We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banjo's Backpackers

83 reviews
Save
Traveler (5)
Dining (7)
Room & Suite (3)
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good36%
  • Average7%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
May 10, 2016
“Amazing place”
Mar 31, 2016
“Definetly stay here”
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Wheelchair access
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (83)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Banjo's Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
35
22
5
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
35
22
5
5
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 69 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2015 via mobile

Well what can I say, the staff are very helpful around the place. The beds are comfy enough and the kitchen has everything you need, even though it may be in need of a few new pans. The wifi doesn't work in the room which...More

2  Thank JackHardingUK
Response from BanjosB, General Manager at Banjo's BackpackersResponded March 18, 2015

Hi JackHardingUK, Thanks for your great review, it’s nice to hear more awesome feedback about our staff. Our beds are all fairly new so you should always get a great nice sleep! I’m glad you got to utilize our huge communal kitchen. As ever, if...More

Reviewed March 14, 2015 via mobile

This used to be my favorite hostel so far, absolutely brilliant place but recently most things have been banned, you can't play music anymore, play games or have fun In general. Some of the staff are brilliant but some are just the biggest buzz kill....More

1  Thank Australiagurl
Response from BanjosB, General Manager at Banjo's BackpackersResponded March 18, 2015

Hi AustraliaGurl, Thanks for your detailed review. The hostel is still run by the same great team, so it is disappointing that we are no longer your favourite hostel. The cost of parking was increased, but not more than double as you stated. It is...More

Reviewed March 10, 2015

The best Hostel so far! I just enjoyed the stay. So much room to just hang out. The 20 dorm was big enough and not packed. And free breakfast with tea, coffee and marmelade toast. It is in the free bus area, but i think...More

1  Thank Anke K
Response from BanjosB, General Manager at Banjo's BackpackersResponded March 18, 2015

Thanks Anke K, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. It is difficult to describe how spacious our dorms and hostel are, you never feel crowded and you can always find a place to hang out with friends or chill on your own. We are lucky...More

Reviewed February 8, 2015

Environment : Horrible , Very noisy. Location : ok , very close to center. Service : Some are good. They use scanning key which it nice. Parking : AU5 for a night The bed are clean and they give you blanket and sheet that was...More

Thank Kimberley J
Response from BanjosB, General Manager at Banjo's BackpackersResponded March 18, 2015

Hi Teqgalaxy, Thank you for your feedback. All of sheets are professionally laundered so you always have clean, fresh linen on arrival. I’m glad you were able to take advantage of the free Wi-fi in our extensive communal areas. It is disappointing to hear you...More

Reviewed February 7, 2015

Stayed at Banjos for more than a month, good kitchen and you're aloud to drink at the hostel, at least until the new bar opens. They don't want to use the A/C even when you're asking them to turn it on because "its too expensive"....More

Thank empaemp
Response from BanjosB, General Manager at Banjo's BackpackersResponded March 18, 2015

Hi Empaemp, Thanks for the review. I’m glad you appreciate the great work of our friendly staff. We turn the A/C on in the guests room when it is a little warm or if we have any requests from guests to turn it on. We...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345614
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast included
Details
Price range
$20 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Details
Price range
$20 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (5)
Dining (7)
Room & Suite (3)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Banjo's Backpackers staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"The 20 bed dorms are more comfortable than they sound (are very big)"
Read review
"We stayed in 2 different 6 bed dorms over 3 weeks."
Read review
"Room 10 and 9 are very noisy, 19 is extremely hot and they dont want to put on the a/c even if you're..."
Read review
"Room nine is furtherest away from the courtyard, which can get noisy on weekends. It also has a bathroom..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing