you for sharing a review on TripAdvisor as we always appreciate to read our guest feedback. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel's majestic waterfront location on Princes Wharf, set 300 metres out to sea on the Waitemata Harbour and had a very pleasant stay with us. We thank you for choosing to...

Merimbula, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel undertook a significant refurbishment in 2016 and it has enhanced the experience considerably. The reception has been relocated and is now warm, contemporary and welcoming. The rooms remain spacious and well fitted. The new graduated colour carpet is refreshing and lifts the ambience of the rooms. The bedding is excellent and offers a good nights sleep. Bathrooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
HIAKL, Front Desk Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review

Dear David W Thank you very much for sharing a review on TripAdvisor and for choosing Hilton Auckland as your preferred accommodations in the 'City of Sails'. We are proud to be showcasing the revamped and 'new look' nautically themed Hilton Auckland to our valued guests and glad that you enjoy the experience. Sitting 300 metres out to sea on...

London, England
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel for the view and the location - and both are fabulous - even when a cruise ship the size of a small town parks out the front. Front desk is probably more used to handling business people and conventions - we were there as a family over Christmas and found their welcome a bit terse and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CGALondon_England
HIAKL, Front Desk Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review

Dear CGALondon_England Thank you for sharing a review on TripAdvisor and we are glad you all enjoyed your time with at Hilton Auckland, basking in the spectacular harbour vista. It is nice to note also that you had a memorable and fun cocktail class in Bellini bar with Hugo. I am sorry however that your welcome experience was underwhelming and...

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hilton Diamond status not fully recognized. Poor reservation management. Location of the hotel is excellent. Right in the center of attractions. Nice harbor view. Breakfast was very good. Rather expensive dinner.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nkhandan
HIAKL, Front Desk Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review

Dear nkhandan Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and for sharing a review on TripAdvisor. Naturally, we are very disappointed to note your feedback regarding team member customer service and the fact that you did not feel recognized as a valued Hilton HHonors Diamond traveller. Nkhandan, I am aware that during your time at the hotel, you...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 2 nights around the holidays. The check in was efficient and the staff very nice. It's disappointing that you have to pay $45 a night for valet parking, though. The rooms are spacious and clean. We had to call to get additional toiletries; who can share a tiny bottle of shower gel between two people?? The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katerina V
HIAKL, Front Desk Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Katerina V Thank you very much for posting a review to TripAdvisor and we are glad to note that you enjoyed your time at Hilton Auckland during your two night stay with us in a Deluxe Harbour View Room. We are always delighted to read guest feedback and appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge the areas where we...

UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for a few days over New Year. Unfortunately our room wasn't ready an hour after check in so we accepted one on a lower floor to the one reserved as we had just arrived in NZ so we're extremely tired. A simple sorry was all we received. The room was slightly cramped but had good storage. The internet was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bonjovirock
HIAKL, Front Desk Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review

Dear bonjovirock Thank you for sharing a review on TripAdvisor and I am pleased you had a nice time with us over the New Year holiday season, enjoying the hotel and it’s spectacular harbour views from Bellini bar. Having noted your overall feedback, I apologize that your preferred guest room allocation was not available on check-in. I am uncertain of...

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for Christmas 2016 and was not disappointed! From the front office to the cleaning crew - they are all a great group of employees. The only negative being an American I can say is that most food is not cook as we prefer (i.e the bacon is never fully cook and/or crispy you have to ask for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gina B
HIAKL, Front Desk Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Gina B Thank you very much for sharing a review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your Christmas experience at the hotel and the team took good care of you. I am sorry to note that your dining experience at the hotel was not to the standard you expected and your feedback has most certainly...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

742 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (713)
Viewed
Room/Suite (145)
Viewed
View from Room (126)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (114)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Other (225)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,782 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#12 of 68 in Auckland
2,045 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $238 - $759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hilton Auckland staff and other travelers.
17 questions
Ask a question
San Francisco, California
7 months ago
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
over a year ago
Scotia, New York
over a year ago
3 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Harbour view”
 of 5 bubbles elizabetht286, 2 days ago | Read review
“higher up the better...7th floor fantastic.”
 of 5 bubbles 446julianw, 3 days ago | Read review
“Get a room with a harbour view. Otherwise you're looking at other peoples' apartment.”
 of 5 bubbles 225katerinav, 1 week ago | Read review
“Choose Deluxe Plus room or Bow suites”
 of 5 bubbles 863bennyb, 1 week ago | Read review
“I believe all the rooms face over the water , but double check .”
 of 5 bubbles Aussielooker, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay