We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Pinctada McAlpine House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Pinctada McAlpine House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 89: English reviews
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for a family wedding and were absolutely blown away by the service. Ronaldo was so fantastic throughout both the preparations and on the wedding day itself. Before we even realised we needed something, he would jump in and provide it, and he went above and beyond in assisting with the final... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany M
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While travelling around Australia on my motorcycle a few yrs ago I found this hotel. This year I took my wife, we had a small motor home called a troopey. I had to take my wife back to this hotel to show her where I had stayed while in Broom. It is a beautiful building, and the staff can not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Harley2521
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

My husband and I recently spent a month at McAlpine House and loved every minute. Marilynne, Gary and Ronaldo (and Rocky too) made us so welcome and always had great suggestions on what we could do each day, and in advance had booked several excursions for us. Our Garden Room was perfect and we really enjoyed breakfast each day with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine P
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016

This was completely unexpected - we stayed in the tree house room and was absolutely delighted with how cool and welcoming it was. The breakfast was amazing all hand made (yoghurt parfait) and was so very laid back. A unique place with the yesteryear feel and touch. Its close to all amenities and Gary and Marilynne will point you in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Suzi-Andrew-H
Geelong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2016

I cancelled my booking via phone, but this seems to have not been recorded, so on the day of the previously schedule arrival date a woman with a non Australian accent called me from the facility and was very rude abusive and threatening. She did not allow for any negotiation or discussion so I terminated the conversation. She took full... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
Marilynne P, Owner at Pinctada McAlpine House, responded to this review

Dear Jenny, thank you for taking the time to write a review. However, I find it necessary to record the facts of our transaction which do not appear in your review. I received an email from Expedia the night before your arrival date advising me that you had a "change of plan" and wanted to cancel your reservation. Our reservation... More 

Tomakin, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016

What a wonderful, unique, relaxing place to stay. Marilyn, Gary and Ronaldo are just lovely. Not your average type of hotel, and thats what makes it so special, i just love it! Nothing is a drama. Stayed in The Tree house, garden suit and the Pearls over the last 3 weeks at different times, all fabulous. Im coming back again... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo R
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016

Ahead of a two week tour of the Kimberley region, my partner and I decided to start our journey with a few days in Broome. We wanted to be close to the centre of town so we booked McAlpine House. Though we'd spent time before in Broome, we'd not stayed here, and we're so glad that we did. The team... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank IanParmenter
Burlington, CT
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

This small guest-house grows on you after awhile. I must admit that I was a bit underwhelmed by the property and Pearler's Room upon arrival. The room was pretty small and standard and the price seemed a bit bit much, it had more of an "historic" guesthouse feeling than a "boutique" guest house feeling. The shining star of this property... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
PinctadaWA, Owner at Pinctada McAlpine House, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen, Thank you so much for making the time to write a review about your stay at Pinctada McAlpine House and for your compliments about the care and attention you received whilst staying with us. It is unfortunate that you consider the pricing "high", as we are priced extremely competitively against the other properties in Broome. We are not... More 

Avoca, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful setting but the high tea was far from value for money. Our tea went cold waiting for the food, the scones should never have been served, final food service wasn't until just before 5pm when most people were ready to leave. Only one toilet for around 60 people was inadequate, and it appeared to be the shower/toilet unit for... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ellcee28
PinctadaWA, Owner at Pinctada McAlpine House, responded to this review

Dear Ellcee, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We spoke on the day and you expressed your disappointment at the time. I appreciate that you spoke to me face to face about this. As you know, I totally agreed that the scones you received were not successful and checked with you whether that was the only... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

Recently enjoyed a great weekend visiting beautiful Broome. Marilynne and Gary are fabulous, hard working hosts that will make your stay memorable. Their friendly demeanor really makes you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are spacious and well appointed and if you are really lucky, Rocky the dog will escort you to your room and expects nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank DarwinHully
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
2.7 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#3 of 11 in Broome
4.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#6 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As soon as you step through the modest white picket gate onto a path sprinkled with frangipani flowers and shaded by towering palm trees, you know instantly that you are entering a special place of relaxation and solitude. The former home of Lord McAlpine, Pinctada McAlpine House has been meticulously converted into a private 8-room lodge - perhaps 'oasis' is a more fitting description. A subtle blend of historical charm and modern facilities makes McAlpine House the perfect place to reawaken the spirit. Wide open verandahs and polished timber floors complement a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere which slowly extinguishes your sense of time. We encourage you to make our boutique lodge your home for as long as you stay. By day, the atmosphere is shaped as much by the lush tropical gardens and exotic birds as it is by the personalised attentive service. At night, enjoy a moment of calm by the turquoise waters of a pool lit by a myriad of tiny lights. World class resort? Private retreat? Luxury guest house? McAlpine House defies classification, and that is precisely why it is such a unique place to completely rejuvenate your soul. With just eight rooms - each with its own style and private outdoor escape, a sense of space and escape is blended with a feel of intimacy and serenity. Create your own world among the original artwork and decor reflecting the unique colours and textures of the Kimberley, or step outside to explore the wonder, beauty and contrasts of Broome's azure waters, sweeping white beaches, distinctive red earth and eclectic culture. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pinctada McAlpine House

Address: 55 Herbert St | (Corner Louis Street), Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Price Range: $145 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pinctada McAlpine House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Pinctada McAlpine House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcalpine Hotel Broome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay