We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Emperor's Crown Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Emperor\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 263: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

It was very cheap... which was the only positive! The man that checked us in didn't speak English very well and was so useless and unhelpful! It's not in a great location... we got there at about 8 in the evening and we're really hungry so went out looking for somewhere to eat and found absolutely nothing! The closest thing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Victoria N
Stefan W, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Victoria, It's disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, especially in regards to our staff. We are located close to both the Perth CBD and the Cultural Centre of Northbridge where many food places are located, and our staff on reception should have told you where to find them (I'm not sure if you... More 

Perth
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The kitchen close at 9:30 pm so you can't use it after that. Toilet not always very clean and a deposit for dishes .. One more thing, no wifi in the room Personal friendly and the hostel is very good located

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tomcP2896TJ
Stefan W, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Tom, Thank you for the useful feedback :-) Unfortunately we do have to close the kitchen earlier than some may like, but we are trying to find a sweet spot where it doesn't disturb rooms closer to the kitchen and availability to guests. We do take a deposit for dishes as it's surprising how often we receive back incomplete... More 

Steinhagen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was there for the World Masters Athletics Championships. The hostel is very central, the staff ist friendly and helpfully. If I will ever come back to Perth, I will stay there again. The kitchen is okay, but sometimes a bit late open for "early birds" like me. WiFi is excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank robertrP8612ZX
Stefan W, Receptionist at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Robert, Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate feedback. It's great to hear that you would stay with us again! :-D Apart from opening later than you would like, are there any other suggestions that you may have to help us improve the kitchen? Kind Regards, Natasha. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

When I first arrived staff were very friendly and helped me settle in attimosphere was excellent sort walk to city restaurants and entertainment centre, I felt secure and safe and staff made me feel welcomed very cheap and 5 star it was clean and tidy I recommend this accommodation to anyone beat price and excellent location

Helpful?
Thank Jason S
Stefan W, Receptionist at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Jason, Thank you so much for saying that we are 5 star! We do try and aim to have hotel standards for our little hostel so that are guests can have the most enjoyable stay possible, and I'm happy to hear that you thought we were very friendly too :-D Kind Regards, Natasha. (Receptionist) More 

Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2016

Comfortable and clean and centrally located, I have stayed at the hostel now on a couple of occasions as I have been transiting through Perth on an extended layover with flights. I have found the hostel easy to access from the international airport by public bus and short walk, the staff are friendly and attentive staff and the environment is... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank damiandonohue
Stefan W, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Damian, It's great to know that your stays with us have always been pleasant and comfortable. We are aiming to be a hostel with hotel standards for comfort, cleanliness and atmosphere so that people like yourself are always willing to come back. We look forward to your next return. Kind Regards, Natasha. (Receptionist) More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

I have been staying in the emperors crown now for the last 14wks as I was in a bad car accident and badly damaged my leg I can not recommend enough what all the staff done for me Stefan the manager always made sure that the lift was available for me and made sure my bed was made as I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary K
Stefan W, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Gary! Thanks for the fantastic review, you were an absolute pleasure to have stay with us, it was a very sad moment when you told us you were leaving. Not everyone likes that we have to tell them to keep the noise down, but it's great to hear that you are happy with our efforts of making the hostel... More 

Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2016

Great location, friendly staff, friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Could improve cleaning the rooms. Could improve kitchen hours. Otherwise well, I would go back again. Close to public transport, and central station.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank eliseorabbi
Stefan W, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Elise, It's good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are trying to find a suitable time to open the kitchen so that people are able to use it, and those staying in the rooms close by aren't disturbed too early. But, we do welcome to feedback. Would you be able to let us know how... More 

Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2016

Stayed there for 4 nights 2nd night in was there had a few beers with friends outside the manager (stephan) came and told us this is not a party hostel and to go drink somewhere else people wherr trying to sleep by the way it was only 6:30 pm. No one talks to anyone in this hostel because there is... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank joeyhamada
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2016

1) Management team of the hostel arguing on linen and operational procedures in the common room is a bad show to the visitors and a nuisance. 2) Manager at check-in reluctant to assist with a room change request, despite room availability online. 3) Unpleasant roommates experience ..... do not recommend at all

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mushollie
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2016

I spend two weeks on the hostel, it's a clean hotel, rooms are nice and bathroom spacious. The kitchen is verry big and clean as well, the only thing is that it close at 9pm. Can be quiet and partying, it depends which kind of poeple are in the hostel. Poeple at the reception are nice, part from this girl... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlène L
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

117 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#4 of 79 in Perth
306 reviews
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#4 of 58 in Perth
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#15 of 58 in Perth
235 reviews
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Emperors Crown brings to Perth a new concept in quality budget accommodation. Just 5 minutes walk from Perth CBD and the night life of Northbridge, The Emperors Crown makes you feel right at home with the city at your fingertips.We have a range of rooms available, from dorms to private rooms - contact us to find out more! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Emperor's Crown Hostel

Address: 85 Stirling St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Price Range: $22 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Emperor's Crown Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Emperor's Crown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperor`s Crown Backpackers Hotel Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Emperor's Crown Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“the room could be cleaned more regularly, people were move from rooms, and things left behind, obvious not con tool on that.”
 of 5 bubbles eliseorabbi, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
“I would avoid room 6 as the smoking area is located just outside the window and even with the window closed the room can be smokey and noisy after hours.”
 of 5 bubbles grenada36, Sep 8, 2016 | Read review
“rooms upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles FranchiMe, Jun 17, 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a lower bed of a bunk bed for a power point.”
 of 5 bubbles aamackl, Jan 11, 2016 | Read review
“Don't get the mixed dorm if you can afford something better”
 of 5 bubbles Tintinrahman, Dec 13, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay