We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Travelers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersSilver level
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,772 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,634: English reviews
Galveston
Reviewed April 12, 2016

After a long flight--15 hours--it was wonderful arriving at the Sofitel. Our room was not ready but we were shown to the hospitality areas, male and female, where we could freshen up, take a shower, or relax. The rooms were staffed with very attentive personnel. The swimming pool was right there, and available for our use, also. The concierge was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DakotaGalveston
Rose_Johnstone, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour DakotaGalveston, Thank you for choosing to stay with us before your cruise and for taking the time to share your experiences at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. I am absolutely delighted that you thought your experience was Wonderful! Thank you for all your kind compliments about Sofitel Auckland and I am pleased that our Concierge and Front Desk team made...

Bendigo
Reviewed April 12, 2016

My family was booked to stay 2 nights in late March. It was a return visit having stayed & enjoyed Auckland Sofitel on a previous holiday. Unfortunately one of our family required emergency hospitalization for life saving surgery.& we all returned to Wellington. The Sofitel Manager & staff responded brilliantly offering their concerns for us as a family plus fully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BendigoJennifer
Rose_Johnstone, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour BendigoJennifer, First of all, thank you for your loyalty and having decided to come back to us! I would also like to thank you for sharing your experience. I am sincerely sorry to hear that one of your family was hospitalised and I hope they are getting better. It is always a huge compliment to know that our ambassadors...

Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Reviewed April 11, 2016

this was our wedding anniversary so we chose a nice hotel , and we were not disappointed the room was very spacious and had everything in it you would need, at the check in the lady asked if we need a booking for dinner as the restaurant was very busy so she made the bookings for us, I mentioned it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemariie F
Rose_Johnstone, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour Rosemariie F, Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your wedding anniversary and for your precious time taken to write such a positive review. I am absolutely delighted to read that you had a highly satisfying and wonderful time with us. Furthermore, it is a pleasure to read that our ambassadors were able to provide you with...

Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed April 11, 2016

We had a corner room on the fourth floor with a nice view of the harbor. The room was very nice and modern, to include a rainfall showerhead, thick curtains, minibar, and my favorite, controlling all of the lights via the bedside. The minibar was also equipped with a small coffeemaker - the coffee was complementary. The room had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FortWorthTX-Scott
Rose_Johnstone, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour FortWorthTX-Scott, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. Thank you for all your kind compliments about the hotel and I am pleased that our ambassadors made your stay such a beautiful experience. I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for devoting your precious time...

Frankston, Australia
Reviewed April 10, 2016

Stayed for 3 nights on a business trip. Exceptional hotel, great service, and knowledgable and friendly staff. beautifully appointed hotel, lovely touches through out. Situated on the harbour, look out onto the yachts and sailing boats

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate5757
Rose_Johnstone, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour Kate5757, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your business trip. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our beautifully appointed rooms, our great service and our tranquil harbour location. Once again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future! Kind regards,...

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed April 9, 2016

Rooms were nice and comfy. Large windows really allowed natural light to fill the room, although, the close proximity to other buildings were a concern. Great neighborhood with great pubs and restaurants a stones-throw away. Close to the Harbor Terminal which offered other great adventures. Nice stay and great visit overall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ECC88
Rose_Johnstone, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour ECC88, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your experiences at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. I am absolutely delighted that you had a nice stay with us and you appreciated our luxuriously appointed rooms filled with natural light and our tranquil harbour location. Once again, thank you for your feedback. We look...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed April 7, 2016 via mobile

Great food, great views, great service. The staff was very helpful in planning outings. The breakfast was good with a nice buffet selection and good coffee. The sheets were soft and beds nice. The only oddity are the windows. There is very little privacy so we ended up pulling the shades more than I would have normally. But I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kristina d
Rose_Johnstone, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour Christina D, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for devoting your precious time in sharing your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and that you appreciated our great location, our breakfast offering at Lava Dining and excellent service standards. Once again, thank you for your...

Norwood, Australia
Reviewed April 7, 2016

We recently spent some time at the Sofitel Viaduct. Overall, the hotel is excellent. Great location. Lovely staff. Very good restaurant. We had booked and prepaid for our accommodation several months in advance. At check-in we were told that the hotel would be putting a hold of $100 a night on our credit card. A rude shock! We had heard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
Rose_Johnstone, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour Chris S, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experiences at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. I am delighted your overall experience with us was excellent and that you appreciated our peaceful harbour location and our Lava Dining restaurant. Please let me assure you it is a normal industry practice world...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 6, 2016

We had a lovely stay at the Sofitel. The room had a good view over the internal water feature, and was large and well equipped. The receptionists were utterly charming. I needed a hair clip and was sent to the spa, where the young lady very kindly gave me one of hers (after thoroughly sanitising it, I hasten to add)....

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank oxfordowl2016
Rose_Johnstone, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour Oxfordowl2016, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. It is always a pleasure to receive fantastic feedback on our spacious and luxuriously appointed rooms and the exceptional service of our ambassadors and I am so glad to hear you were well taken care of. I would like to sincerely apologise that this...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed April 6, 2016

Staff very helpful. , bar & restaurant both offer great choices. Superior room was lovely although the bed was very ordinary and not comfy at all. Handy to cbd, easy walk. Lots to see and do around the harbour. Will definitely stay again

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shaz R
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

909 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (713)
Viewed
View from Room (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Other (331)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (167)
Viewed
Amenities (56)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,139 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Lava Dining
Lava Dining
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
Sabrage Bar
Sabrage Bar
Cuisines: European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $158 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour staff and other travelers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If you dont like road noise ask for a room looking towards waterfront as I found the early traffice hard to relax to and sleep.”
Jacksonsrd, 2 days ago | Read review
“Any room would be great!!!”
Y9001ZOgaryc, 5 days ago | Read review
“Avoid side facing bus station at all costs”
CummingDubai, 1 week ago | Read review
“dont book a standard room as they are on the noisy traffic side.”
JennyNesting, 1 week ago | Read review
“Nice & comfortable room .”
alexcG4579MN, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$163* /night
View Deal
HotelQuickly$191
Orbitz.com$163
Hotels.com$163
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates