We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The New Esplanade Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The New Esplanade Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The New Esplanade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 332: English reviews
Busselton
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Over night stay. Received an "unasked for" upgrade. There was 3 of us. While the rooms are a bit dated, they were quite sufficient for what we required. Room was warm and quiet . Clean and tidy. We were in Room 508

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cruisedontsnooze
EsplanadeTeam, Front Office Manager at The New Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. It is wonderful to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay and also you were satisfied with the cleanliness of the room. We look forward to welcoming you back in The New esplanade. Kind Regards The New Esplanade Hotel Team

St. Bees, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Never had to write a review like this, booked in and went to our room, which was grubby went into the bath room chipped bath, stained wash basin, and mould around both. Checked the bed and linen which was stained, immediately complained and the sheets were changed, no other rooms were available that evening, but we asked for a room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wellsyStBees
EsplanadeTeam, Front Office Manager at The New Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for writing your review on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the quality of our room. We are planning to do the renovation in our hotel, which will be soon in the near future. As a budget hotel our price is according to the condition of the hotel, in compare...

Corlette, Australia
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed 1 night with work. Room was tired and needed some minor repairs to walls and to areas of the bathroom. Location is good if you want to be right in the city centre and is easy walking distance to the Swan river and the city centre restaurants. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful. OK for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff B
EsplanadeTeam, Front Office Manager at The New Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeff, Thank you so much for talking time to post your review. It is unfortunate that you did not like our room. There is no doubt that our hotel is due for big renovation. Our new management team planning to do that in near future soon. It is our pleasure that our hotel staff made your stay very comfortable...

Shah Alam, Malaysia
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel offers good value for the budget family traveler. The rooms were very spacious with basic necessities. Strategically located, a short walk to the bell tower, gardens and hay street. It's a bit dated, but everything was functioning well. Would highly recommend to budget family travelers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nzafina
EsplanadeTeam, Front Office Manager at The New Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with The New Esplanade Hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you were thoroughly satisfied with your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back with us. Kind regards, The New Esplanade Team

Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Room was dusty. All the fizzy drinks and alcohol in the mini bar were flat. Lifts in the car park were out of order so we had to walk down 6 levels with our luggage. Each time we wanted to leave the hotel with our car we had to go to reception first to get a new card. My husband...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dwilson31
Perth, Australia
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed last night last minute booking, an being on a main road and overlooking the bell in Perth , was hoping to have a bright clean room, we found the bath still had the dirty ring around the bath, very little coffee and Tea , and dull. it has the view of construction, but once its finished im sure it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Oliemolley
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is a mixed bag. I've stayed here on two separate occasions. For the price ($110), even with the added $30 for parking, it is perfect walking distance to various places in Perth city. However our mattress was horribly uncomfortable - we could literally feel all the springs whilst laying on it, and forget propping yourself up with an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JacyntaKate
EsplanadeTeam, Front Office Manager at The New Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kate, Thank you for your time to review our property The New Esplanade Perth. It was a pleasure meeting you and welcoming you to The New Esplanade Hotel and we are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We will try our best to improve our customer service, which we are lacking. Thank you again...

Reviewed July 7, 2014

Myself and my friend, stayed at this hotel. When we arrived we were rudely spoken to as I had accidentally clicked for a 'Smoking Room' I had then told them it was a mistake, and I don't smoke, they still spoke to me rudely as if I was lying about it. I was handed my room key and a sheet...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alicia B
EsplanadeTeam, Front Office Manager at The New Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alicia, Thank you for your comments following your stay with us in July. We certainly do welcome and encourage feedback from all of our guests, however after reviewing all feedback with our hotel staff regarding the issue you have raised,i confirm that our hotel staff had wanted to make sure that you fully aware of the smoking policy as...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 28, 2014

If you are over 19 and used to any sort of comforts this hotel is not for you. It is tired, grubby & pretty dirty overall. The location is good but currently surrounded by construction and my advice would be to stay away, I went in at 3 am and still decided not to stay it really didn't feel safe...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mike c
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here last month, and it was so handy! It is right in the middle of Perth and our room had a great view, which will be better when the construction of Elizabeth Quay is finished. The room was very comfortable and the bed great. The hotel is also close to the Busport and the free CAT buses in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Virginie S
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

124 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (124)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#70 of 81 in Perth
453 reviews
Kings Perth Hotel
#71 of 81 in Perth
414 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seasons of Perth
#57 of 81 in Perth
339 reviews
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about The New Esplanade Hotel

Address: 18 The Esplanade, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Price Range: $73 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The New Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Esplanade Hotel
New Esplanade Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The New Esplanade Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The New Esplanade Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't choose any room.”
 of 5 bubbles jenm709, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Don't stay at this hotel.”
  • Hair dryer filthy, the cable had to be cleaned before using.
  • Filthy light switches.
  • Soap holder
  • Filth around bath
  • Windows with paint peeling and mould.
 of 5 bubbles TCSChandlery, Feb 6, 2017 | Read review
“Facing the river was good.”
 of 5 bubbles simonmA1472MA, Jan 19, 2017 | Read review
“Go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles A1857ZBdavidc, Jan 4, 2017 | Read review
“City views were of a mulitstory car park”
  • The bag is a carryon bag. The radio in the bedside table did not work
  • If you look closely you can see the leaking sewerage from the toilet gasket
 of 5 bubbles Bevo1976, Dec 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question