We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Attic Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Attic Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 387: English reviews
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hostel is about 5 min from the airport shuttle bus terminal. Also next to Sky Tower. A lot of restaurant / bar choices. Staff were kind and helpful. The room was quite warm even the window was open. Very impressed experience.

Helpful?
Thank Yunhan Y
AklHostels, General Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us such an awesome review, Always nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do consider ourselves lucky to be in such a central location in the heart of the city next to all the great bars and restaurants. We are also very lucky to have such amazing, helpful staff here... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great place and quite cheap for Auckland !! The dorms are clean and well designed, the communal rooms as well, can 't say anything about the kitchen cause I did not use it ... The bathroom were clean as well... The only thing was that it was a bit cold in the Hostel ... I recommend this place !!!

Helpful?
Thank Pastislord
AklHostels, General Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi thanks for leaving us such an awesome review, Amazing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our 'dorms to be clean and well designed'. :) Our housekeepers work really hard to keep the hostel clean and to a high standard throughout the hostel. Unfortunately we did hit a bit of a cold spell... More 

Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed for nearly two weaks there to get all my things sorted in the beginning of my new Zealand year. Im from Germany and have Not perfect english, so the staff was very Friendly and helpfull and gave me advices to any questions i had. Hostel is very clean and nice, Haß Good facilitys aß well, i can recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alexander M
AklHostels, General Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, Always great to hear that the staff were friendly and helpful and that you found us to be 'clean and nice'. Our housekeeping staff work really hard to keep the hostel clean and to a high standard. We are happy that you enjoyed all our amazing facilities here at the... More 

Miri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice place, happy staff, well equipped and a great location. Free Wi-Fi for 3 hours. Good place to stay though you pay for your location. Door locks are pretty antique - an upgrade to door cards would make this even better. Lockers are available - bring a padlock.

Helpful?
Thank mosstin
AklHostels, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at The Attic. The staff here are always happy and here to make your experience in New Zealand the best possible. We do have a locker room which is available 24/7 and also you can rent a key for a... More 

Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's in a great location which exactly in the CBD and staff here are friendly. The room is a bit cold even we have required for extra blankets. It would be more nice if they could provide heater. Kitchen is well equipped but a bit dirty during the peak hours (says 7-9pm), even I can see the staff trying their... More 

Helpful?
Thank wpfzoe
AklHostels, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here at The Attic. The staff here are awesome and always wanting help and just make new friends. New Zealand is experiencing a cold winter which unfortunately seems to be effecting the hostel as well but we do offer blankets... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I enjoyed my stay in this hostel, everything is very clean and very friendly staff. My main issue was the cold, I was freezing myself at nighttime and to get an extra blanket they keep your deposit ($20) so I had to worked it out with my coat and more clothes on top of my bed. Besides that everything was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Giselle C
AklHostels, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Attic. We take great pride in the facilities we provide from how clean we are to how awesome the staff here to ensure the guests here have the best time possible. Sorry to hear that the cold was... More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lacks nothing, and is in a great location. The kitchen was lovely, and was a really nice sociable place to be. I can imagine in the summer months it might get a bit busy, but in winter it was perfect. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It's also partnered with Ponsonby Backpackers, which is a similarly good place to... More 

Helpful?
Thank hgwatson
AklHostels, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. So glad you had a wicked time during your stay with us here at The Attic. We are quite a small hostel so even when we are full there is enough room for everyone. The staff here are all trained to know everything there is to know about the... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel is nice, relatively clean, the staff are super nice and there are lots of nice people and a good atmosphere. The location is great too. The bathroom facilities could be a bit cleaner, but it was okay. Kitchen is very good. Nice and comfy beds, but no lockers. Security is very good!

Helpful?
Thank Alex P
AklHostels, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are so happy that you liked your time at the hostel. The vibes in this hostel are awesome and we are so lucky to have amazing people stay here to uphold the atmosphere in The Attic. The staff here love their jobs and always happy and chatty. We... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I can only recommand this place. Nice, clean and warm rooms, perfectly equipped kitchen (all spices you can ask for are already there and they have free tea and coffee), clean bathrooms, in the heart of the city-centre. There are free DVD available to watch all day, you get 3 hours of free Wifi when you arrive, but you can... More 

Helpful?
Thank pa1991
AklHostels, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are super stoked that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Attic. We are so happy that the facilities were spot on for you. Us being travelers ourselves have managed to work out exactly what every traveler looks for in a hostel. We do hope that... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent one night here with my partner. We found the staff very friendly, who offered us some good suggestions on what we could do that night. Standard hostel with dorms and private rooms, male only and female only cubicle toilets and showers. We found the hostel quite clean and well maintained. Kitchen was spacious with plenty of storage room, with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rochelle A
AklHostels, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay here at The Attic. The staff here are always happy to help no matter how big or small. We The location we have is ideal for guests wanting to get out and explore and go and see more of what Auckland has to offer.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 961 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 stars 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 968 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Attic is a fresh and vibrant, newly refurbished top floor backpackers situated in the heart of the city centre, on Wellesley Street, just steps from the iconic Auckland Skytower and the hustle and bustle of Queen Street. Sleeping a maximum of 100 guests, we are a smaller inner city hostel than most, offering guests a central location and budget accommodation with a difference. Ride our traditional, 'old school' service lift to the top floor, which opens straight out on to The Attic. Enjoy a tour of our place upon check in, no impersonal pointing to your room and off you go, we want you to feel at home with us. Some of our larger dorms feature dividers so that even our most budget options are still as comfortable as a smaller dorm, attention to detail is important here at The Attic. Incredibly friendly and helpful, we go the extra mile to make your stay with us that little bit more special. Our guests comfort is the most important thing for us and we pride ourselves on creating a chilled, helpful and caring hostel environment in Auckland city centre! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Attic Backpackers

Address: 31 Wellesley St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Topfloor Backpackers)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $21 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Attic Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attic Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay